You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ❤️ Your perception is your reality! You are in control of the story you want to tell about your life. ❤️

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Sorry, I have to respectfully disagree with this example. However, I'll stipulate that positive thinking is rarely a disadvantage. I'm speaking of this example, specifically.

A person did something irresponsible and careless, at a friend's potential expense. Then, when the owner demonstrates understandable and acceptable annoyance, that friend (cleverly) avoided taking any responsibility by using magical thinking:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magical_thinking

"Magical thinking is a term used in anthropology and psychology, denoting the fallacious attribution of causal relationships between actions and events"

This is oddly Machiavellian. If this was a regular pattern, I doubt this person would be a friend of mine for long.

"These two reactions towards the same situation created two different realities."

There is only one reality by definition. Perceptions can, however, differ.

Sort:  

No, thank you for your comment. I always welcome differing views. I can totally see your idea behind it. Thanks for the catch, you are right. Perception and realities are two different things and I totally mixed it in that last sentence.

I can see what you mean about the situation I gave, but I guess my message was more focused on her ability to see the positivity in a situation.

Yeah, I'm sorry for being a nit on this topic. But realism and rationality over "feelings" is my brand here and, kinda, my philosophy.

The reason I didn't find your example very...compelling, is that terrible things can actually happen when you excuse this behavior:

http://articles.chicagotribune.com/1992-05-12/news/9202120200_1_michael-murray-car-seat-interstate-highway

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2012/06/mother-drives-with-5-week-old-on-top-of-car/

http://www.snopes.com/autos/mishaps/babyroof.asp

"As unbelievable as such stories must sound, babies have been left on the roofs of cars that were subsequently driven away. Such accidents of forgetfulness happen with surprising regularity, and it doesn’t take all that diligent a search through old newspapers to dig up news reports documenting one such incident after another:"

This is a more common problem than most realize.

wow I had no idea. Yes leaving a baby on top of a car would be terrible. Thanks for your thoughts! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67096.35
ETH 3509.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22