A Time Travel Tale in Which I Attempt a Poem in the Style of Robert Burns

in #story7 years ago

Robert Lindsay Nathan is primarily known for his 1999 discovery of the principles of time travel, and his subsequent invention of the time machine in 2012. He was born September 24, 1952 in Sheffield Alabama, and soon grew to be a prolific collector of science fiction magazines. Thus it was that, inspired by the pulp stories of the day, young Robert began experimenting with the bending of the space-time continuum at the tender age of 7. Though he was not immediately successful, he never abandoned his dream of traveling through time, and when he achieved his invention, he wasted no time in setting off to explore history. Unfortunately, little else is known about Mr. Nathan, apart from the small hints and clues left to us in the historical record.

robert-burns1.jpg

It appears as though Nathan left Robert Burns at least one memento from the future.

But some of these hints and clues are tantalizing, indeed. For instance, take this poem, written by the great Scottish poet Robert Burns, who received a visit from Mr. Nathan circa 1780 in his Dumfries home. The poem not only mentions Mr. Nathan by name, but also comments upon the appearance and function of Nathan’s time machine, to which Burns refers as “time’s auld horse cart”.


To a Man from Aft Me End



Wi’ gears aglow an’ wheels rotatin
Time’s auld horse cart stands awaitin
Sae stately grand an’ yet sae patient!
To tak thee in its draft
Dear Robert Lindsay Nathan
An’ return thee aft!

Wi’ nae horse, but needs na hae ane
Thy cart down paths of time be trav’lin!
Thou clamb wi’in its steely cabin
An’ in a hasty glimmer
Lang aft I lay auld, cauld an’ graven
Thou’s in the future, hae’n dinner!

But I thank ye for callin me friend
An’ shewin me a’ that lies round the bend
An’ for singin a sang of things unken’d
Forward tho’ I canna see
Now I’ve met a man from aft me end
And thou’rt curs’d, compar’d wi’ me!


Dozens of other bits of evidence of Nathan’s time travel lie strewn across the historical record, from a Paleolithic cave painting in Lascaux that clearly depicts Nathan standing next to his time machine; to a brief but perplexing Biblical reference in which he is accused of absconding the Battle of Jericho with the Ark of the Covenant; to an ancient Chinese text that lists him as trusted adviser to Zhu Yuanzhuang, first emperor of the Ming Dynasty. There are entire schools of historic research devoted to finding Robert Lindsay Nathan’s path through the timeline.

But, while new branches of history may have opened up due to Nathan’s discovery, the same can sadly not be said for science. Because Nathan left no notes, diagrams or plans behind when he ventured into the past, our modern scientists and inventors have no way of learning from his designs. Furthermore, he has not been seen or heard from since his disappearance in 2012, apart from the historical clues. And, if he has made it to the future, modernity has yet to learn of it.


This story is what I call a "Totally Fabricated Bio".

I've written several of them over the years. Basically, I write a fictitious life story about a real person (in this case the wonderful @cactusclef), weaving in biographical truths. The bios are usually funny and always fantastical or even downright outlandish. Sometimes the person who requests the piece will ask for it to be done in a particular genre or even in the style of a favorite author (hence the Robert Burns style poem in this one).

Here's another example, a bio I wrote for my friend Nathan Freeman in the style of fantasy author Terry Pratchett.
And another one, written for a roller derby friend in the style of a traditional American tall tale.

I love, love, love crafting these tales for people.

Do you want me to write YOU a Totally Fabricated Bio?

Let's talk.


I love you, Steemit!

Hi! My name is Leslie Starr O'Hara, but my friends call me Starr. I live in the mountains of North Carolina and I write humor, fiction, musings, and essays here on Steemit.

Upvotes and ReSteems are amazing!

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 1.56.08 PM.png

@lesliestarrohara

Sort:  

I love this! I would love one of these, alas I fear you probably need more info on me, though the clues are in my blog... Anyway, let me know, :-)

Cg

What's your username on steemit.chat?

It's the same, Cryptogee :-)

Cg

Very creative! You captured the style of poetry really well. I just got back from a visit from North Carolina (the Black Mountain area.) Great state to call your home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71