A Photo I Waited 5 Years to Take

in #story7 years ago

Determination...

DSC_0672.jpg

I had just finished my exams and the summer of 2012 was upon me. What does a college student who has all the free time in the world do? Vacation trip of course! My friends and I planned to go to the island of Tobago where we would stay for a week and celebrate the completion of our years together in college. While there, we toured the island and visited many locations and attractions but one place stood out because it awoke something in me.

I was always a photographer at heart, whether it was begging my parents to get me one of those box cameras when we were on vacation or always having my phone out taking pictures of things that peaked my interest. Getting back to Tobago, my friends and I decided to visit Argyle falls. It's one of the more popular waterfalls over there. The entrance to the main building of reception for visitors was this long majestic driveway with magnificent trees on either side creating this magical canopy that stretched the whole way. The shadows and intermittent areas where little pockets of light came through allowed the whole area to seem as it were perfectly designed to invoke awe and wonder. I was immediately mesmerized appreciated the beauty with all my heart and soul.

At the time I only had a Galaxy S3 which had a decent camera for the time it was released. I wasted no time in getting out of the car and mentally eyeing a composition. The photos I took that day were never posted on any of my social media platforms. Why? I was not satisfied at all with what I took. I felt like I was limited by the extremely small mobile sensor and fixed lens. The shadows and highlights were not captured properly nor were the colours. I was not able to recreate the feeling that I had and this distressed me so much so that I vowed to save up and invest in a DSLR camera.

Fast forward to 2017, earlier this year. I finally fulfilled my goal of getting a camera with a good sensor size and settings I could manipulate to my heart's content. I planned another trip to Tobago in the summer and Argyle falls was one of the places I made sure of visiting. The driveway had not changed a bit and still retained that splendor that once spurred me to take my photography to the next level. Nature was calling to me as it once did 5 years ago, and this time I was ready.

DSC_0693.jpg

DSC_0674.jpg

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you like the photos! Cheers!

My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lemniscate/

123.jpg

Sort:  

Wow!! That's an amazing camera!! Great photos!!

Thank you twofingersshort! I'm on a journey to improve my photography skills! pokemon theme song plays

Nice man!! well keep it up.. they are looking good!

Great pic!

Upvoted!!

I take pictures too, I did 2 recent posts on Prague and Cambodia and an older one with a summary of few places.

I would love to hear what you think about them if you have time!

@belgarath

Thanks @belgarath! I'd be happy to check them out and comment!

Thank you very much!!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Woah, this reminded me that sometimes one word is worth so much more than a sentence. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69