Today I Received My First Donation for the Information I Put Out 😊

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Doing work can and does pay off, but not necessarily with monetary rewards.

Giving people access to information, and having them appreciate it and also giving you feedback is a good reward. But then feedback and appreciation for the changes you have helped bring into their lives, is a higher reward. I value those rewards a lot! That is real power. To be able to put out information that others can take in and change their lives! I have received a decent amount of appreciation and feedback for the work I have done over the years.

I have a website that has some of the work I have done over the past 3 years. Not the newsy type short posts I have on Steemit, but my higher quality importance work. It's all available for free, just like on Steemit. I have never had ads. I don't like ads on sites. I find they cheapen a site. As such, I have never sought out rewards for the work. Putting it out for others to consume is my responsibility to truth and morality. That was my intrinsic motivation to do what I did and do.

Being rewarded with money is a bonus that was only realized on Steemit, until today. 😊

When I joined Steemit in August, I finally put a donation button on my site. Actually, it was the day of joining Steemit, August 8th.

I realized "hey, wake up, I can at least offer a place for people to reward me if they want to!", just like Steemit has it.

And so 5 months later, I have my first donation 😊

USD$150 for the "Great Work" I have been putting out. It is great indeed, and also great to receive a donation for it!

Yes, I have been rewarded with more money on Steemit, absolutely. What a great place for people to have their work appreciated by more people.

But this is on my own site, apart from a marketplace of people like Steemit or Facebook, on the net among millions of sites.

And this is from someone's own pocket! That means a lot to me for them to personally do that!

I take pride in having received my first donation for my work, of any amount, but $150 is a significant amount for someone to personally donate.

I just wanted to share my good news, as I don't talk about my personal life when it doesn't bear significance to the work I am focused on doing. I know some people have told me they like it when I share personal things, so here is a bit more sharing 😉 hehe.


Here is the message from the donor:

Dear Kris, thank you for the Great Work you do. I love your work and it inspires me to spread the Work. You and Mark Passio have been true mentors for me in reconnecting with the "lost" knowledge. take good care , much Love Willem

A wonderful $150 monetary reward from someone's own pocket, but also a priceless reward for having affected someone's life to such a degree. That's the power of consciousness and speaking the truth into existence for others to learn about. Change can happen.

That's my little happy moment. Thanks for letting me share it. 😊 Peace.


@krnel
2017-01-21, 5pm

Sort:  

Truly very cool! A "gift economy."

The internet is a fabulous tool for disseminating the value we create far and wide, and also an excellent channel for returning honoraria to us... 😄😇😄

@creatr

yes that would be great to see , so far the donations are going towards CS:GO players :D , they make ~2k per day :D

Hi, @j3dy, thanks for responding... I had no idea what CS:GO was until you mentioned it here. It's mind-boggling to me that people earn so much $$$ playing online games? Wow!

that is a great feeling to be appreciated for sure, congratulation, you definitely deserve it @krnel :)

Thank you for the appreciation, yes indeed it feels good hehe.

Congrats! Being placed in the same category with Mark Passio is a reward in itself!

Yup, thanks! :) I've been told that before in feedback :)

:D yeah I was wondering who started it , I would guess it was him that began, but still you are less "invasive" so people can actually learn my choice , so far I would like to check out all your posts , but I'm caught up between thinking weather I should post , how to make my vote count, since I get 0 curation rewards or months, and juggling the daily routine on top of balancing steem time :D

Wow, Willem sounds like an Awesome dude :) He sure is right at you delivering great work. Well deserved @krnel

Indeed he does hehe. Thank you :)

The Great Work is the only worthy work in this universe. Literally the master key for a truly peaceful existence and an antidote for the evil in this world. It's amazing to see people starting to recognize this! 🙏🙏

Indeed. A hard job few can actualize. I try to do my part through sharing understanding of important things about ourselves. Too bad steemit has issues with people trying to spread that knowledge, as last week made clear. Thanks for the feedback.

Yeah it's kind of funny to me how some people think that this info is a matter of opinion. Little do they know that it is inherent in the universe and can be discoverable. It really doesn't require belief and works regardless of whether we believe in it or not. Either they are ignorant or they are shills. By the intellectual level of some of these folks, I'm inclined to think that they know better and are willfully suppressing this stuff.

Thanks for the support :)

You're welcome:)

Wow! That is super awesome. Keep up the good work Krnel. You're one of the most dedicated content creator here and also one of my very favorite.

Thanks for the support :)

Hard work and good quality content pays. Congratulations and I am sure it was well earned.

Congratulations!! Upvoted and resteemed!!!

Thank you ;)

Congrads. Sometimes it takes a little extra time to feel appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55