Houska Castle story/game - Community Project #1

in #story6 years ago

This is a follow up from my original post, you can find the details about this project here:https://steemit.com/story/@kph/houska-castle-story-game-community-project

I have written a small piece for this story, this could be the beginning or just a small extract, I want your input so:

What happens next?
Who is this character?
What was making that scream?
What time period the story is set in?

I don't mind any suggestions, so feel free to critique my writing and tell me how you think it should be written. This is a community project so I want as many people involved as possible, so please resteem!!


The cold and wintery weather battered me as I made my way up the steps towards the gate of the castle, my grey overcoat fought the wind as I climbed up the steep incline. I took a brief break midway up and glanced down on the ground below. Trees occupied the view with little else bar a small dirt track meandering through the woodland which I used to get here. As it was dusk, an orange tinge swept over the land and with that I realised I must speed up before it’s completely dark. Eventually I reached the top, sweating and breathing hard I lean on a tree catching my breath. The gate to the castle is just ahead of me, but still almost all I see is woodland.

Darkness has crept up on me and I begin to question every small branch break around me, the noises seem to get louder and more frequent the closer I get to the gate. Surprisingly not even the moon can create some sort of light, with dark thick clouds now covering the sky. Strange noises almost animal like echo through the forest bombarding me from all sides. The small path leading to the gate is made from crumbling stone which breaks as I begin to to walk more briskly, a cold air snaps at my ankles and my shoes struggle to place themselves.

Then I run! A long continuous scream comes from behind me. Slowly my legs begin to move quicker and quicker, still slow due to fatigue from the climb. Then my head and eyes start searching for the gate. As my eyes adjust to the darkness and see the outline of the gate,l also see dark figures flowing almost elegantly across the rough terrain of the forest floor. But still the screaming is getting louder and louder, I refuse to turn my head and look out of fear. The fear drives me on and with adrenaline kicking in, my tired legs get me to the gate quicker than I expected, the scream is getting louder. The old rust riden gates have a lock. I fumble clumsily through my bag to find my bolt cutters. But just as I pick them out of the bag, the scream becomes a high piercing soul wrenching screech which causes me to drop them in alarm. I slam my hands over each ear, but realise it's still getting louder and closer. Petrified from the noise I scramble to cut the lock whilst also screaming myself, out of pure agony. Shaking I crunch my hands together on the surprisingly tough Iron holding the gate locked.


Thanks for reading, KPH

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43