Meal of the Week [Short story]

in #story6 years ago

 

Meal of the Week 

by @kingsright

In and out they go.  The market was busy today, but nothing unusual, as it was busy most every day that I have ever seen.  I began to wonder at the logic of it all.  Why do they do it?  This routine; over and over?   

I imagine they will go back to their homes, drop their groceries upon the counter and count all of their pennies and receipts only to be disturbed shortly after by the demands of their “loved ones”.  And lo, the bills piled into a mound on the table counter!  Yet more fodder for the wars that happen between the latest episode of soaps or “Family Feud”.  Yes, look at them, these sheep! 

“Well, you know you are not like that!  Not one bit!” I said to myself, and then answered “Yes, you are!  You know you are exactly like them!”. 

The door suddenly opened on the passenger side, “Oh, did I disturb you, hun?”, she said, as she was getting into the car.  “What?  No, no.  I was... just thinking.” I said, as I trailed off a little, still partly in reverie. 

She continued, “I wanted to stop at the office on the way back.  I think I left my sunglasses there and – “, “No, we don’t have time.”, I interrupted, “We need to get home before it gets too late and it is starting to get dark already.”.  As I said it I felt a chill; that word again; why does it bother me?  I mouthed the word again inaudibly so she could not hear. 

“What has gotten into you?” she said.  “Ever since last week you have been acting strange.”  

I didn’t answer her; not because I did not want her to know, but because I knew she couldn’t.  She would not understand anyway, and it is best for her. 

“You know what?” she continued “Fine!  Whatever. . . I’ll figure it out sometime anyhow.  You know I will! 

As I partially listened to her I mouthed the silent word again to myself, studying its texture and meaning as it pushed through my lips.  I thought about it a while. 

“Well, are you going to start the car or what?!”  She said, sounding irritated.  

“Hello?  Yoohoo?” she added. 

I turned and looked at her; stared at her.  It was like my eyes bored into her own, and then I could see, almost immediately, the acknowledgement in her own; fear; like she no longer saw me, or was it that she, only now, truly saw me? 

“Quit joking around!” she said.  “You’re scaring me.  Quit playing and let’s get home.” 

For some reason this stirred me to my senses, touching ground.  “Yes, ma’am!” I said with a slight joking tinge to my words, letting her know that I was fine.  

She relaxed as I started the car and headed home. 

About fifteen minutes later we were walking up to the door to our house, but just as we reached the door I recalled that something seemed different.  That one light behind the bush to the left was off or burned out.  “I’ll have to change that in the morning” I said to her softly, but she didn’t reply. 

I was closer to the door, with both hands free and she was behind me, with only her purse and one small store bag, of what, I do not know. 

I fiddled with the keys and found the correct one in seconds; set it in the lock and the door popped open before I could turn the key.  “Huh?  I thought I locked this.” I said, half to myself. 

“I saw you lock it earlier” she said.  I replied “This isn’t right.  Get back to the car and wait for me!  Call the police.”  

“No, you can’t go in there alone!” 

“I’ll be fine.” I said, “Just go!” 

She ran back to the car, and, meanwhile, I made my way quietly into the house, but just as soon as I made my first few steps beyond the doorway the few lights that were on in the entire house flicked off all at once. 

“I’ve been waiting.” came a hissing voice from my left, behind the door. “I told you I would find you!” It said. 

I recognized it immediately, and turned to it, while backing away, but the figure was shrouded in darkness. “Leave us be, we didn’t do anything to you!” I replied. 

“The darkness has arrived.  Seven days of light.  Do you not remember?” The shadowy figure said. 

“No!  I mean, yes, but you can’t!” 

“Your time is up.” 

The shadow-creature leaped into the air and landed on me, sinking it’s fangs into my throat. I fought a little, but succumbed to its incredible might.  Darkness welled up in my vision.  Silence.  Nothing. 


End

------------------------


Written February 2017

authored by @kingsright

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kingsright to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52