Is volunteering a waste of time ?

in #story7 years ago

Hello dear my followers,

Today, I am gonna continue to write about my volunteering and traveling experiences in Europe. Some of you already saw my volunteering experience in Slovenia. If you haven't seen yet, I would highly recommend you to check out these posts. My volunteering experiences in Slovenia, My volunteering experiences in Slovenia #2


DSC_1422.JPG


If you haven't seen my two post about my volunteering in Slovenia, I am gonna talk about it shortly. So, what I've done there as a volunteer ? I worked for an intergenerational organization. I was taking care of primary school kids, disabled people and old people and preparing to them food work shop country work shop etc. So, you maybe thinking that I've spent my one year by only making work shops. But it's not like that. I mentioned before that some of the people were considering volunteering as waste of time. So, I am gonna explain that why volunteering was not waste of time for me.


volunteers1.jpg

Source: 1


Why volunteering was not waste of time for me ?

During my volunteering, I have got opportunity to travel many countries including Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina. Before I have volunteered, I never been in abroad. I always wanted to go abroad in those times but I couldn't go to abroad because of my financial contusion. As I mentioned before, EVS( European Voluntary Service) was covered almost everything including accomadation, poket money, food etc. If I haven't volunteered, I don't think that I could go those countries.


DSC_0058.JPG

12037625_986048598126235_729807925_o.jpg


This picture above was taken by my friend in Rome. We were volunteer workers. We didn't get paid much.So we've search for accommodation on Couchsurfing( It's a hospitality service which provides you free accommodation on the internet) but we didn't find anybody to accommodate us. So we supposed to sleep somewhere safe. We slept in a park in Rome. It is not a safe place but It was ok. At least we found a place to sleep.

DSC_1394.JPG


Those pictures above were taken in Venice, Florence and Rome. Me and my friend have visited Venice, Florence, Milano and Rome paying just for 6 euro. We took megabus. The company megabus sometimes offer you super discounts and we were lucky to see those city just paying 6 euro. So I learned how to travel with low budget and how to travel in a cheap way. During my volunteering, I learned many things and I had many new friends from all over Europe. I am gonna talk about that for my next post.


I will be writing again about my volunteering and traveling experience in Europe. I hope you like my post while you are reading it. Please stay tuned. Thanks for reading.


follow_kenan1989.gif

Sort:  

#life
John Lennon : Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kenan1989 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

volunteering open you to different people and cultures , it opens up a new way of looking at life

I agree with you. Thank you so much for your comment. I wish you good day ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38