You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indonesian Make Up style that is quite disturbing to me / Trend dandanan cewek Indonesia yang bikin saya merinding disko

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I was fascinated by the tutorials, particularly the first one, and loved it. But personally, having seen a wedding where this was done I find it very sad that that in order to look acceptable in the photos etc these women had to look as light as possible.
Make up is as you say very good if used to enhance one's best features whilst still trying to look natural. But to paint a mask that really totally disguises the person.....I think that is only really for stage and theatre.
It is so ironic that people with darker skin want to look lighter and Caucasian, whilst Caucasians bask in the sun, or use tanning to look darker. Why can't people just be happy in their own skin?
My sister-in-law is Madeiran and has darker skin; whilst on holiday I felt ill while out for a walk on the strand. She suggested that I go through one of the hotels on the beach out onto the road and wait for her to go round and bring the car to the front of the hotel. I asked why she wasn't coming through the hotel with me. She replied "It is a foreign owned hotel and with my dark skin they will either think I am staff or won't let me in". I was shocked and outraged ....this was her country, yet she felt like a second-class citizen! Needless to say I refused to go into the hotel without her. So wrong.
Unfortunately it seems to be a growing trend.

Sort:  

I must agree with you. It's really a remarkable skill to be able to change someone's appearance so drastically like that. I have nothing against the make up artist. I just feel pity for the people who do such a drastic make over just because they think their original self is too ugly for no reason. ^_^
You can't expect others to appreciate you if you can't appreciate your own self.
And yes again, the worst of all is discrimination towards their own fellow citizens ...there is nothing worse than being 2nd class citizen in your own country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93