Losing Dad....... Part IIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

_20170603_181320.JPG

That night none of us slept. Mum and Dad in total shock, they still couldn't believe it. Dad was Mum's whole life, it was inconceivable that she would soon lose him. They just held each other and cried.

I was at home with my family, but they were all too young to understand. I cried silent tears into my pillow. I needed to be strong for all of us.

Dad has always been very organised and practical. He decided that they would sort out all the personal and legal matters first. They went to the bank and changed everything over into Mum's name. They even bought a plot for two in a local cemetery (that must have been so difficult). The rest of the time was spent phoning friends and relatives.

Mum developed a very positive attitude towards the whole thing - too positive, but I guess that was just her way of coping. She was still teaching at the time, and so decided that this was the time to retire. She would finish after Dad had his operation. There was a music festival that she had organised for the children and she couldn't let them down.

Dad went to hospital and the operation went well. The polyps were removed along with a section of colon. At first the nurse emptied the colostomy (stoma) bag.

I must explain here the nature of the surgery. A loop of bowel is pulled out of an opening made in the abdomen and the bowel sutured to the abdomen (in my Dad's case on the lower left side). It's held in place with an external device onto which the stoma bag is attached. The other part of his colon was sewn shut.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colostomy

After a day, the nurse showed Dad how to empty the bag for himself. She also suggested that perhaps Mum could also learn. Well, that did not go down well. Dad refused point blank to let Mum see the bag. He became very depressed. Whenever Mum visited, he told her to go home - he didn't want to talk. He told her to forget him.

This was heartbreaking for Mum. She and Dad were very close as a couple. In fact I have only ever seen that closeness in two Hungarian friends of theirs.

They had been married for 43 years, and in all that time remained totally devoted and so romantic. Dad would come home from work with a bunch of flowers, or perfume on random occasions. Sometimes he just brought her a flower from the garden when he was mowing the lawn. When Dad left for work in the morning, they would always kiss at the door - and when he returned, the same. If they passed each other in the hallway, or on the stairs, their fingers would touch, just a light brush, but that small gesture radiated so much more.

I won't pretend that they never had a cross word - of course they did, but anger was banished at the end of the day. My Grandmother had a saying that we all live by... "never let the sun set on anger. Make up because things can change so quickly."

And so Dad was discharged from hospital. He became somewhat withdrawn. I don't know if it was a Hungarian thing, but he felt that if he couldn't satisfy his wife in every way, then he was useless as a husband. And since he wasn't letting Mum near him, how could he expect an erection? Now that was a man-thing...no erection, end of the world!

One day, after he took to bed for a siesta, Mum went upstairs and asked to see the bag and why he was being so strange after all, she has seen him for years. He relented, and she just said "well that doesn't put me off....you're still the handsome love of my life".
I guess one thing led to another.

The next morning, when the nurse visited, he was all excited.
" Guess what! I can still make love! It all works perfectly! "
Mum was embarrassed, but they all had such a laugh. That had made all the difference. Dad threw himself back into making every moment count.

¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥¥

Losing Dad... Introduction :

https://steemit.com/story/@katdvine/losing-dad-part-i

Losing Dad...... Part I:

https://steemit.com/story/@katdvine/2nttq1-losing-dad-part-i

Sort:  

I can see the sadness in all the story, but you know what? I also see a LOT OF LOVE and no way to be sad! @katdvine thank you so much for the story of your family and I know we learn lots with it. Your grandma said that beautiful words about being angry and make up. Here I use to say to my partner: "we will never sleep on the same bed angry with each other, we never know what can happen". And your grandma is so much right saying this! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS LESSON! <3 <3 <3

There has always been great love in our family. And there still is. I feel it always.

I wish my parents had that love, they divorced when I was a child, and life was so different. They passed away already, but I don't feel sad. There is always a reason for things to happen and we all will discover that sooner or later. I just keep calm and live. It is always great to learn with good friends like you!

Thank you....and that goes for you too.
But you have a loving partner now and that makes a big difference.

thanks for sharing

I do love a love story. Your dad very much reminds me of mine. :)

Thanks for your comment. They were truly devoted, very rare to see these days. I found some "love" letters recently after we cleared Mum's house, and they had me in tears.... I may publish them when I have finished both Losing Dad, and Losing Mum.

That must be a very sweet find. I wish I had love letters that my parents wrote one another. Thank you for sharing.

Your family's story is a beautiful one for all to see. Everyone has times in their life when they may experience feeling less than adequate for their loved ones. Your parents love is what brought them through the trials that they faced. This was a wonderful story to share katdvine

Thank you. I still feel their loving presence around me.

That is so sweet. I am glad you are sensitive enough to feel them, they will always only be a thought away.

Beautifully put, so touching...

My family were very close, particularly my parents. Thanks for your comment.