Losing Dad: IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

...................... The Premonition.................

_20170524_154908.JPG

I had gone to bed late that night. The children safely tucked up in their beds, each with their beloved companions clutched close to their hearts, their current favourite bed-time story told. I placed a kiss upon each soft brow, and listened as their breathing deepened, and slowly crept out of the rooms, quietly closing the doors behind me.
Back downstairs I washed and dried the supper dishes, tidied the few scattered toys into the toy chest. I cast a last glance around before turning off the light and climbing the stairs.

Exhausted, I eased myself into my bed and it wasn't long before I fell into a deep sleep.

I saw a figure before me., and as I approached , I realised that it was my father. Suddenly he clutched his chest and crumpled to the ground. My breath caught in my throat, and I rushed to kneel beside him. As I cradled him in my arms he stopped breathing. I became distraught, calling him over and over to no avail. I began to sob uncontrollably, rocking him as I did so, his lifeless eyes staring back. I felt such a huge loss as never before..as though my heart was twisted and plucked out from my chest.

I woke with a start, I could hardly breathe, my nose felt stuffy. I must have been crying as my pillow was wet. I looked around, it was just a dream...what a relief. But something had changed, filling me with unease.

Several days went by, and while I didn't dwell on my dream - I somehow couldn't shake that strange feeling. I told my brother about it, but he laughed... Dad was rarely sick. He had barely had a handful of days off work during the whole of our lives. We ate healthily, we all exercised, going on 12 kilometre walks or cycling every weekend. He did suffer from migraines, but that was it. The only time he had been in hospital was for an overnight stay a couple of years earlier to have haemorrhoids cauterised. So I persuaded myself to dismiss the dream for what it was...just a dream. Two weeks passed, and all was forgotten.

One morning the phone rang...Dad's haemorrhoid problem had returned, and he and Mum had just come back from seeing a Consultant. Dad had been diagnosed with bowel cancer. Apparently, because he had left it so late (he had just thought the rectal bleeding was haemorrhoids and didn't think to go and see the doctor. To him, it was a trivial condition, and he didn't want to go through cauterisation again)it was already at the second stage. He was to have a Colostomy, but it would only give him a few months to a year at most.

My dream had been a premonition! No wonder I couldn't shake that feeling of dread.

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§
This is the introduction to the story of the last months of my father's life after the diagnosis of bowel cancer, and how we coped.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing

I am very sorry for your loss. They say we should all get checked. I'm not sure though. I don't think I could live with knowing...

If only Dad would have gone earlier he would still be alive.
It is one of the cancers that has a good success rate.

It must have been devastating to hear about your father's diagnosis and to realise the stage it was at.

It was. He didn't go to the Dr because he thought it was just unimportant.
In my next post I will tell how fast it accelerated.
I do wonder though, did knowing and the obvious depression afterwards cause it to grow faster?
State of mind can affect our well-being.

I'm sure it does. The mind can have a powerful effect on our bodies and how we cope with illness. I've seen people I know who just seemed to give up and then deteriorated very quickly whereas others who fought their illness coped much better.

My father also died of cancer, he is a devastator for the whole family, my father fought more than 10 years, tired of suffering gave himself to death, it was something terrible that the family lived, thank you very much for sharing your story, my dear friend @katdvine
you have a good day.

Congratulations @katdvine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thank you 😀

Very sad read, so sorry :(