MEDIEVAL FUTURE (An Original Steemit Novel, part 1)

in #story8 years ago

I climbed upon my blazing war dragon of Dar'Goth. It was the best of it's breed. This was the first battle of our war, ever since the time traveler came through. He brought with him technologies we could never have imagined or understood, but we know how to do only two things with them: Build them, and use them. And as such, our tale begins. I saddled on the reigns of my dragon and got the things that the traveler called "Solar Lasers" ready. The tensions were brewing between our two kingdoms even before the traveler came through, but now that we both have these weapons of extreme mass destruction to mount on our dragons and chariots, these tensions have come to point. We are forced to fight this war, this war to end all wars, to turn down the tension, and hopefully bring enduring peace.

I knew that this battle was really important. It was only the first one, and there would be many more to follow, but this battle would one that was truly about morale. Both our kingdom and our opponent's have the same technology, the same structure, and therefore, the same strengths and weaknesses. We were equal in almost all regards, so we knew that this war was going to be long fought. Unless we could find a new technology that the other kingdom simply could not, or does not posses.

I flew in, in the head of my squadron, and found a target that was rather weak against my dragon. It was a Nach'Lan dragon, one that would be only used to support the other dragons. However, it appears to have gotten out of hand, as it appeared that it's owner simply could not control it or tell it what to do. He probably did not feed it enough. I seized this opportunity, and tightened the reigns to my dragon. My dragon surged forward in all of its glory, and by lightly kicking it in just the right place I signaled to it to let out its flaming wrath. It did so, and the other dragon, along with its rider was utterly immolated.

Then I heard a sound that I would never, ever like to hear again. The other side decided to use their only Barch'Lar dragon. It was the most powerful dragon of all, sure to turn the tide of any battle it was used in. We thought we would need to use it later. However, they did not think so. We could not lose, however, as this was a battle for our kingdom. Our morale for the rest of the war depended on it. I heard the command to charge our solar lasers, and gave my dragon a light pat on the side so that it would aim at the evil monster. We were given the command to fire, and did so. But something did not go as expected.

It appeared that the armour that the Barch'Lar dragon possessed reflected back the solar lasers. In fact, it even ended up hitting one of our own dragons. I knew what I had to do, as I was closest the dragon. I signaled my commander that I was going in, and flew underneath the goliath. I aimed my solar laser, charged it up, and fired a strong burst. All the while, I was avoiding bolts of flame from other dragons. My bolt hit in the single spot where there was no armour, the dragons beating heart. I would be rewarded with many medals, but then something happened.

There were hidden archers on the ground, and they started firing at my dragon. My dragon had some armour of its own, but it was no match for the molten metal arrow that some archers were spewing at my dragon. My dragon got hit, and started to come down. I tried to swivel it around, but I had completely lost control. We crash landed to a halt in the middle of the forest of Almartam, right in the middle of the enemy kingdom. I was now stuck, my dragon fallen, and I was completely surrounded by people who would kill me the first chance they get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58871.01
ETH 2682.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50