The Dancer - serialized novel Written for Steemit Part 14

in #story7 years ago

Welcome Steemit Friends I invite you into my world for some horror and the power to overcome horror. It is a world of the spirit and the hidden abilities some people have that they find out and secretly use to the benefit of all of us. Written for Steemit.

Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash Royalty Free
robert-collins-362599.jpg

Previous Chapters:

Table of Contents - Page 1
Table of Contents - Page 2

The Dancer - Street Fight 14

It became colder and Bjorn did not stir. The people gathered around saw that no matter what they thought they witnessed, Bjorn attacking Martha, he was out, or groggy. Martha was not much better.

The adrenalin of the fall, the snatching of Martha’s body by the she-devil, the fight gave her some strength and focus for a couple of minutes. Now she felt nauseous and had a tough time standing, balancing.

In her mind, she thought the strangest things. Things she had never been aware of or knew. Suddenly, it was like she was there, in memories of being there.

“That was a bad fall these two had,” A resident man said to his neighbor over the hedge?”

“I thought he attacked her but she said he did not and so did that one. It looked like a fight in the dark but maybe they had a hard time getting back up.”

“They must have hit the sidewalk hard. The two men came over, a woman held Martha steady and she asked,

“Did you fall?” Martha nodded in response to her question but she could not see the woman. Her eyes would not focus.

“I can’t see.” Martha said.

“This boy appears to be barely conscious.” One of the neighbor men said to the other.

“Are you okay,” the man asked Pete, “Did you fall too, did you?”

“I didn’t fall,” Pete answered the man.

“Where do you live, where are your parents?” The man who had looked over the hedge said to Pete. Peter told him and the man suggested he go into the house and call home.

Bjorn started to stir. He shook his head. He shook his head several times. Strange thoughts and visions of things, events, places he knew nothing about he could not control blurred, interrupted his every thought.

“I think he has a concussion from the fall.” An adult said.

“No, I do not, I am alright,” Bjorn stated.

“Are you sure?” An adult said.

Bjorn shook his head to clear it again and then said, “I can get up. I’ll be fine.” He turned over onto his stomach despite the protests and he pushed himself up, “No, really, I am fine. I did not hit my head.” Bjorn stood up and said, “See. I am fine. Martha, how are you?”

“I landed on my stomach, I could not breathe.” Martha answered, “I am starting to see, okay.”

“How did you scream so loud if you couldn’t breathe?” The woman attending her asked.

“It hurt,” Martha replied, “I really did hurt. I thought Bjorn was dead.”

Peter came out of the house and down to the sidewalk where Martha and Bjorn were being helped and examined by the adults, “I called Mom, Dad is coming in the car.”

A police car came up to the curb and an officer exited and addressed the adults, “Was there a report of a man assaulting a woman?”

“Officer, I apologize,” the homeowner said to the policeman, “I thought this young man attacked this girl but it turned out that they slipped and fell on the sidewalk while heading home.”

“Is that true miss did you fall or were you attacked?” The police officer asked Martha. Several times he repeated the question a bit different each time.

“We both slipped and fell. I had the wind knocked out of me but I am fine.” Martha said. “I couldn’t see for awhile because I couldn’t breathe and I was scared.”

Rog drove up to the curb and parked his car, “Who are you?” The police officer asked him.

“I am the father of those two, what has happened officer?” Rog gave his and his children's names to the police officer.

“And this one,” The police officer asked Rog pointing to Bjorn?

“Bjorn Sanderson, her boyfriend.” Rog replied.

“There was a report that he attacked your daughter –“The police officer said.

“He did not. They fell-“Pete interrupted.

“Peter go get in the car now,” Rog ordered his son. Peter obeyed.

“Martha did Bjorn attack you?” Rog asked his daughter.

“No Daddy, it was cold and we all ran on the grass for footing. We came to this hedge and Bjorn and I took the sidewalk, Pete went into the street and then we slipped on the ice and flew.” She left out what happened after the fall.

“It did look like they were fighting officer but…” The voice of the homeowner who called in the report trailed off uncertain.

“Were you fighting?” The police officer asked Bjorn.

“No, I was trying to get up from the fall.” Bjorn lied, “It was hard, slippery.”

Just then Rog and the police officer changed positions and they almost slipped and fell.

“It is slippery.” The police officer said. “I think you might want to have these two checked out at the hospital.” He said to Rog.

“Really Daddy,” Martha wrapped her arms around herself as she shivered, “I am fine now except that I am much colder. I want to go home and get warm.” Bjorn shivered as well.

“I’ll take them home now, officer,” Rog said, “If that is alright.”

“Do all the witnesses, including you sir,” The police officer addressed the man who owned the property, “Agree that this was just an accidental fall and not an assault?”

There was a murmur of assent by the adults present. The police officer addressed Rog, “It seems that this was a mistaken report. It is better to be safe than sorry. You can take the kids and leave. I’ll call it in. You’re free to go.”

“Thanks officer, you showed up fast and that is comforting.” Rog shook his hand and then carefully, he and the kids walked to the car. Everyone else congratulated the policeman on a prompt response. As they departed, almost all fell several times before they slipped back to the warmth of their houses. Rog drove off toward home with the kids.

In the cave, Itzli opened his eyes. The abandoned body of Nochehuatl was half consumed. Some of her body was out of the fire, her two legs and he threw each leg into the flames. He smiled with self congratulation as he said out loud,”She will have a tough time re-uniting her soul. Hopefully she is gone forever and good riddance to the demands of that cruel, domineering ignorant bitch.”

He stood up and stretched, “For the first time in three hundred and seventy-five years I can do what I want - leave this cold land where none of my people live and go back home.” He gathered up a few of his things, put on the heaviest of cloaks and left the cave for good. He headed southwest.

He walked jollily along in the night afraid of nothing but then it occurred to him, “I might as well plan that she will pull herself together somehow and find me. She might succeed. Meanwhile, I am free, maybe forever.” He thought of a good lie in case that happened. The simplest was always best. ‘It looked to me like you entered her and then when you didn’t show up at the cave, I went to find you and saw you were gone.’

Evil people are very difficult to trust and don't work together forever. You have to admit, three hundred and seventy-five years is a long time to be an apprentice. Itzli was on his first well deserved vacation. He decided to make certain he stopped in Toledo and actually searched for Nochehuatl just in case she realized what he had done. She had a good sense of maniacal humor but...

Copyright:
Written for Steemit: Copyright © 2017 Jeff Kubitz - The Dancer - et al. All Rights Reserved. Steemit.com/steemit/@jeff-kubitz

Sort:  

This is really good can't wait to read more

How many parts still have ? Beautiful story my friend, original and amazing style

@dobartim thanks for your compliments and who knows as to the length of a serialized novel, the length is a secret ;-)

Haha, you're mysterious in every way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72