The Dancer - serialized novel Written for Steemit Part 1

in #story7 years ago

Welcome Steemit Friends I invite you into my world for some horror and the power to overcome horror. It is a world of the spirit and the hidden abilities some people have that they find out and secretly use to the benefit of all of us.

Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash Royalty Free
robert-collins-362599.jpg

The Dancer - The Beginning 1

This is the story of Martha and Bjorn. Eventually I will tell the story of how they met and how they became very necessary for each other and what they faced. My name is Roland. I was the grandfather of Martha, my granddaughter of whom I am extremely proud and adore. I admire her because she is of me; I am her grandfather after all, and because of what she became.

All of my children and grandchildren are special to me and they each have wonderful talents and skills but of all of them, Martha's talent is certainly, well it grew into something no one could expect or even believe. In the beginning, when she was very young maybe three or four, no one noticed the something wonderful about Martha, including myself. That is to say we saw her begin but it was not until much later, when she was eighteen that we really saw her "effect" begin to blossom, to grow in leaps and bounds.

But, I shall start at the beginning when she was just a little tiny bit of a girl. She had blond hair and green eyes. She still does. She lived in a house on a street named Blossom in Toledo, Ohio with her mother and father. Like many children with the family just beginning, the house was small, just a two bedroom. It was around this time as I recall, that we noticed Martha always danced about. When she danced, sometimes she would hum or sing a little bit but her dancing took all of her concentration. She was very hard to talk to and she really was just a little more than a toddler. She was very cute to watch and she could dance around for hours.

Now the thing I did not really notice at the time was that when she danced, everything felt very nice. It was happy inside the house and people there would make comments and laugh and Martha never seemed to hear so great was her concentration. For a time, we thought that there might be something wrong with her but there was not. Doctors examined her and simply offered, "It is something she likes to do and don't worry about it."

The interesting thing was that it did not matter if there was music or not and even if there was music playing, Martha never seemed to be all that much interested in dancing to the music, though sometimes she did. There was song inside her, she would later say and it was to her song she danced.

Again the house was small, the yard was large, and the neighborhood was good. So instead of moving, two rooms were added that were bedrooms because when Martha was five she had a new sister. To make the living room look larger, on one wall mirrors from floor to ceiling were installed. This mirror wall was eight to ten feet long. There was a doorway on either side of the mirror wall. One doorway went to the bedrooms and the other doorway to the kitchen and dining area. That happened when Martha was about six years old. It was very shortly thereafter that she noticed herself in the mirror when she danced. Her dancing suddenly took on a, perhaps it was, I don't really know what to call it, artistry or talent. Suddenly and in a couple of months she became skillful. Her ability would grow and grow. She became entertaining when she danced.

Oh she always entertained us and we felt very jolly when she danced but this was for a better word, more. It was decided to install mirrors on two walls of her bedroom and she was called a natural dancer. We all decided she needed lessons. I know she liked those lessons. Even with the lessons, sometimes she would still dance her dance to the inner song she heard.

And one thing I do recall of back then when I think of it. It wasn't only the house that was a wonderful happy place; it was the whole area, the neighborhood and more of the city. Since then, I have often wondered if it was just my imagination that the world really was a wonderful place when Martha danced but we will get to that in time.

Copyright:
Written for Steemit: Copyright © 2017 Jeff Kubitz - The Dancer - et al. All Rights Reserved. Steemit.com/steemit/@jeff-kubitz

Sort:  

It's good to read you dear friend @ jeff-kubitz.
Excellent job, I really enjoy your jobs.
I wish you a great day.

Thanks my dear friend @jlufer, your praise is appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95