Song of Angels - Chapter 16

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

Song of Angels - Chapter 16

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Table of ContentsPlease read and vote for the previous chapters:
Song of Angels - Chapter 1Song of Angels - Chapter 2
Song of Angels - Chapter 3Song of Angels - Chapter 4
Song of Angels - Chapter 5Song of Angels - Chapter 6
Song of Angels - Chapter 7Song of Angels - Chapter 8
Song of Angels - Chapter 9Song of Angels - Chapter 10
Song of Angels - Chapter 11Song of Angels - Chapter 12
Song of Angels - Chapter 13Song of Angels - Chapter 14

Song of Angels - Chapter 15

Mindy was terrified while they ran because she realized that this world was disappearing, the world of the past she suddenly found herself in, met Cyrus Weeks, been ravished, and perhaps she was falling into serious love.

How does someone fall into love? She did not know and yet she just did it or was in the process of falling ever more deeply. Along with love, comes fear for the other person, care, concern, and even though she should have been affronted by the way Cyrus grabbed her laid her on the bed and mounted her, she really had not struggled at all against what should have been an assault and she could not explain why, just like she could not explain why she decided to clean the house. She could not explain why she bathed him.

Cyrus apologized to her but in her heart Mindy knew there was no need. As soon as she looked up into his eyes, his half asleep, then instantly awake eyes, even though Cyrus thought he was in a dream, she knew.

How did she know, why run with Cyrus and a couple of times his hand steadied her and why do what he said and like it? Why even consider living with him here in this total dump of a filthy, dirt floor house before she had any idea she was back in 1856? His hand kept her from falling twice while they ran toward the house and even though she concentrated on reaching the safety of the house, Cyrus scanned around them for dangers as they ran.

"Why are we running Mindy?" Cyrus yelled when they were about fifty steps from the house.

"We don't need too." Mindy slowed.

"I thought maybe you saw something about to attack us," Cyrus slowed beside her and continued to watch for an ambush or attack to break from the wood. Huffing from the sprint Mindy faced Cyrus and observed him, watch for danger.

"Cyrus, look at me." And he did. "I became afraid I was about to lose you when Cutter's tracks disappeared. I never want to be away from you ever again." Cyrus gave Mindy his full attention and put his hands on his shoulders, looked into her eyes while she spoke. "I think I like 1856 better than 2012 Cyrus. There is nothing here to get in between us. I like the way it is just you and I and no one else."

"I see." Cyrus said smiling.

"I do not know how I came to be here, how it is possible that I have met you, or really why I like it here so much, except that it is peaceful here and I know you love me."

"Yes, Mindy. I do love you."

"I know that you should not have to feel apologetic about taking me as you did. I needed that from you. There is nothing you have to be sorry for toward me Cyrus, nothing at all, not ever."

"Yes Mindy."

"Kiss me Cyrus and never let me go." And he did. Cyrus did. He wrapped her in his arms inside his coat and she felt his Enfield press against her by the grasp of his arms and she did not care about that, did not know how she could be used to being around gun held inside a coat while she was being kissed but somehow it was a part of Cyrus, they were on the frontier of America and it was the way life should be.

"You didn't see anything, or anyone?"

"No."

"Would you like to go in the house?"

"Yes." Mindy gasped for breath from his kisses, from the exhilaration of it, from the way he seemed to join completely with her soul, "Take me inside and love me Cyrus."

"I will never let you go Mindy."

"No, never let me go."

Cyrus picked Mindy up as if she were a feather and to him she was. In his arms, gently, he caressed her, shutting the doors behind him, set her on the bed. Unzipped her parka, took it into the other room, and hung it onto the pegs, his coat and hat also. He stoked the stove with a couple of logs of wood. He stepped into their bedroom where fires burned far hotter, fires that would never quench.

Just what is love? When does it really happen? When does it become real and why? Mindy knew she was in love and she could not explain why. She did not care why she was in love, only that she was in love and would never be out of love with Cyrus ever again. All she wanted was Cyrus, to please him and Cyrus wanted to do nothing more than please Mindy and he did.

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz

Sort:  

To all of you, thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67480.37
ETH 3778.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53