Purgatory - Vestas, Chapter 1.4

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Written for Steemit: Purgatory - Life is an adventure and no one is ever certain what it is about or what will be faced, or in this case learned ©Jeff Kubitz 2017 - All Rights Reserved.

Vestas, Chapter 1.4 of Purgatory

11188431_453128228188408_3142343432434604909_na786b.jpg

Previous Sections:
Chapter 1 - Table of Contents

After love making in the pool, again Carol lay upon her right side, nude next to Vestas who sat. This time she had her left leg kicked back at the knee and she lay with her head on her folded right arm, face turned toward Vestas. With her left hand, she gently stroked his bare leg. Vestas sat and admired her, the now tanned color of her skin. He also scanned in all directions every so often, even up, "We must have more lessons Carol, in case we need to flee. I am not certain that you believe this is not a dream."

"Oh it is a dream," Carol answered, "Such a handsome, strong, knowledgeable man who is a great lover."

"Why thank you." Vestas replied, "But this is no dream and even though we are safe now and yes, you are very beautiful and I want you to stay that way and stay with me so there must be more lessons."

"But there is nothing else but you and me," Carol answered as she stroked his hip and his side.

"You came didn't you? Something else could come too and we must be ready."

"Are you sure it seems like paradise, or a slice of it."

"I am absolutely positive that something could happen and it is definitely not paradise."

"Well, if this place is so evil, why are you helping me?"

"The person who helped me ascended up into paradise and I had a glimpse of it. That is where I want to go. That is where I hope to go. Don't you have children, a husband or relatives you would like to visit?"

"We can ascend into paradise from here?" Carol sat up stunned.

"Don't change the subject, what about children, a husband, family? Wouldn't you like to see how they are doing?"

"I had a husband, he passed away fourteen years ago and we had no children. I am an only child. My mother and father were very good people but they died a long time ago. It looks like you are it for me." Carol then gave Vestas a huge smile and asked, "What do you think about that?"

"Oh that is very good for me Carol but I do not want to happen to you what happened to my last companion. Certainly there is someone you wish to visit or check on?"

"Is this a lesson?" Carol asked.

"It could be, while we are trying to help the living, we are usually somewhat protected."

"Well, I do have some friends I would like to check on, help if I can but they are not in Louisiana." Carol answered.

"We could go there, what about your husband, he had no children by another wife?"

"He did but I never met them, what about you? We could go see your relatives?"

"I had a wife but she disappeared out of here, forever ago, I did have children but they are either gone from here or trapped in something somewhere and I cannot find them. As for my first wife, my other companion, she walked away once we came into this place and I have not seen her here since. Again, maybe she ascended along with my children."

"What did you do in life?" Carol looked at him questioningly.

"I was a temple guard in the town in which I lived. It was a moderate city."

"And for being a temple guard you have been in here this long? What did you do in the temple?"

"Guard the temple, of course, oversee the slaves, guard the sacred people, what guards do."

"There were slaves and sacred people? I know what a slave is but what are sacred people?"

"The sacred people are those about to be sacrificed. No one can touch them and they must remain pure, so the sacred people were guarded. It was one of the tasks I did."

"And this is from a very long time ago, right?"

"So very long, several thousand years I would imagine by persons I have met. Now we really must get on with your lessons."

"Why don't we go to your temple, or where you lived?" Carol asked, "After all, it has to be better than here, surrounded by this waste."

"We could but I am sure on the Earth, the temple no longer exists and it would take many of us who remembered it to make it come back so we could stay in it. There just aren't that many left, or if there are, I have not found them in a long time."

"In my time, archaeologists restore many ancient temples, maybe yours has been restored." Carol suggested, "You could try."

"I had not ever heard that but if you say so. There is a time we gather at the temple, those who are left, and it has not happened in a long time." Vestas answered.

"What time do you gather at this temple?"

"When the ring of fire is followed by the sword of doom and Gilgamesh seeks to step through the ring of fire. Then we gather to help him succeed. Anyways, I have pretty much given up on that religion as all are gone, all I knew are gone, or I cannot find them."

"Well, we shall watch for the signs and then, I would like to visit my friends. Now how do I do that?"

"First, dress yourself unless these friends are lovers or they might see you nude. Yes, that is practical even if I do not recognize the clothing. Now first try to go to the spot you went to before and then come back...Good! Now go a little further away each time." Vestas instructed. "You are doing well, how do you feel?"

"I do not feel drained like I did before."

"Good, one must rest but you will see, the Gods are merciful and we have the ability to move from place to place for a very long time. And now, I will attach myself to you while you move."

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz Some of my other books are here: https://www.amazon.com/Jeffery-Kubitz/e/B01MXY9YHR

Sort:  

This is very good can't wait to read more

Great! Thank you very for your kind compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42