You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Echoes of Tommorrow's Past - Part 11 (My Original Novella)

in #story7 years ago

I specifically remember commentingon this a few days ago, but it seems my comment failed to send. It's good to know I haven't missed much, but I apologize if I haven't been able to comment regularly, my brother. I'm almost without internet for a week now, and I'm only able to go online whenever I leech off of my fiancée's internet.

The cliffhanger was definitelt warranted, and this was a great follow-up to it. The doctor's chilling pragmatism is getting abit disconcerting, and that imagery of Herbert's boy felt almost too real. You have navigated the waters of Horror and Sci-Fi quite well, as if there was any doubt in the first place. Dolores has quickly become an unexpected bastion of strength, and I'm happy about the turn.

What's scary about the themes you tell here is that one could imagine this being reality in a few years. The faceless corporations experimenting on us, all of the repercussions, they all feel too real. With your masterful stroke, you convey it so effectively, my brother! Spectacular as always! :D

Sort:  

Awesome @jedau! How are you, pal?

And please, take all the time you want. Just as long as you stay with us on this platform, sir! (Sorry for my directness but I'm letting my emotions get the better of me, lol).

Your feedback is gratefully received, man. I'm dealing with some complex ideologies here so want to get it as right as I can the first time around. Herbert's hallucinations terrified him to death (literally) so I'm glad that came across as to how he might have seen things. Dolores is turning out to be a mixed bag though. Good intentions, with a half measure of selfishness thrown into the mix.

I also agree that the future will be similar to the one I describe in this novella. I've watched many fascinating documentaries stressing the fact that, over time, "humankind and technology will work together, almost seamlessly. Technophobia will be a thing of the past and we will all embrace new discoveries as a collective." Will be a very interesting world in the future. But when and how this takes place is anyone's guess right now.

Bless you for more great feedback pushed my way. I really appreciative every word you say. Thank you. :)

And please, take all the time you want.

The first time I read it, I swear I read it as "And please, take all the STEEM you want." to which I replied "Yes, my bro. Yes, I would."

Yeah, the selfish side of Dolores is what I noted before the perspective shifted to her. I guess that's why I was surprised how effective she was carrying the baton. She's like a complete anti-hero in the story.

I'm definitely onboard with the technological Singularity. We can only evolve so much organically, and what better way to take the next step than to leap using our own creation. There are a lot of issues to be considered there though. The security, the responsibility. All things must be considered, and not just plunge in head first because certain companies want to get a head start.

Brother, you are ensured all the feedback. You have earned it, and more! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44