Today we feed 30 people Thanks to YOU

in #story7 years ago

A week ago

I published a post proposing "The 100 Sandwiches Challenge" https://steemit.com/story/@interpreter/steemit-for-charity-the-100-sandwiches-challenge
the main idea was to take the steem dollars from upvotes, change it to Bitcoin, then to USD, then to local currency and feed 100 poor people and homeless on the streets ... This first time we couldn't gather enough money to feed 100 but we were able to feed 30 people and that's extraordinary ... I really want to thank those who contribute with their upvotes:

Thanks to all of you today we make a diference!

@donkeypong @vcelier @pharesim @dunia @s4s @liberosist @randowhale @ben.zimmerman @leongkhan @sidwrites @cryptoloud @pippininja @ghk14 @ribalinux @diabetic-man @vallurivikram @teukufandy @maxd337 @yanies

I want to make clear how much we were able to gather and how much I spend today

The first image show the Author Payout

The second Image show how many Steem Dollars we gather

The Third image shows how many BTC we obtain

The fourth image show how many American Dollars we obtain after fee

The fifth image show how many local currency we obtained

Let's go to the Bakery

Buying more than 10 pieces of bread a day in Venezuela is a difficult task there is shortage of wheat flour and many other food supplies so the government restricts the amount that can be purchased per person anyway I told the manager of the bakery that I was planing to use the bread to feed homeless and poor people on the streets and he sold me more pieces than he's allowed to, so I was able to buy 30 pieces of bread, 30 slices of cheese, 30 slices of ham, 15 bananas, 15 mandarins and 22 small Juices. So we gather 83.000 in local currency and spend 79.085 in food there is not to much you can buy with the remaining 3.915 so I gave it to a guy on the streets, here is an image of the receipts with all the expenses.

The Food Journey

Although I wanted to take pictures of all the people we feed today not all of them were in the mood to a public appearance, so I asked everyone of them if they want to appear some said yes and some say no ... Here you are, some pictures of what we have achieve today this is a family of 9 persons the women were looking for food on some garbage bags when I approach to them, it was the right place to start.

This two guys does not looks like homeless do they? But guess what? They were also looking for food on the garbage bags in front of a pizza restaurant, they told me they were carpenters but the lack of work induced them to eat from the garbage, they own a small house but they have no money to buy food.

This grandpa was lying on the ground I had to wake up him to give some food

This other guy was also looking for food on a garbage bag he agree to have a picture and told me "Tell the world we are starving"

This was a family of 8 they were all lying on the ground until the steemit help team gave them something to smile for a box full of food :)

This other grandpa was deeply asleep I approach to him very quiet and put the food right on his hands I wonder about his face when he wakes up

This man happily agree to have a picture :)

This grandpa saves his sandwich to eat it later on and just ate the Banana

This guy was trying to look funny on the picture but he didn't make it hahaha we is a really funny man

I had a little chat with almost everyone of them and I could see a pattern in their stories they told me the police always ran them away because "regular people" don't want to see people like them surrounding their fancy restaurants, one of them told me "I want to take a shower and have a hair cut but I have no home and I have no money" ... Maybe they are somehow responsable for their situation maybe their are not but we are in a better position than most of them and now we can make a diference from the confort of our desk. It was a great experience aproaching this people and see they have feelings and dreams like everyone of us ... I have to do this more often and I know I will with a little help of this amazing community ...

Thank you all :)

Sort:  

amazing Stay beside you+upvote+resteem

Thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaanks

How did you find the post? I published 14 hours ago ...

some one resteem it. I also resteem it to my 500 followers to help you more.
Up-Vote+Re-Steem+Follow
Hope you like my new post - A complete Case Study of Steemit.com For New Users.
Post Link:https://steemit.com/steem/@joydip8116/a-complete-case-study-of-steemit-com-for-new-user

I see, resteem seems to be the best thing someone can do for a post

Wow that is so nice from you! Good idea!

I'm the one who have to thank the steemit community

wow, good job :)

Thanks

You are doing a great act of humanity! Simply big respect!

@progressivechef

It's just the right thing to do

What a noble idea, God bless everyone who was involved in contributing towards that worthy cause. Thank you for sharing

Thanks for reading :)

Awesome! This made my day. What a great project. Keep up the good work!

AMZazing work! God Bless You !!

We did it together

This is an amazing endeavor! Wonderful job- you have my support :)

as a minion myself I say Thaaaaanks

Upvoted and resteemed by a minnow. Keep us informed. As my steem improve. I will contribute more to your cause.

I'm a minnow as well :) thanks

This is amazing, you have inspired me to do a post and donate the proceeds to feed the homeless through Unsung.org - Please look for that post and share, I will do the same for you - Thank you!!

I didn't know about that project I'll look for it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65213.13
ETH 3471.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35