Steemit for Charity (The 100 Sandwiches Challenge)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Steemit for Charity (The 100 Sandwiches Challenge)

Blockchain technology

is changing the way we live there is no doubt about it, I joined Steemit just a few days ago and have being able to follow amazing people, reading beautifull work and also to make some money wich I must say payed me some delayed bills and I'm thankfull for that.

But I feel like I can not let this powerful tool just make friends or money, maybe is the budhist side I have develop since I learned about altruism doing a Vipassana meditation retreat (https://steemit.com/story/@interpreter/the-experience-of-doing-a-vipassana-meditation-retreat) but I'm sure that, we together, could make a real impact to bring a smile to the face of the homeless.

Why should I care about apoor people? I have always had a saying: "One must defend the rights of minorities because you don't know when it's your turn to be one of them"

If we all look down when we are up there will always be something that can be done for those who have not had our luck and we have the oportunity to make that change sitting on our desk or laying in bed just by upvoting and resteem a post, can be an easier way to make a positive impact on other people's life?

The 100 Sandwiches Challenge

The Basis

1

I commit to prepare 100 sandwiches and deliver to the homeless if the idea is successful and supported by the steemit community

2

I commit to take a picture for each sandwich delivered

3

I commit to take pictures of the buying and preparation process (This would be the fun part)

4

This work will be done by me, my wife and sister in law (Maybe we could gather some other hads to help)

5

If the money collected is greater than necessary I commit to prepare more sandwiches


How much Money would be needed?

This will depend on what we put inside the bag I think a sandiwch of ham and cheese with a banana and a can of coke will be enough to reach the goal, but the price of this charity bag with food must be decided amog us, so please propose a price in the comments below, anyway I'll prepare as many sandwiches as I can with the money collected.

Let's make this happen upvote and resteem for the homeless

Sort:  

This is a wonderful idea! Maybe it will grow and you will be making thousands of lunches some day!

So what area are you in? How big is the homeless population in your area?

Not too many sandwiches until now I promoted this post to reach a bigger audience let's see what happens I won't surrender that easily :)

I live in Venezuela in the city of Valencia around 70% of the Venezuelan population lives in poverty, every day I see children and adults looking for food in the trash, that breaks my soul ... I hope you are right and this post grows enough to able to help a large group of people and maybe extend the idea to other countries

Talking about myself I'm in the group of the lucky ones "The middle class"

Start your week with a Steemit positive message Interpreter!

"Spectacular achievement is always preceded by unspectacular preparation" - Robert H. Schuller

IMG_4494.JPG

Flatrider

HIGH PAW!!

IMG_1445.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65304.87
ETH 3543.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49