Zucchini Harvest Time

in #story7 years ago (edited)

image

Hello friends,

How are you doing this Sunday? I hope you guys are doing well. Today, we finally have a sunny day in Brussels. Plus, today is car free Sunday so many people are just playing on the street and some enjoy this occasion to cycle around by bike with friends or family. This special event is held only once a year. They should have organised it once a month. It would be very nice.

While people are enjoying the city without the pollution from the cars, my partner and I were spending our Sunday with his family. We were celebrating his little brother's birthday and were picking some zucchinis from his mother's garden!

IMG-20170917-WA0007-01.jpeg

image

At the beginning, she (my mother in law) only planted two or three plants of zucchini but now they are invading the garden. Zucchini is quite easy to grow and you may have loads of harvest. Today, we got two zucchinis including a big one.

image

image

Ouwkay, now I have to find some ideas of what to cook with zucchini. I won't be making a dessert this time. I've had too much sweet stuffs this week. Do you have any suggestions? Please let me know if you do.

Thank you everyone for reading.

Cheers,
signature-fonts

All work and photos are original and mine. Photos were taken with Motorola G4.

Sort:  

Awesome! Have you ever tried making noodles out of zucchini? It's a nice way to eat raw while still enjoying a great dish!

I love zoodles! But I dont have spiralizer :-( It's on my list though. I've been wanting to make noodles out from zucchini. Thanks for the idea @flatearthvegan! :-)

Neither do I I'm thinking of getting one too. I saw some recipes with zoodles they look super good!

Indeed, raw zoodles are just delish. I've tried it. Let's order our spiralizer then :-D

OMG - fantastic to have fresh zucchini. The Italian loves to fry the zucchini flowers and season with salt. I saw a couple in your photos.

I like making zucchini biscuits and it's my husband's favourite item on my menu. He would remind me to make them if I haven't make those in awhile. Here is how i prepare them:

https://steemit.com/food/@steemit-foodie/about-last-night-s-baked-zucchini-patties

You are an expert in the kitchen. Perhaps you could make a savoury treats using zucchini? I would love to learn what you are about to make and will wait for your next post, hehe. Happy Sunday!

Yes, that's right. We can make something from zucchini flower but I don't the heart to pick the young zucchinis. Though I actually am very curious :-D

Thanks for your link. I'm gonna take a look. Some time ago I worked a lot with zucchini and now I am stuck because there's just too much ideas coming up in my mind.

Ooh you're over the top. Thanks anyway for your kind words. You're also an expert in the kitchen ;-) Happy Sunday to you too!

Haha - I feel stuck as well and therefore looking forward to get some inspiration from others. Lately, I have to dig down deep when I'm at the grocery stores, as I am having a hard time to come up with new dishes to cook for my family so that they don't complain (LOL). Therefore, I come on Steemit a lot and chat with you ladies and gentlemen to get some inspirations :p

Luckily, my partner is not picky when it comes to food. Though actually I prefer to eat Asian food everyday (because it's hard for me to move on from it), I still need to come up with new dishes too. Same for me, I often go to Steemit to find some inspirations :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ikaputri3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nous on veut bien des zucchinis ! :-)

Vous en voulez vraiment? Car des fois on en a trop.

Oui oui ! :-)

Congratulations @ikaputri3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sun in Brussels... Woot woot. Hope it will stay like that. We are arriving in less than a week. Those zucchinis look so great. I'm sure you will turn them into a delicious and creative dish.

It didn't stay long. The rain is back :-D But hopefully, it'll get better in a week. Still no ideas for zucchini, but I'll for sure find one :-)

fresh veggies / yes !!!!!

Come come, I'll share some with you ;-)

Congratulations @ikaputri3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yumm!!! What about zucchini chips in the oven (you have your mandoline now!) You could slice them super thin, sprinkle with oil and salt and put them on low in the oven until they crisp up. OR what about zuchiini quick pickles? Or fritters? with yogurt dipping sauce?

Good idea @jaymorebeet! I'll try zucchini chips and pickles with yogurt dipping sauce. That sounds yum! Thanks so much for the ideas :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62