Memorandum In Memoriam

in #story8 years ago (edited)

This is Doctor...well, shit, if you’re reading this, you probably know who this is. I’m the one who originally declassified all the files relating to Project: Eden. Yeah, I sure got chewed out for that one. Like I give a rat’s. You assholes couldn’t cover it up fast enough. But the public deserves to know what’s going on.

Well, whatever. This is my formal complaint, for what it’s worth. I guess maybe some of you don’t really understand the magnitude of what’s happening here, so let me break it down. You’ve all read the reports, the mission logs, that one...particular transmission (Marcus, you bastard, you didn’t need to have the poor boy killed, it wasn’t his fault he was on duty when the transmission passed Europa, for Christ’s sake he was just doing his job), so I’ll get right to the nitty-gritty.

We’re fucked.

That’s all there is to it, really. That poor girl Alayna wasn’t able to destroy the ship in time, Yggdrasil disengaged the overload, and then it headed here. Do you think it was a coincidence that it landed in Sector 079? Anything about that site ring a bell? Let me refresh your memory: the worst nuclear disaster in history. It’s been nearly four hundred years and it’s still the most radioactive site on Earth. Yggdrasil knew that because Alayna knew that. It’s propagating. Field researchers have already confirmed that the mycelium around the site has begun to mutate. Do you understand the implications of that? Every fucking plant on this planet is connected in some way to the fungal mycelia network. And the ones that live on different continents? They’re just a hop, skip, and a jump, considering this thing has already traveled over 500 light years to reach us.

So, yeah, we’re fucked. Maybe not right away, but there’s nothing we can do to stop it. And once it claims this planet, it won’t just have our intelligence -- it will have our technology. It will go out in search of other worlds. Maybe inhabited worlds. And it will devour them, like it’s devouring ours. This whole fucking galaxy is fucked, and it’s our fault. I think people ought to know that.

So, this is what we get. The hubris of man come crashing down upon our heads. Tell the public or don’t. Either way, I’m officially resigning. I’ll spend what time I have left with my family instead of this Godforsaken organization.

Space exploration. “For the good of humanity.” What a fucking crock.

– Dr. Q.

Yggdrasil

Sort:  

AWESOME! I like the unique approach.

Thanks! I'm trying to experiment a little bit with storytelling methods. I'm glad you liked how this turned out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76