Green Valley Stables Chapter 1

in #story8 years ago

Hello! My name is grhappy, and I've just started out on steemit. I am very excited about the whole concept of posting story ideas up here (If you can't already tel, I love to write stories!). I've loved writing books since I was little. I first wrote a story when I was in primary school. we were writing stories during our English class. I enjoyed it so much that I carried on writing it at home.
This was before I had a google account which I use loads to write stories. Anyway, I finally managed to finish it on word pad. It was only about ten pages long with short, discriptionless sentences like: Maddy looked out the window. It seems quite funny now when I look back at it. I called it: The mystery of the shipwreck. Even though I used to be one of the lowest skilled readers in my class, rubbish at spelling and didn't get high grades in English, it didn't matter.
I felt so proud when I drew the front cover and my teacher read it out loud, but now I want to aim for higher targets. i want to take it to the next level.

I love writing kids books! I love letting my imagination run wild! And I love horses (Even though I don't ride.)! So that's why I am now starting to write children's books about horses. just because i never had a horse or riding lessons, doesn't mean I can't write about them. I can write about anything - So can others. I've got enough information from studying horses on the internet and watching videos with people jumping, galloping, doing dressage and other things on horses. it looks amazing. I know it will be very slim for me to have a chance at doing those things, but it doesn't mean I should give up.
Writing is a way for me to express myself. Writing about things I want to do and have done makes me feel happy. I would absolutely love to pursue my dreams of becoming an author and be able to ride a horse. So, to take a step towards one of my dreams, I am writing two books and I would like you to read the first chapter of my one of my
new series:

Green Valley Stables

It would be really nice if you could tell me what you thought of it and if there's anything I need to add or take away. I would appreciate it loads! I have three ideas for the series I'm writing, but if you have any ideas for the books, I will be more than happy to take them on board. You would also get a mention in my blog/story board.
I'm pretty sure there's a comment button somewhere... Like I said, I'm new.
Also, If you want me to read any of your story ideas, I'll be more that happy too, I'm not an expert yet, but it would help you to know what others thought about it!

So anyway, i hope you enjoy the first chapter of my story. Just before though, i'll give you a quick summery of the story plot :)

Evelyn Brown is a 11 year old girl just starting out at an all girl's boarding school called green valley Stables in America. She has vacations out of school.
She has three friends: Addison, Mia and Natalie.
She is given a chestnut colored Arabian purebred who is called Flame. Flame is 15.3 hands high with a stripe going up his forehead. He had dark brown mane and tail and his muzzle is also dark brown like the fur around his eyes and hooves.
each week, she alternates through riding and normal lessons.
There are a few adventures and incidents that happen
The main part of the story is the massive competition between each year group that happens at the end of the year.
However, someone starts to sabotage the riding equipment. everybody thinks it's Evelyn because she is the person who was spotted in the tack room at the time of the sabotage. the actual thief sabotages her own equipment to make it look like she didn't do it.

That's all I've got so far. If you think I should add anything, just comment! Thanks

                                                                                           Chapter 1

“OHMYGOSH!” Squealed eleven year old Evelyn Brown, excitement bubbling up in her. She leant her forehead on the car window and pressed her hands up against the glass too. Her eyes widened as she stared outside.
“I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M ACTUALLY HERE!”
“Me neither…” Sighed Mr Brown looking at his happy daughter through the rearview mirror.
Eve turned her head to look at her dad, though all she could see was his right ear. She rolled her eyes.
“Dad! You’re supposed to be happy for me!”
“I know and I am! Truly!”
“No you’re not.” Said Eve’s older sister, Imogen looking up from her phone.
Eve’s dad sighed.
“Okay, okay! You caught me! I’m not glad that you’re going away for six years!”
“Not all the time, though, I’ll come home in the vacations.” said Evelyn peering over to Imogen to see what she was doing. Imogen waved her hand at Eve and switched off her phone. Eve grinned innocently.
“I just wanted to see who you were textin’.”
“As if I’d show you!”
“Why not? Was it your boyfriend?”
“N-no! And you mean ex-boyfriend. We broke up last summer. Seriously, Evelyn, keep up!”
Eve pulled a face and then turned back round to look out the window. At that moment, they were driving under an arch of birch trees. Eve could just about see the paddocks with the horses that were behind them. I’m gonna be riding one of those horses! She thought excitedly.
The car turned left and out of the arching trees. This time, Eve could see the paddocks with the majestic horses in more easily. They were all lazily grazing in the warm sun, their fur shining and their tails swaying from side to side. Eve’s blue-green eyes shone happiness and she sighed.
“You havin’ second thoughts?” Asked her dad as he pulled into the busy car park at the entrance to red Valley Stables.
“NO!” Cried Evelyn making her mom, who was sleeping, jump.
“What’s all the commotion about? We’re here already?” Her mom asked rubbing her eyes. “Oops!” She then cried looking
down at her hands to see mascara smudged all over them,
“looks like you’ll have to fix me up, Im.”
“Mom!” groaned Imogen as she got out her makeup bag.
Evelyn’s mom never wore makeup and only had it on because Imogen had forced her too. “I’ll re-do it for you as soon as we get out the car. I can’t allow you to walk round lookin’ like that!”
“I’m sorry!” Cried Eva’s mom getting out a tissue and mirror to try and get rid of the smudges round her blue eyes.
Eve laughed. Imogen and her mom weren’t the best of friends and they kept on ending up in arguments. In the end, though, they’d always make up.
“Right,” Said Evelyn’s dad turning the key in the car to switch off the engine, “Let’s get Evelyn’s bags out and then go to the main building.” said Eve’s dad flicking through the leaflet which told him where and what to do when they arrived.
They all got out of the car and immediately, Imogen started to fix her mom’s makeup whilst Eve and her dad got out her three suitcases. Her suitcases included: Two pairs of school riding uniform (Two pairs of cream coloured breeches, two black show jackets embroidered with the school’s colours: Gold and emerald green, and the school’s logo: two golden horses rearing up at a green horse hoof. The green horse shoe represented luck and the horses represented the school. Two white shirts with the school’s colours and logo, one pair of black riding boots which go up past their calves and one pair of ankle height riding boots). Another suitcase included nightwear and the third one included everyday wear. The items for riding-like helmets and saddles would be provided by the school.
In the background behind a hedge at the back of the carpark, Eve could see three giant modern whitewashed houses, a large training ring, stables and a big barn. Eve’s heart skipped a beat as she saw a girl about five years older than her taking her horses over some jumps that were set up in a large flat field to the left of the three houses and barn.
“Wow!” she said watching the striking girl on the graceful horse jump a double fence followed by a hedge jump-both over two meters thirty. One Day I’ll be able to do that!
Eve swung her two suitcases onto each of her arms and set off down a cobblestone path that led out of the carpark and to the main building.
“Wait for us!” Cried Eve’s mom as Imogen tried to keep her head from turning.
“Mom!” Hissed Imogen reapplying lip gloss onto her.
“Sorry!” cried imogen’s mom pushing her long brown hair behind her ears.
Imogen finally put her makeup bag away and she, her mom and dad hurried after Evelyn.

“Good mornin’!”
Evelyn’s family had finally caught up with her and now, the four of them had entered the main building. As Eve’s eyes slowly adjusted to the dim lights in the room she realized there was a small fire burning on one side of the wall, surrounded by a huge, white leather couch, a rocking chair, and on either side of the grand fireplace were bookshelves running all the way up and down the side of the room. There were also large paintings of people dressed in fancy clothing. A large grand staircase which led up to the first floor. What caught Evelyn’s eye was the three large, red sofas forming a U letter with a rather low table in front of them which had piles of horse magazines. A couple of people were sitting there flipping through the glossy pages. There were more people lugging suitcases over to a large reception desk at the opposite side of the room to the fireplace.
“C’mon, Evelyn!” Cried Eve’s dad as Evelyn looked round the large room. “We need to sign in!”
“Sorry, dad!” Cried Eve running over to her family who were already waiting in a line that was growing quickly with girls all chattering away excitedly.
“How can I help you?” Asked one of the three receptionists who were sitting behind the desk in smart black breeches and black riding jackets with white shirts underneath.
“My daughter Evelyn brown is joining this year.” said Eve’s dad bringing out an acceptance letter for Evelyn and her passport to show identification.
“Ahhh! Welcome!” The lady scrolled down a list of names and ticked off Evelyn’s name. She then brought out a map. “You are based in the foal house.” She pointed to the dorm on the map.
“Why’s it called that?” Evelyn asked. She had never heard of a dorm called the foal before.
“Because, everyone who is the same age as you are just starting out here. Just like when a foal comes into the world. It doesn’t know where it is or what’s going on. Makes sense?”
Evelyn nodded.
“Take this with you,” She then said passing the map to Evelyn who took it eagerly.
"Thanks," said Evelyn folding the map up and sticking it in the back pocket of her jeans.
She then hurried to the door of the building, closely followed by her parents when suddenly, the door swung right open and a girl wearing crisp, white breeches, riding boots, black jacket and white shirt came into the room. Her blonde hair was tied up into a tight bun and her blue eyes were brought out with the thick mascara she had on.
She barely gave Evelyn a second look at her plain face as she swept past followed by a man and a women who were
carrying lots of suitcases.
“Right,” said the man with an English accent walking over to the reception desk. The girl and woman followed him closely.
Evelyn couldn’t help but stare at the girl. How could she not look in awe at the surroundings or at least have a smile?
Her mouth was set in a straight line, just like her mother. She suddenly looked over at Evelyn and glared at her as if to say, “GET LOST!”
Evelyn smiled weakly and then turned to leave the building. Before she did though, she heard the man say something in his booming voice, “Right, my sweetie, let’s get some staff to unload your horse and then we can go see your new dormitory. I made sure to ask the staff to make sure it was up to your standards.”
“Good, father. Mother, i’m thirsty, please give me my iced tea.” demanded the girl as her mother fumbled around to grab her child’s iced tea whilst balancing two large boxes under her arm.
“Careful, mother!” Screamed the girl in horror as the boxes fell to the ground, “Those boots are made of the finest leather from India!” She looked round the room and to her delight, the two girls sitting on the sofas reading magazines were looking up at her.
Evelyn felt sick. How could anyone treat their family as if they were simply maids?
I hope I don’t share a room with her… Evelyn thought as she ran out the building to catch up with the rest of her family.

I hope you liked reading this first chapter. like I say, this book is designed for children, so if any of you as the reader have children, it would be useful to know what they thought about it! thank you for reading :)

grhappy

Don't forget to follow me!

Sort:  

Congratulations @grhappy! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @grhappy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68