Y2K Nostalgia - Dark Angel

in #story7 years ago

dark angel 2.jpg

I was bored Sunday night, so I decided to fire up my Plex server to browse the TV Shows. I've been so busy, that I rarely have time to watch anything.
Lo and behold, I run across "Dark Angel" Now you might be thinking… What a crap tv show, so corny and campy. But for me it was always comfy, and who didn't like Jessica Alba.

As I fired up the pilot episode something struck a cord with me that I never really noticed before. It has an amazingly accurate prediction of the world we are living in or heading into… I'll explain in a moment.

To give you some background this TV Show came out in the Year 2000, arguably the height of the dotcom era , and before the burst. For the most part things were positive… Low unemployment, cool gadgets, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Friends, Malcolm in the Middle you get the idea.
Eyes-Only-dark-angel-2282820-500-375.jpg

Dark Angel takes place in a post apocalyptic future in which Seattle and all of America is in an economic collapse triggered by a Nuclear EMP (Far from the current mood of the times). The battered society continues along, and the main character "Max" played by Jessica Alba rides her bike through the tattered city and narrates the story. The director James Cameron and screenwriters do a great job at setting up the atmosphere here.

In the TV show many people are broke, and living in shanty apartments. Free speech is under attack, and a vigilante speaks out to the people via his "eyes only" pirate broadcast. Drones patrol the streets, underground markets thrive, jobs are scarce, and the police corrupt.

HoverDrone1a.jpg

In contrast to our reality, I would say this. Although living conditions are not horrible, many people are struggling to get by, and the homeless problem is growing in almost every major city. YouTube content creators are de-monitized for not toting the liberal SJW narratives, essentially stifling free speech. People are forced to use alternative platforms and VPN's in order to have an honest conversation. The media constantly bombards us with nuclear threats from North Korea, cyber attacks from Russia, and ISIS bombings. Gainful employment is a struggle for many, and drug abuse is rampant (prescribed or illegal).
To cap things off, this show takes place in the year 2019, a year that is drawing closer by the day.

1984.jpg

So how about you? Have you revisited any shows or books, that struck a chord with the current times we are living in? Let me know, I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Sort:  

Steem is beautiful because of steemers like you, @garywinston Yes the entertainment industry introduces the future to the masses. Below is a video of some of the entertainment predictions. Interesting post >I follow and Upvote.
Welcome to Steemit and I'm happy you've joined us. I hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:

https://www.steemithelp.net/
Stay Creative > Push the Boundaries > SteemOn

Steemisbeautiful, thanks for the follow and upvote.
In regards to Movies and TV , there is a saying, Truth in the Movies, Lies in the News. - Cheers.

I never heard that saying before but it is the truth., now, more than ever, we are able to see the truth. Before 2000 it seemed like just, a load of tall fantastic tales That's changing since more people are experiencing what is going on 1st hand. It makes people more aware of their world. This is why we are in need to find another way of doing things. I personally think I've found it. Steem is beautiful. It's all about valuing the worth in people. I believe what I'm doing is changing my world and soon our steem community mindset will change our world.
Stay creative and have fun @garywinston on steemit because we are the difference in our world. BTW I love going to the movies!
giphy.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74