Settling down in Phnom Penh, Cambodia

in #story6 years ago (edited)

So I've been in Phnom Penh, Cambodia for a month and a half now and it's going pretty well so far.

I found a more permanent place to rent and not have to stay in an Air BnB anymore. I'm really loving my new place. It's only 350$ a month, utilities included! Back at home, I would have to pay around 3,000$ a month for a place like this.

IMG_599![NRVX5552.png](https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmaBGs1tUPa1GXp1HhpHHVeiw6ECd2MqJAzJWHGC6DMLTN/NRVX5552.png)2.JPG

IMG_5977 (2).JPG

NRVX5552.png
Around the corner, I can get a decent meal for 5,000 Riels, which equal to 1.25$US.
The pickled cucumbers go so good together with the meal...

I also found a job at a 5-star Hotel as their research and development officer and loving the work so far. I'm learning a lot from my Cambodian co-workers.

IMG_5987.JPG

IMG_5953.JPG

I use an app called Passapp taxi that works just like Uber. I get a different driver every night.

It's called a Rickshaw. It takes me about 20 minutes to get home and costs me about 2 dollars. It's sometimes a bumpy ride and you can smell everything around you. But, it's fun and so very affordable! Using this until I can shop around for a Moto bike.

On my free time I try to explore the city as much as I can. I can speak about 60% Khmer so no need for a tour guide!

IMG_5911.JPG

IMG_5951.JPG

IMG_5914.JPG

Okay, just wanted to share how I am settling down in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. So far I am loving it here and pretty soon I plan on posting videos of my adventures and doing more blogs.

I'll also start visiting famous landmarks and give brief histories about them. If you liked this post feel free to upvote and share your comments!

Sort:  

Congratulations @frisco637! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64