My Personal Thoughts on "10 Cloverfield Lane"

in #story6 years ago (edited)

In early 2016, fans of a certain “monster movie” were treated to an unexpected, but very welcome, surprise release. A long-awaited teaser trailer to the runaway success that was Cloverfield. However, this came with a bizarre twist. The trailer appeared to be about some kind of hostage situation involving a young girl and the burly John Goodman as her aggressive, overbearing captor. Though at the same time, the movie bore the same unique trademark brand name everybody knew and loved within its main title. This really got people scratching their heads as to what was going on thus creating a frenzied hype buzz all over again. The reaction similar to the great viral marketing campaign run for Cloverfield back in 2008. But, given this mysterious new premise containing vague elements familiar in the original, what of the actual movie itself?

1.jpg

Fresh from a break-up with her boyfriend, Michelle (played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead) drives back home through the state of Louisiana when a freak accident causes her car spin out of control and crash, rendering her unconscious. Upon waking up, she soon finds out somebody has abducted her by the name of Howard (played by the great John Goodman) and intends to imprison her in her own secluded private cell. Now, to reveal anything else at this point would be tantamount to ruining any further upcoming surprises or shocks this movie has in store. So the vague premise that I’ve just outlined is more than enough to enjoy the hell out of this movie. Hang on a second, did I just say “enjoy”? Damn straight I did. The producers of this “spin-off” to the Cloverfield universe, did a stellar job once more.

First things first. Gone is the documentary-style found footage angle. In its place, a traditional movie as we’re all used to seeing. But a tense, grim, thriller is the best summation to making up the rest of what remains. John Goodman is in his element here as a psychotic, though sometimes conflicted individual, who believes wholeheartedly in a story seemingly concocted in his delusional state. However, is it the actual truth or just an elaborate fabrication or rouse? Well, questions like this are what keep the strings tightened throughout, so to speak. Also, the dangers presented to our main protagonist, Michelle, appear very real and keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. A knockout job delivered by Winstead allows the viewer to cringe for her safety as much as wish to see her desperate flight to freedom. Though one thing is clear and obvious as the movie progresses. “Something” has happened but as to what it is, nobody knows. Again, like the last movie, clues are slowly let go the bag and the final picture becomes all the more apparent until the climactic final third act of the movie. And what an act it is!

Being a part of the Cloverfield mythos, this movie does contain certain characteristics that pertain to events, let’s say, “out-of-the-ordinary”. But it was something disclosed in a manner I’m sure no one expected. These series of movies intend to delight at your bewilderment, only to later jar the senses with sequences of manic, abrupt set pieces. It’s all done with care, thought and a keen attention to detail. Carefully laid out in such a way as to draw you in, just to pull the rug from under your feet at the last minute. And I happened to love every minute of it. In terms of criticisms to be had, you’d have to run over the movie with a fine-tooted comb to find any. Some may not like the way the movie wraps up due to it’s dicey conclusion. But that’s me making arbitrary presumptions for an uninformed audience. In fact, I regard that as an actual “plus” point to the film working as well as it does.

I loved this movie. Rumour has it that a third is on the way sometimes in the near future that will somehow tie all three movies together. But given the secretive and "fake-out" nature of the team behind these gems, what we ultimately end up with is anybody’s guess. A focused, energetic journey into a terrifying situation that happens to be startlingly well made. Another exceptional production that, for me, didn’t break the mould like the previous movie, but can stand proud as an understated masterpiece in it’s own right.

My Verdict: (8.5/10)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

*Source: (1,2,3,4)

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

I love nothing more than a well-created mystery where the audience is left in the same confused state as the characters and are filling in the pieces of the puzzle as the events unfold. This is where the Cloverfield movies shine.

John Goodman is the really the star of the film. He is a brilliant actor when he sets his mind to a character. He plays the role perfectly never giving away any more than he needs to and adds to the mystery surrounding everything perfectly. Is he just crazy or is he telling the truth? He is obviously nuts, but what is going on then? It had me guessing.

I reckon this is one of John Goodman's best preformances. From the likeable rouge we all remember him from in Rosanne, he sure can turn on the "craz-o-meter" when given the chance. Man, you came off so unhinged as the nutty Howard in this film.

Like you, I really liked this one. The suspense, tension... But most of all, the mystery. It was all top-rate stuff so I really want the next one to follow suit within the same calibre of it's previous entries. Awesome stuff, buddy. :)

Ya, this movie was awesome for me when I saw it in the theatres. I kind of expected more cloverfield-ness, but my disappointment at the lack of progressing the storyline there was more than made up for by the actors performances. I really thought this was one of the better thrillers I've seen, looking forward to more cloverfield goodness!

I'm at one with your well thought-out comments, bro. I was also initially quite taken aback by the look and feel of a title "should" have featured more of the behemoth we all know and love. But the end result was still very, very welcome. Once you worked out what they were doing, it was an absolute blast! :)

I love this movie! I gave it an 8.5 also. The suspense is amazing and the story is awesome also. I love how it made me continuously change my feelings for the character of John Goodman.

Yeah, most definitely. They could a good blend going to keep us glued to the screen right the way through. Cannot wait to see what direction they take from here on in. :)

Despite its highlighted shortcomings, one thing that can be said about 10 Cloverfield Lane is its capacity to generate suspense. This how the critique puts it: 'It’s all done with care, thought and a keen attention to detail. Carefully laid out in such a way as to draw you in just to pull the rug from under your feet. And I happened to love every minute of it. '

It's a movie to behold.

It's suspenseful tense atmosphere was off the charts. I had no idea what to expect going in so was over the moon with what the production team came up with. A solid, brilliant feature. :)

Well I'd give it a 9/10 I like movies that does not pass through the normal lane, you know out of this world movie

Yes! Our verdicts are extremely close. The only reason I rate Cloverfield slightly higher was it's genuine originality. Apart from that, I consider them both fantastic movies. :)

Looks crazy.

This is the best post on Steemit upvote me.

I have heard so many good things about this movie .....now i have to watch this.

Hope you enjoy it, bud. :)

Good post, I have left a vote and you have a follower, I invite you to check my profile, here I leave the link
https://steemit.com/life/@misc.jocs/a-time-alone-un-tiempo-a-solas

I thought John Goodman was brilliant in it!

I am glad he has found darker roles and not be the big, funny dad and stuff.

Nice workg @ezzy. I am a movie lover myself. Following you for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51