Memoirs of a Raging Addict (My Original Flash Fiction)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

An small excerpt from a new story I'm working on.

Billy Bob held out a stained, greasy hand towards Stilt.

”Come over here and say that" He yelled out in a raspy croak ". I’ll… take you down… In the blink of one of your bastard eyes!" A fresh streak of bright red blood flowed down the side of his temple. The rest of his face was peppered with sweat, more oozing out by the second.

Stilt stood his ground, back straight and fists balled up in a defence manner near his face. ”You down-and-out bum. I can’t believe I used to call you dad at one time. You stink worse than yesterday’s trash and resemble something our dog would have dug up outta the ground. Now stop swinging and sober up.”

”Where’s your mother?” Billy asked with a hard slur. The trousers he wore reeked of piss and unkempt filth. Two large dark patches paired up either side of his groin area. The original colour of the material had all but faded, leaving behind a look similar to that of an army camouflage jumpsuit. Albeit a very warped version of one, by anyone’s yardstick. He swayed to and fro, now holding out a dirt-ridden finger.

”That ugly bitch had better apologise for all the…”

The punch landed square on his jaws. He crumpled to the ground like a sack of runny shit. His legs splayed out before him and he remained unmoving. Stilt stood over him, shaking his head at the pitiful specimen this once proud man used to be. The man he had looked up to as a role model when in his earlier years. Now reduced to nothing more than a vague shadow of his former self.

”You stupid old man.” He murmured under this breath, his father lost to a world of unconsciousness. ”I don’t want your money or your love. It’s too late for all that now. I need your kidney… for mum’s op. I just pray to God it’s in better shape than the rest of you. If you’re gonna be responsible for at least one act of goodness in your wasted misery of an existence, make it this.”

His chest rose and fell at a slow, rhythmic pace. Stilt crouched down and eyed the dishevelled wallet hanging out of his back pocket. He grabbed it with two fingers to slide it out a little into the open air. Flicking open a solitary button fastening the upper greyish leather flap in place, the top half of his driving licence was barely visible through an inner mesh nylon netting.

”Yeah.” He whispered. ”That’ll do nicely for a start. You old jackass, you.”

broken-bottle.jpg

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Your excerpt creates an impact. Makes me want to keep reading. Oh, wait... I see what you did there :)

Looking forward to another installment.

Lol! Thank you, man! I'm really glad I got feedback from you on this. As I've mentioned before, a writer of your expert calibre is like gold dust to me.

I fully intend to build on this premise... Thank you, buddy. :)

You're too kind :) I think I have some catching up to do with your efforts, but I intend for 2018 to be the year for getting my fiction writing to a new level.

Writing a story from old memories, that what I love. Mean you are still connected with your past. Awesome story, really appreciable efforts put in your writing.

Many thanks, man. I appreciate every word you said. :)

I will be waiting for the next post. And what happened to the father?
Did They take both of his kidneys? And after that he could survive or not?
Please write about it if you have another part to come....

Thanks for the input, buddy. I do plan to eventually push more out of this story. :)

Wow.......... Its a pleasure to hear from you....... Thanks.....

Not bad. I think I would read that.
If it's not very sad :0)

I can't say I quite like this one... because I love it! You really know how to set the pieces up perfectly. I know I've said that countless times but you keep outdoinf yourself. This teaser really makes the readers want a second serving. The one thing I found strange though is why Stilt would ask for Billy's kidney. Shouldn't he be a better match for his mother? Just a tiny nitpick, but other than that this is great. Way to ring in the new year!

always pleasure reading your stuff..

I love how the story connects with the title of the post, adding a lot of layers of depth. Hopefully you'll post more as it comes along. New follower here! Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72