Brutally Honest: 9 - Run

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Stupid decisions. Too clever for your own good. Being an annoying prick. Words and phrases synonymous with activities pertaining to young adolescence. But sometimes, the spill over of such a condition can even effect their own unsuspecting peers too. Which is pretty much what happened to myself on an otherwise ordinary night out on the town…


Thumbs Up.jpg

Our local HMV music and video store provided much in terms of basic entertainment. There used to be a time when I was into hardcore heavy metal, which then made a natural transgression into violent gangsta rap. And also this strange period of time when I actually listened to both! Anyways, it was late and I was hanging out with Lee and another friend, Martin. A couple of cartoon characters straight out of a kid’s television show. Get these two paired up and trouble was never far away. Though I had learned to tolerate their behaviour as long as I stayed out of the various shenanigans they'd get up too, which was easier said than done, for the most part. But hey, you don’t get to pick and choose who your friends are right? (Well, adulthood teaches that actually you can, lol).

So, we end up at this Chinese buffet restaurant, located in the heart of the West End in hectic Central London. The ever-popular ”Mr. Wu”, still there in the same spot to this very day. Whereas they soon busied themselves scoffing food like vampires before the break of dawn, I chose to sit this one out since I’d already gobbled several burgers throughout the evening already. Bored, I checked out the artwork on the wall. Pretty cool, I thought. A few long-tailed flying dragons, some artistic translations of beautiful oriental environments from the far east. Enough to keep the mind ticking over until it was time to leave. Well, apparently, everything was not as it seemed.

I turned the focus of attention back to my comrades who now sat there with empty plates, bloated bellies and in some kind of hushed conversation. I curled my face up at them, wondering what all the mystery was all about.

”Hey… You guys all done? Let’s go.” No answer. Just the two of them glazing into each other's eyes like long-lost lovers. This odd sight soon started to creep me out. ”What’s the matter?” I asserted again. ”Let’s just finish up in here and go.” Still, no answer. I rolled my eyes, fast getting to the point of bewildered irritation. Then, a quick nod of the head from Lee, then Martin. “What the hell?” I thought to myself. A split second later, I was about to find out.

The brilliant strategists that they were, had inadvertently decided to do a runner. Without telling yours truly. So much for the solidarity of friendship. Before I knew what was happening, they both leapt out of their seats and made for the exit. A few dozen eyes peered back from various sites within the restaurant. But by the times the staff had figured out what was going on, they were long gone. And there’s me, sitting at the very table they were, looking just as shocked. Well, seeing as a didn’t have any cash on me to pay for their culinary crime, I got up and walked towards the main front door. Which is about the same time this rather large chef seemingly jumped out of nowhere to block off the entrance.

”Where they go? Who you are?” I remember him squealing at me. Raising my arms in the air, as if he’d pulled a handgun on me, I remarked plainly enough. ”Those idiots have obviously run off without paying and I’ve got nothing to compensate you with. I’m sorry, but I myself didn’t eat anything. Can I please leave?”

”No!” He barked back, signalling to one of the other workers. ”Call police. They come, take you away!” As bad as I felt for the guy, the rationale behind that argument made no sense whatsoever. Still, I continued to fight my case. “Look, man. I’m sorry. I’m nothing to do with their actions. Those guys ate your food, not me. You understand?” This only seemed to enrage him further, to the point of his slicing into the air. ”You pay me. Or I chop you. Understand? I chop!” Now, I must admit, that did get me a little worried. I mean, looking back, surely nothing would have happened. But I’m telling you, this guy was screaming at me like I’d just stolen his last chopstick. Behind me, I could hear some clattering. I spun around to see one of the staff members appearing to pick out a cooking utensil (scratch that, a weapon) with a very sharp edge to it. Suddenly, this problem got very real and terrifying.

I pushed past the huge man whose immediate response was to grab at my torso. Luckily for me, I slipped through his grasp (being much leaner than I am now) and bust the door open, into the fresh air. I promise you, had the door opened inwards, I’d have probably smashed through the glass. Running like my life depended on it, I glanced round to check on the fat behemoth cook, expecting him to be on my heels. I could see huffing and puffing in the distance a few shops down, indicating to me that he’d already attempting to give chase, but had to prematurely give up.

After my literal “close shave”, I rang the other two who were a couple of streets away by now. Let me tell you, I was more than a little pissed.

”The hell is wrong with you two?” I yelled. ”This shit ain’t funny! I nearly got carved up by a crazy chef back there!” Lee’s reply was anything but suitable, given the precarious situation he'd left me in. ”Man, we were waiting for you here for ages! Why didn’t you just follow us?”

I held a hand up to my head, shutting my eyes and temples throbbing. Fortunately, I couldn’t hold a grudge for long, even for several minutes. They were what they were. And I had been somehow lumbered with them. Such is life and the trials and tribulations of growing up…

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

”The hell is wrong with you two?” I yelled. ”This shit ain’t funny! I nearly got carved up by a crazy chef back there!”

Man, i would have just lost them. For life. This ain't funny.

Fortunately, I couldn’t hold a grudge for long, even for several minutes. They were what they were.

You were definetly wiser than me at that age.

I'm not sure, bud. Your initial reaction seems a hell of a lot more rational than mine was.

I would be pissed at them both as well,Totally.
They should have told you. Now, it looks like they backstabbed you. It wasn’t cool at all. But whatever, I woul forgive them since they were good friends. I’m sure they didn’t mean it, especially Lee, since you went with him through so much already fun and embarrassing moments.lol

I was seriously upset, man. But back then, we kinda got over it by the end of the evening. But "Mr. Pork Chop" was as scary as they come though! :(

lol man those 2 were certainly crazy as hell, I was never brave enough to steal food that way although on restaurants especially those in the open the idea crossed my head several times when I was younger hahahah

I suppose you never went back to that restaurant am I right?

Batshit crazy, lol. Or was it just plain annoying? So hard to tell all these years later, lol. And you're right, I never went back there again. Though I doubt the "chef" is still there.. :)

You must have run like there is no tomorrow. Kind of scary this guy from the restaurant. You coupd have done the same to your friends next time. I bet you never went back to that restaurant again.lol
1A5C19CA-0548-4947-8982-73CCFAD79FF9.gif

Lol, so true! I actually had nightmares about being chased by him after that. Not very nice at all... :(

(p.s. even that Basil gif kinda terrifies me, lol. The memories run deep...)

Would have been better if the chopping had commenced, but you fought him off with just one chopstick, then pinned him down and stuffed a couple of fortune cookies up his nose, then made him apologise for trying to chop you!

In the "movie" version of my life, that's exactly how it would have gone down. ;)

I'd pay to go see that movie!!!

Nice interesting story,a bit steady but very good story.@upvoted and resteemed.Now i tell you a true story about international mother language day,what is the story behind this just check this link sir do you have any idea about international mother language day?If you don't then click on this link.You will like it for sure https://steemit.com/blog/@rupok/international-mother-language-day

What a nice story! Followed! Perhaps you could follow me and check my content out, I'm sure you will like it!

Interesting story @ezzy

fantastic & captivating!

@ezzy Interesting story kept my mind engaged till the end.

Thank you, buddy. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36