My girlfriend made her first money on Steemit two months ago! 26 dollars!..And then....she stopped using it....I finally learned why.

in #story8 years ago

My girlfriend wrote a very personal story two months ago and she got rewarded for it with upvotes. I keep trying to encourage her to write more because I think she’s a good writer. I would have thought that the fact she got votes would help encourage her, but she doesn’t want to write for Steemit anymore. She still writes allot for other social media’s sites.

We drove to the supermarket yesterday and we had to go extra far because the market close to our house is closed on a Sunday. We were talking about Steemit in the car.

So, I asked her:

“If you could name the biggest reason you stopped writing for Steemit, what would that reason be?”

Her respond was very clear:
story

She said, “It feels like everybody on there is just voting on posts but never reading any of it. I put allot of work in my story and I got only one reply. What’s the point?”

I asked her would it help if your friends were on here?

She said, “No, that’s not what I want either!”

(At this point I was confused)

She said, “I like the anonymity Steemit provides. I want to write stories, personal stories, but I don’t want my friends to read them because I don’t want to talk about these stories when I meet them. But I would like to interact with my stories with similar minded people.”

I could see she had a point.

She kept going, “I like the platform, I like all the different subjects they have and the fact that you can find stories about anything, but if there is no interaction it doesn’t work for me”.

She has a completely different viewpoint about Steemit than me. I started writing because of the financial incentive Steemit provides, but she doesn’t care. She just wants to interact.

I kept thinking about what she said and decided that I, as somebody who enjoys Steemit very much, should take more care in replying to the stories of others. I’m going to try to give a thorough reply on two stories, that I enjoyed, per day and she if that works. Maybe it’s the little things that will make Steemit succeed.

Mark


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Good point, but even reading is very time consuming and people have their own lives to live. I spend many hours on steemit and it is difficult to decide whom to answer.

Reading is indeed very time-consuming (and so is writing). But a comment can go a long way to inspire someone to create more. I set myself a goal of two thorough replies a day. I'm not sure if I can make it but I'm sure going to try.

I kind of know how she feels. I'm relatively new to steemit. When I first posted I didn't think anyone actually read my posts either. But after posting a couple more I started getting responses. Maybe they just want see if she's going to stay with it.

Yesterday she read your comment and said, "Roswellrockman knows how I feel". She then gave me the look (like I don't). It was funny. I hope you inspired her to write more. Thanks!

You're welcome. I do hope she is encouraged. We need more creative thinkers. If I see her post, (don't know what it is) I will be sure to read it and follow.

I disagree alot of users do read and sometimes have so much too say that we decide saying nothing at all but instead upvote.

Some times also language is problem for more complex answer. A lot of people from different countries here. Including myself.

I agree. Giving a good reply to everything you read is hard work. That's why I set a goal of two good replies for me to keep it reasonable.

I think your girlfriend's words, "It feels like everybody on there is just voting on posts but never reading any of it", could be part of truth in Steemit, and yet I like your conclusion "I’m going to try to give a thorough reply on two stories, that I enjoyed, per day...". You have a nice girlfriend, and you must be a good boyfriend.

Thank you for your kinds words. I have a nice girlfriend for sure. Whether I'm a good boyfriend I'll leave up to her :)

I feel like it's just a matter of time until the comment section fills out more on popular/trending posts. This site is still very young. While there are people who don't read and just upvote, there are others like myself who actually do read the content.

The site is indeed very young and it's been great so far. I am having tons of fun with it. Like you I do read the stories of others as well. But, I have been lacking in commenting. I realized that after she told me how she felt. That's why I'm going to try a better job at it in the future.

I'm brand new here, so find this to be an interesting read and it, along with the replies give me food for thought. Thanx

Thank you and welcome to Steemit!

yea, a busy comment section makes the steemit more fun.

To get lots of comments you also have to give lots of comments and be interactive. Not sure if she did that or did it enough but that makes the difference with comment section.

Not many people join a social site and have tons of friends quickly. I;ve been here since the summer and just cracked 200. And I'm active.

She should give it another shot. More people on here now and more active in comments too.

I have been pleasantly surprised with all the comments I had to my post. It doesn't happen that much and I must say it feels kinda nice. I think your right, being active goes a long way. She's reading everyone's comments and I hope she will come back.

Comments are what builds community and connection, that's for sure. I hope she gives it another chance.

Interaction is key. I realise that now. I do hope she gives it another shot.

As the curation groups get going for specific topics, and their focus is on building interaction, it should make it nice for people like your girlfriend to return. I'm working with the Gardening tag and the Foraging tag, for example. I think the photography community is getting pretty active here, too.

Thanks for sharing. I just signed up today, testing the waters

Thank you and welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45