My Contract with Insects.

in #story6 years ago

praying-1170776_640.jpg

source

divide7.png

Many people are afraid of insects. Especially women do not like when something is crawling around. I read that this is an ancient instinct from our very distant ancestors. I do not know the exact reason for this dislike for insects. But I know for sure that I avoid contacting with insects as much as possible from early childhood.

I was so afraid of insects in my childhood that I did not walk on the grass. Everytime in a park I asked my father to pick me up. I was afraid to put my legs into the grass, knowing that there were insects. And this fear was not causeless. The fact is that the insects chased me! They found me everywhere, and crawled on me. Especially spiders. Especially at night.

insect-2884460_640.jpg
source

One night I lay on my back and fell asleep. The spider came down from the ceiling exactly to the tip of my nose!
Once we were at the sea with my parents and our family friends. We lived 8 people in the guesthouse, and the scolopendra crawled right to my bed. Thank God I woke up and noticed it.

I woke up many times because something was crawling in the dark over me. And no, I did not live in the street, and thanks to my grandma in our house there was an order and cleanliness.
Just wherever I was, if there was an insect nearby, it rushed to me to crawl on me. It was terrible!

kerb.gif
source

While I was child, parents fought with insects around me. When I grew up, I learned to kill insects. It was disgusting, I hated it, the crunch of the crushed insect and its viscous insides on my shoes - I wanted to vomit sometimes. But à la guerre comme à la guerre (in war as in war). I killed all the insects that were nearby. And the more I killed them, the more they attacked me. They managed to catch me unawares at the most inopportune moments.

At night, I defended as best I could. I put my bed almost in the middle of the room, so as not to contact any wall. The footing of my bed I covered with a special chalk through which the insects could not crawl. My bed was my fortress.

But they showed wit in attacks.

One day I woke up at night and felt the presence of an insect nearby. I looked around and saw a creeping point on the wall. I began to watch over it. The insect crawled up. It reached the ceiling and moved to the center of the room across the ceiling. When it was over me, it stopped. I was looking at the insect and I know it was looking at me. The next second the insect fell on me!

The most cunning, fast and nimble insect I've ever encountered with is this monster.

centipede-562036_640.jpg

source

It seems to me the product of love of a spider and centipede. And it would seem, with so many legs of different sizes, how to deal with it? But this monster runs so fast, and he is such a cunning! It's not so easy to kill him. If he runs on the wall or on the ceiling, he can jump for a split second before you decide to kill him. Also he can jump on you!!!

divide7.png

My war with insects was fierce. And then something important happened. I read the books of Carlos Castaneda. It had a huge influence on me, I looked at the world differently. These books changed my mind. And one day, seeing an insect in my room, I took the jar and caught it. And I said to this insect:
"I let you go, and from now I will do the same with all the insects that come into my territory, and insects will not crawl over me anymore." And I let it go.

Since that day, the insects have stopped crawling over me. The only violators of the contract are mosquitoes.
mosquito-542156_640.jpg
source

They can not be caught in a jar, and in this case, I have to kill those who try to drink my blood. I always ask to forgive me for having to kill the violator of the contract.

It's been 15 years since then. All this time our contract with insects is valid. I began to feel much more comfortable about insects. Some I can even take in hands, and not use the jar to let go.
I even admit that I admire the look of insects on macro shots. Their forms are so beautiful at close examination!! I feel aesthetic pleasure when I look at insects on a macro.

macro-1802322_640.jpg
source

But even so, I avoid contact with them :)

Based on my experience, insects have a consciousness. Different from human consciousness, but I'm sure insects have intelligence, some kind of collective consciousness. I believe they are more complicated and intelligent than we think.

Thanks for reading! I will be glad if you like it :)

divide5.png

Sorry for my English :)

Sort:  

Nice article! :D
Every being has its purpose in this complicated mechanism, and engineers and scientists have found solutions to all sorts of problems by studying insects. That "peace treaty" seems the best thing we can do :))

Thank you, @marius1235, I agree with you! Peace! :)

Haha I was never too happy about them being close to me. It depends on what it is though. If it is a little spider in the corner, I won't go out of my way to get it but if it is something that infests, that is different.

One day my colleague brought his Madagascar cockroaches to work, they are so terribly hissing, I was horrified, it seemed to me, they would go away from him and crawl around the office. I could not work this day))

It's good that you stopped being afraid of insects ... I like reading your stories!

Thank you, @mocosh, glad you like my stories! :)

Very interesting story!
(I also do not like insects, but I also feel sorry for killing them)

Thank you very much, @sweettais! :)

Excellent and witty article!!
It seems to be in the field or something, I have made exactly the same contract recently and I feel much better about my relationship to insects nowadays.

Mosquitos get a warning, but they really don't care. So after a while I will warnt hem again to kill them in self defense if I must and I feel that is somehow alright with me.

That said, I have managed to free two mosquitos in recent weeks who were not stinging me but hung around the house for days.

Pat of my contract is also to give spiders absolute priority in living in my house's corners. Let nature solve the issue <3

Thank you, @paradigmprospect!! I'm so happy to know that I'm not alone in finding harmonious coexistence with insects!!! I also do not disturb spiders, and even I gave a name to one spider, I called him Hunter he lived in bathroom :D

"That said, I have managed to free two mosquitos in recent weeks who were not stinging me but hung around the house for days."
As I know male mosquitoes do not drink blood, they eat plants' nectar. So I think you free two buddies :))

I'm so glad I came across this blog. It is lovely. Reflects my own evolution, though mine is not so well thought out. I just became aware at one point that killing automatically was wrong. I no longer accepted the hierarchy of life--human on top, insect on bottom. I saw a continuity between all life.
Most interestingly, I have just begun researching bees--for my next blog, if that works out. Sometimes it doesn't. My focus is on how bees feel, and why that is important to us on a moral level and on a practical level. So, you see, your blog came at a perfect time.

Thank you, @agmoore, I'm so happy to know that you like my post! I will wait for your post about bees, I know very little about their life and it will be interesting to know more! :)

Very interesting approach. Of course it would be mosquitoes that violate the contract!

Thanks to @paradigmprospect, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you so much, @thedailysneak!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99