What A Lovely Day

in #story7 years ago

IMG_20171029_121841.jpg

She winked at me with a romantic smile..I yawned with discontent as the loud alarm sound fills the room. Yesterday was a bit hectic and it was late before I could sleep. Unconsciously, I reached for my watch and alas! Its 7:30. I bolted out of bed, brushed my teeth and took my usual rough bath. Damn! Everyone in my room had already left for class. How can they leave without telling me? I wondered. On my way to my shelf I stumbled upon yesterday’s unfinished lunch which saved my tummy from hunger. After eating, I took my bag and moved out of the hostel half-dressed. Luckily, I ran-in a cab with highlighting passengers; without much ado, I entered. All that occupied my mind throughout the ride was how to conquer my bad habit of waking up late. I quickly tucked in my shirt and singlet before my cab reached the school gate. Fortunately, I got to school three minutes before the first class started.

On entering the already filled class, with my unknotted tie dangling on my shoulder, my attention drifted to this young beautiful lady rousingly gazing at me. ‘Is that the new student’ I asked my male colleague, john. ‘Yeah that’s fresh fish’ he replied with a cunning nod. Throughout the first class, I could not focus on the lecture. My distracted nerves almost drowned when the lecturer asked the class a question but fortunately, the new lady answered; after which,the whole class clapped thunderously. What a beautiful and brilliant girl! I thought. Once or twice, I looked at her direction and our eyes met on various occasions. As the first class was approaching its end, my mood lightened up and I was somewhat curious and enthusiastic.

A minute after the lecturer left the class; I looked her direction and caught her deliberately staring at me. She winked at me with a romantic smile. I wanted to have a cool chat with the damsel but she was sitting at the extreme of the back row. She got the attention of every boy in the class, even the religious ones. The big boys were busy wooing her with sweet words and rude gestures. She smiled as one dark guy asked her for her name and refused to answer him. In reply to her silence, the guy nicknamed her smiling beauty. The day’s surprise got me lost in crazy imaginations and I could not fully concentrate on the note I was writing. ‘Does she really admire me?’ one thought mooted; ‘She’s just looking for attention’ the other one asserted. Regardless the confusion of thoughts, I was determined to approach her when I get the chance.

John tapped me to remind me that it was time for class. I packed my books

…Regardless of the confusion of thoughts, I was determined to approach her …headed for the door, where I mistakenly collided with the new lady. Wow! I felt as though I just experienced another evolutionary ‘big bang’. ‘I’m so sorry’ stuttered both of us. She quickly packed my fallen books and deliberately held my hands in the process of returning them. As she wanted to move out, I reached for the door, like a gentleman then asked her for her name. ‘Anita’ she replied. After telling her my name, the conversation skyrocketed from there. Occasionally, we laughed but most of our talk was directed towards her past life. She told me about how her father’s transfer forced her to change college and the reason she chose Harvard. Wow! I exclaimed when she told me how bad she’s been longing for a new friend(who was her type). At that juncture, I whispered to myself ‘this is my rare opportunity’. When we reached the laboratory door, I asked her out. She agreed but insisted we keep it a secret. She appreciated me for my company and asked for my number. ‘Oh I almost forgot’ stuttered my forgetful self. We exchanged our phones and I was amazed when I saw a picture of her and bill gate. I asked if there is any relationship between them and she said ‘yes! Bill’s my uncle’ in surprise, I shouted with awe ‘Anita gates!’ She nodded in agreement. We hugged and left.

What a lovely day! I said to myself.

Sort:  

Nice post tho!
Wasn't boring at all.
Keep up the nice work

thanks yhu

What i learnt in the story is that one must be courageous and be bold. Another is that opportunity comes but once,had it been that the guy didnt approach the lady,he might not be able to meet a lady of that kind calibre again. Lovely story tho.

we need to learn not to be scared

Lolsss
Anita gates... It was a lovely day indeed.
I love the way you captured my attention till the very end, and left me wanting more of the story.

i will like to capture more of your attention baby

You got a 0.43% upvote from @upme requested by: @ewuoso.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Anita Gates!! Lol, and you are Joseph who?

Joseph Esther

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76