My Gambling Addiction And What It Has Cost Me. Part 2

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Continued from HERE

gambling-addiction.jpg

source

I decided to pick my mums call. She asked me where i was and she she has been worried. She was even caring as a mother not knowing that i have lost her money to gamble. I couldn't tell her the truth so i told her the money fell from my pocket. I wanted to tell i was robbed but i had my phone with me. If it were to be robbery they would have collected my phone too. So i just told her the money fell from my pocket. She was angry and said how would i loose that kind of money at my age. I was already trembling. I told i was sorry and ended the call in annoyance. I had to trek to one of my friend's place. He lives near the area i was. He was the one that gave me transport fare that day.

My mum did not really believe the story and she was very angry when i got home. she did not further say anything but i suffered the consequences. I was no longer free in the house. She had promised earlier to get me a laptop but later changed her mind as a result of what i did. My addiction to gamble cost me a laptop. I felt bad and i said to myself, that will be the last time i will gamble. But it was just word of mouth

2

During my final year days in school i also gambled with my fees. It was close to #100,000 $278. I got the alert of my school fess paid to my account by my dad. I dont know what happened to me that day, It was as if i was following a voice. I went to withdraw part of the money and went to gamble with it. I lost everything. The voice was still telling me that i can win the money back so i went to withdraw another part of the money. I also lost it. By this i have already collected half of the money. I thought i had made a mistake. i wanted to cry. But that satanic voice was still giving me and was still telling me that i could make it like a football coach giving his team a word of encouragement.

I followed the voice again and i withdrew all the remaining balance. That was the greatest mistake of my life. I lost everything. Plus my personal money. It was then that it dawned on me. I turned to the voice that was telling me keep going but he was no longer there. i felt all alone and destroyed. My final year exams were coming up soon. There was nobody i could turn to. To cut the long story short. I missed the exam because in my school, if you do not pay, you will not be allowed to write the exams. I did not write the exam and it resulted into an extra year for me. I had to rerun my final year. I wasted time, energy and money plus my parents lot interest and trust in me.

I wish i have corrected someone with this story of mine. I know ones someone is addicted to something, it will be difficult to stop. Though gambling works for some people but you might not be lucky. I learnt my lessons in a very hard way.

Thank You For Reading.

Sort:  

Keep up the good work, each day is a new opportunity to get better... live, share grow / upvoted

THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Thank God you have been saved

i havent been saved

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ewuoso from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Brave of you to share your story, it is a good step towards controlling your gambling addiction. I used to gamble a bit on online betting sites before, but I stopped (almost completely) when I learned about crypto currency and I started putting my money into bitcoin and altcoins instead. It also felt like a sort of gambling, but the chances of winning are a lot bigger and I could inform myself and did not have to trust blindly on luck.

I do not say that this is the way for you to stop gambling but it helped me, and so far I have not lost any money on buying crypto currencies. But not investing more than I can afford to loose is still a hard part for me.

I wish you the strength to continue your journey to stop gambling, because with gambling you will always loose more than you win. You can do this! I believe in you :)

Thank you for the advice i really appreciate it

This post is very funny and at the same time touching
I wished it was fiction tho...cox you lost quite a lot

More than you can imagine bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65