Where Have All The Hipsters Gone?

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Why do hipsters drink their coffee scalding hot?

They want to drink it before it’s cool.


Until about a year ago you couldn't walk ten steps in any direction in the Twin Cities without seeing a hipster. You know, those twenty-to-thirty year olds with an entrepreneurial penchant who looked like a cross between a bicycle messenger, a 1950’s greaser, and Jesus. Arms covered in tattoos, with a passion for sick whisker fades on their cuffed selvedge Cone Mills denim, meticulously groomed and oiled beards, a pimped out fixie, and Redwing boots. Female hipsters shared the exact same attributes, minus the beard of course. Lately hipster sightings are getting far less frequent in these parts.


Whisker fades

How Did It All Begin?

Although the word “hip” was coined in the early twentieth century, the true origins of the hipster subculture can be traced back to the 1930’s and 1940’s. This first hipster movement hit the mainstream as many white jazz musicians introduced middle-class white America to jazz culture that originated decades earlier in the African-American community. These early hipsters listened to jazz music, wore Zoot suits, and spoke a special kind of slang called, “jive talk.” After the 1950’s this hipster subculture went into hibernation for a few decades.


Zoot suit

According to what I can find on Wikipedia, what we know as the modern hipster movement originated in early 2000 in Williamsburg neighborhood of the New York City’s burrough of Brooklyn. Young creative types sparked a Pabst Blue Ribbon fueled sub culture that spread beards across the world like wildfire.

What Killed the Modern Day Hipster Movement?

The hipster was another innocent victim of its own popularity. Mainstream culture killed the hipster. As the movement became more and more irrelevant gradually those flowing hipster beards were sheared worldwide. I still see the occasional echo of the hipster movement in Mid-western suburbs, who are typically a few years behind the times.

I’m not going to lie, I enjoyed some of the hipster accoutrements but I wouldn’t consider a full-fledged hipster. For one I prefer Surly Furious IPA to Pabst Blue Ribbon beer any day. According to my thirty year old stepson I did rock a mild hipster vibe about a year ago. I liked the prohibition haircut, usually wear a light beard (since I was 15), own a few pairs of selvedge jeans, love my Redwing Beckman boots, and even got my first tattoo this past summer. The thing is I never went all in and fully committed to being a hipster. For one thing I was too old to care that much about any “movement” beyond the morning constitutional.


Redwing boots

Although I plan on continuing to wear what I like, I hope I don’t end up like those forty year old greasers I remember from my childhood. In the 1970’s you would occasionally see these guys who were stuck in a cultural time warp. They still slicked back their hair, wore their Levis jeans cuffed, black motorcycle boots, and the trademark tight white t-shirt (a’la The Fonze) with their cigarette pack folded up in the sleeve.

Just last night my wife and we're in World Market buying a few last minute Christmas gifts and satisfying our stroopwafel addiction that began in Amsterdam at SteemFest (thanks a lot @rolelandp). I saw something there in the store that didn’t quite compute. The cashier had a magnificent hipster beard, only partially completed tattoo sleeves (the design of which appeared to have been taken directly from an adult coloring book), and tiny little man bun the size of a Tic Tac perched high atop his head.

This got me thinking, was this guy a few years too late and just now transforming himself into a hipster? Was he leaving hipsterdom, getting these tattoos lasered off, and just emotionally attached to the beard? Or was this cashier some kind of ingenious hipster trendsetter and turning himself into some kind of hybrid, man bun wearing hipster? I guess I’ll never know for sure but it will haunt me.

What’s Next?

If history is any indication one thing is for certain, like some rare astrological event, the hipster subculture will again re-emerge at some point in the future. The details will be different, the players will change, but they will be filled with good ideas, angst, and will be hell bent on rebelling against the mainstream. They’ll get to define their own lives. They’ll live a few years of their lives in their own way with an air of amazing coolness until the rest of society catches up and ruins absolutely everything.

(gif sourced from giphy.com, images sourced from Wikipedia.)


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and Steemit loyalist. To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Have you heard of - Project: Pay It Forward for the Holidays? If not click here to learn more about a simple way that you can make a real difference. If you participate and share your story in the comments of the Pay It Forward post you may experience some good karma of your very own (in the form of Steem or SBD)!

Sort:  

Great observations. I hadnt noticed how the hipster trend is dying out until you pointed it out. I'll still keep my Iron Rangers and Selvedge denim though.

Thanks. I'm keeping the jeans and the boots too! ✌️

Nice post, interesting to read!

I want someone to revive the zoot suit!

I haven't seen them anywhere:)

Don't really care where they went, but I hope they are not coming back, ever!

One step at a time, one step at a time! Great post. I am one of the few who reads these things! And be careful about the packaging - the people beneath the clothes are just like you and me ... I was born before JFK was assassinated. This puts me into the punk zone - still cool!!
https://steemit.com/life/@ebryans/love-in-a-culture-of-hate-and-what-to-give-this-christmas

For sure, @ebryans! Each generation has their rebels, the mainstream latches onto the superficial aspects of the movement (like the way they dress) but the core, the ideology, always lives on.

BAH.,,ha,hahaha...
Im still laughing from the joke a the top :))

How do you really depress a hipster @macksby? Tell them you've heard of their favorite band.

Now that I read that I must say I haven't seen any hipster for a while. Where are they?

I think they've moved on to whatever is "next". We won't be discovering what "next" is in the Midwest for at least another few years. : )

I think hipsters are still around but we haven't yet identified the new "look". The true pioneering hipsters are always around but we don't see the look until it hits enough mainstreamers that have adopted it. Yes maybe some have grown up and out of being hipsters but there are plenty of young ones joining up into the newest alternative trendsetting group. Personally I think the world has shifted and a new look will become more evident within 6 months or so.

I think you're right! I see a growing number of man buns and even male beehive hairdos, I suspect these might be the next wave of Hipsters evolving. 😉

LOL, lots of man buns here and I'll have to look around for those beehive hairdos!! We both live in big hipster towns so we should have a good view of new developments. I think big glasses are coming back too...like in the 70s and 80s. Fun post!

I think they refer to them as he-hives. It makes me feel old...it seems so strange to me. Minneapolis is a huge hipster town so we'll have to compare notes in the coming months. 😉

Interesting history. Allow me to add something (which may be urban legend): Before the hippie movement took off, hippies were known as "hipsters" too.

I never realized that, @nxtblg!

Funny, isn't it?

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

​I enjoyed your essay and it will be interesting to see where the 'movement' goes. I joined the army in the early 1970s, when things were not that politically correct, so some of us may think the new hipsters are just repackaged pussies with beards.

Glad you enjoyed it, @davidkingns! Merry Christmas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34