The Inner Struggles of a True Tech Geek

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I’ll never forget the first time I felt Apple’s hepatic touch feature a few years ago. I had just bought my AppleWatch Series 2, hopped into my car, and a notification came through the watch that felt like a ghost tapping my wrist! I was so startled I almost ended up popping the curb and driving onto the sidewalk. Thankfully, I became accustomed to it quickly.

After the honeymoon phase of owning this new piece of tech my relationship with the watch turned into more of a love/hate arrangement. Up until this point I had been a vintage watch collector and wore my old mechanical watches in heavy rotation. What’s left of my collection is pictured below. Disclaimer: The Monty Python Ministry of Silly Walks watch isn’t old, I just think it’s freakin' cool.


A: Monty Python watch, B: Seiko diver, C: 1918 Elgin Trench Watch, D: 1945 Hamilton Rutledge, E: 1950’s Benrus

Sadly, after becoming accustomed to the convenience of the AppleWatch these old mechanical friends (many of which were resurrected from the scrap heap) saw increasingly less wrist time and I didn’t like it. The Series 2 wasn’t without its flaws. It could be buggy and sometimes slow but it deeply satisfied my inner-nerd to have access to all of these features and information on my wrist.

A month ago I decided to try Apple’s GiveBack program. They gave me a $115 credit for my Series 2 trade-in and I got the new Series 4 (AND by some strange mix-up they sent me my Series 2 watch back). I must say, this new one a few notches above the Series 2 in just about every conceivable way.


The AppleWatch Series 4

The Apple engineers are marvels of design and managed to squeeze a 44mm screen into roughly the same size case as the older 42mm one on the Series 2. You wouldn’t think that small of a gain in screen size would make a difference but it does. This new face (pictured above) is my favorite because it’s so information dense. Judging by that incomplete exercise ring at the bottom right, I'd better get moving. It allows me to more easily track different time zones, which comes in very handy with HardFork’s decentralized team scattered across the country.

The Series 4 truly shines for me in two categories -- traveling and activity tracking. I can call an Uber or Lyft from my wrist and the watch resets itself when I cross time zones. Also, the Series 4 is smart enough to know when my workouts end and stops tracking automatically. If you’re even remotely considering getting an Apple Watch, this is the model to get.

In an attempt to achieve some semblance of balance, I’ve decided to shelve the AppleWatch on the weekends and wear one of my vintage timepieces every Saturday and Sunday. Maybe it’ll teach my inner-nerd a little patience in the process.

Yours in complete and utter nerd-dom,
Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Apples engineers made such a very advance watch . And you are a lucky person you have this watch . Enjoy the features of the watch. I also agreed with these lines

In an attempt to achieve some semblance of balance, I’ve decided to shelve the AppleWatch on the weekends and wear one of my vintage timepieces every Saturday and Sunday. Maybe it’ll teach my inner-nerd a little patience in the process.

I really like Apple's products. They usually cost a bit more but typically have a longer life span. Thanks for reading!

The 1918 wrist watch, please, can I have it, I so much love antiques and the fact that one single gadget been old can summon millions in an auction in years to come. Talking of the apple watch, am not disturbed a bit, those geek design genius will forever keep us salivating for more geeky gadget.

That 1918 is the only one I'll never part with. The main character in my first novel wore the exact model so I have a connection with it. It only has a 7 jewel movement but keeps really accurate time. You're so right about Apple. They keep people upgrading, every two years.

Excellent review and photo, my friend, and amazing to see such a watch from the AppleWatch. I haven't worn a watch for a long time, I have time on my smartphone, but I would love to wear this watch! Thanks Eric

As I re-read what I wrote saying cute post sounds stupid I meant light-hearted.
I love the last line:

Yours in complete and utter nerd-dom

I love your photos of the watches and think the Dr Who is the one I want.
.
BTW: This is the alt acct for @rebeccabe .. getting @photobe a little more active. This is a fun one to Resteem too.

Hope you and you lovely wife are well. :)

I forgot to add I have a fossil that has survive even the house fire somehow. I need to get a battery for it.
You do have a cool collection. I hope you don't mind me joking around with you.

I don't mind you joking around at all! I always enjoy your comments. That Ministry of Silly Walks watch is the one I wear for special occasions. : ) I hope you and the Mr. are doing well too! Did you ever find your SRF card?

Nope and hope it turns up one day. The day before the fire I put a lot of things in the meditation room that I truly value on a bookshelf. I wonder if I put the card in there. My husband thinks it could be in a box somewhere. If it ever turns up I will let you know. :(

And I am cracking my head to change a belt on a 200$ watch xD
You have some serious collection here, Monty Python took my breath...

That is the one I would like to have for a collectable.

The apple watch really looks amazingly beautiful and superb, I like Apple products most especially their watches because it is always durable and highly techie in their functionalities

Congrats for new apple watch . Specification are great . It looks like computer on your wrist . Thanks for sharing your new watch and old watch collection .

I never bought a wrist watch in my life . I prefer mobile phone for all things . But I like wrist watches . You have a very good and full of tech wrist watch . Enjoy it

Most younger people don't wear watches anymore, there's really no need for them now that the time is displayed literally everywhere.

How much will the steem price fall, you have some idea?

I’m not sure but this is a pretty significant market drop across all currencies. It could take a while to recover. I have faith it’ll eventually go back up though.

I want to take 5000 steem for sp. But I do not have the money. Can you help me ?
I am a stranger to you, but I will definitely return your money.

Sorry, @pardeepkumar, I don't make loans but this guy does - https://steemit.com/@neoxian

Ok, I understand with you.

the most toughest choice to make !!!

Can relate so much! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83