THE GREATEST GIFT (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

When there are no more jobs
for these hands,
no more ideas
streaming from my mind

I wish to be remembered
as a cultural chameleon,
a humble drifter,
sensitive to the beauty
of this world

these days,
they are borrowed,
but the memories
are ours to keep

the greatest gift
of the mortal
is living a life so brave
that you find your tribe,
and to grow old
with those share
your vibe

and know your
soul so well,
they can see this world
through your eyes
yet love you just the same,
this is the greatest gift.

Image Source


Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!


To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

@ericvancewalton beautiful poem my friend, beautiful words to describe the work. work is dignity. congratulations, thanks for sharing another wonderful material

I appreciate your comment! Thanks!

Not to take away from your work, here, I really enjoy reading your content, but something is clearly dysfunctional about the curation system when 393 upvotes yields only one comment (two, if you count mine). I've never seen a youtube video that has this 390 to 1 like-to-comment ratio.

I sense that Steemit still has some growing pains ahead.

Thanks, @jamesbrown. I'm glad you're enjoying the content. As for the curation system, I know it's a work in progress. It'll be interesting to watch how it all evolves.

Love it!

I'm glad you enjoyed it, @vapecat! Thanks!

so nice poem ........ keep it up :)

Eric, this is how I felt at the cemetery in Vernazza.
"these days,
they are borrowed,
but the memories
are ours to keep"
Beautifully written.

Thank you, @fairytalelife! I could see how that place would put things into perspective.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90