SPIT SHINE (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Old towels torn
into even strips
and a dented
tin of Kiwi, black

you turn the
silver key
and wherever you sit
becomes an
esoteric space,
an escape from
irrelevance
and servitude

keep that towel
a' snappin,
spit shine

long ago a drill sergeant
taught you the trick,
a sure way to heal
the sickness you feel
so you may pass
through the fright
of any long, dark night

keep that towel
a' snappin,
spit shine

so polish away
the dullness and dirt
into a pride
you can see
your face in

you've done it
all your life
transformed
trash into treasure,
boys into men

hold high your head
defeat has taught
you to know victory
rejection has taught you love
when the world doesn't
always fit you like a glove

keep that towel
a' snappin,
spit shine.


Did you miss my last poem? If so, read it here.

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter go receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Sort:  

Very lyrical! I enjoyed it. Painted a firm picture in my mind.

Thanks! I'm really enjoying the pairing of the pictures with the poems. It adds a whole new element.

Thanks for the poem. It brought a smile to my face.

Thanks, I'm glad!

nice poem :)

Lovely poem.

Fantastic poem.

really amazing story @ericvancewalton

Hi
You took me back to my army days, polishing boots, shining floors, making beads square, ironing clothes with straight seam etc
(I am from South Africa and we were forced to do two years army) It was hard, but made men out of boys

Thanks for the poem

You're welcome, @rynow! This poem was inspired by my father who was in the US army and Air Force. He passed on a lot of what he learned to my brother and I. We all three keep our shoes polished to this day. Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave the thoughtful comment!

nice i enjoy reading it.

It's nice poem. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36