REACH (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The past is present
in all we are

a living legacy
of each joy and sorrow
every struggle and victory
however small and
seemingly insignificant

the way we laugh
a certain smile
how we hold our hands
or sweep the floor

we are new branches
of that same tree of life
and this is our time
to reach for the sun.


Did you miss my last poem? If so, read it here.

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter go receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Sort:  

Wonderful morning read. Reaching!

Thank you! What a wonderful gif!

so, nice poem:-)

Nice poem, Eric! Beautiful pics, too! Reminder to allow your past to be a positive light to go forward with what you come from.

How you tied the past to the present was very striking!

Any recommended music to compliment your poet? :D

How long have you been writing poetry?

I've been writing poetry for almost 23 years.

Awesome :D

Great story @ericvancewalton , keep up ur great writing

Very nice. It's very true how who we once were shapes who we are now. But I like how you also emphasize that "we are new branches". Because I am a big believer that we don't have to let our past own our futures completely. Thank you.

Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed and got so much out of it. I've been posting poetry for years on Facebook and rarely get thoughtful comments like this.

Love it,the images are so beautiful,thanks for sharing this beauty

You are my inspiration in writing poems. If you did it well, why not ordinary steemers like and others. :D
Striving for more!!! :)

I'm so glad to hear it, @pinoytravel! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18