Rejuvenation

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This has been an especially tough winter in Minnesota. We’re growing weary of seeing nothing but this….

After almost five months of frigid temperatures and gloom cabin fever begins to sink its claws into you something fierce. There are several tricks to keep your mind off of it -- a winter trip to someplace warm, exercise, meditation, and (for me) writing.

When all else fails we have the Marjorie McNeely Conservatory at Como Lake, a sanctuary just five miles away offering an infusion of welcomed warmth and humidity. This is the perfect place to enjoy a temporary respite from the cold and snow.

While walking through the palm house the warmth and humidity hit you and you're forced to shed layers.

This next section of the greenhouse was a feast for the senses. Dozens of varieties of fragrant flowers were in full bloom.



These stargazer lillies were the most fragrant of them all.

The next room was full of exotic plants like a rubber tree, black pepper, cinnamon, turmeric, and surprisingly even ayahuasca.

The walking path then led us to the bonsai room. I used to raise bonsai trees years ago so this section was especially interesting to me.

Next was the Amazon river habitat complete with fish, snakes, and turtles.

I felt completely rejuvenated after spending an hour in that warm, fragrant, and oxygen rich sanctuary. It was well worth the donation of $10 we paid for admission.

On a positive note, despite several feet of snow still on the ground and subzero temperatures forecasted for the weekend, I noticed spring birds singing this morning as I walked Amstel. I trust Mother Nature much more than I do meteorologists so I think this birdsong could mean warmer weather is right around the corner. I sure do hope so.

Thank you for reading!

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

That place looks amazing! I would have a hard time leaving, especially with the cold outside. I think everyone is looking forward to Spring this year. Hope you all warm up soon.

Wonderful plunge into a heavenly warm place right from the cold. I am sure you got a big charge of strength for waiting for spring. Very beautiful photos. Thank you

That looks beautiful, indeed. We don't have anything like that here, but a few weeks ago we spent a day at a great pool... imagine swimming in a heated outdoor pool when it's like freezing outside. Pure magic!
But then let's not forget those of us who spent a little holiday at that beach... I still remember those pictures!
But, yeah, I get it - we got rid of the snow and I hope it's for good! We're ready for spring!

I bet that was amazing to swim in that heated pool. A friend of ours has a hot tub outside that he keeps super hot for winter but I've never tried it. Yes, the beach! It already seems like a lifetime ago. We made the grievous error of taking our trip too early this year. We typically go to St. Thomas in March or April and the worst of winter is usually done soon after we get back.

It looks very cozy, people need a change of climate and much better if it is very showy. How beautiful are the flowers and plants, without forgetting the bonsai!

Am so touched by this freezing temperatures of yours and loves heap of snow. Why not make a boogy man out of it. 😁 😁

It's good as a writer to unwine stones too and a conservatory is surely one of the best place to do that.

I also picked a point for myself here.

#Retweeted on twitter.

Waoh, it's a writers thing to be rejuvenated by nature. It this kind of nature is far above rejuvenated. I don't know what to call it 'vos am waking this conservatory with you and soaking it in in pictures.

These are amazing plants. The plant ayahuasca made it the more crazy.

Great minds think alike. I usually go to the Montreal Biodome in the late winter/early spring for similar reasons.

This year, it's closed until the summer for renovations.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montreal_Biodome

The Montreal Botanical Garden is just around the corner though. Definitely worth a visit.

This place looks incredible! I'll have to add this to my list for my next visit to Montreal. Thanks for the link!

Assuming you have a rental car, here's one last link to the Sugar Shack run by the owner of "Au Pied de Cochon" <-- Which I also recommend.

https://aupieddecochon.ca/en/info/reservation/shack-next-door

Oh, this would be fun! I think I've seen this on an episode of Anthony Bourdain's show. Thank you for the link!

Montreal Biodome
The Montreal Biodome (French: Biodôme de Montréal) is a facility located at Olympic Park in the Montreal neighbourhood of Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve that allows visitors to walk through replicas of four ecosystems found in the Americas. The building was originally constructed for the 1976 Olympic Games as a velodrome. It hosted both track cycling and judo events. Renovations on the building began in 1989 and in 1992 the indoor nature exhibit was opened.

This is very beautiful place . Lovely flowers and lovely colors. Thanks for sharing pics .

very beautiful pictures and very nice view
It's great pleasure to see such nice pictures
hope you are enjoying cold & snow

The winter at its peak .... but great to see the shots from there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37