NATIVE SUN (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

This poem has an interesting backstory. I wrote it four or five years ago, before I took the 23andMe DNA test. The family oral tradition on my father’s side was always that we were descendents of the Shawnee Indian. I decided to take the DNA test to finally prove it. Well, we got the shock of our lives when we found out our paternal line wasn’t Native American. The test proved, in fact, we were something very different (you can read the whole story here).

Thank you all for the awesome support you've shown me here. After over two decades of writing, it's so nice to find a place where poetry is appreciated. I hope you enjoy this one!


I am four generations removed
from a world unrecognizable,
a world without walls,
truth of word and of law
but ultimately just another domino
to fall in the name of progress

imagination can only give a glimpse
but the seed of memory is strong in me
often bubbling up as effervescent
wisdom whispering in my thoughts

the forest is where I come to worship
its great canopy, my cathedral
branches gently swaying in the breeze
to the melody of birdsong, its beautiful choir

I connect with Nature in all her majesty,
the supreme intelligence behind it
gives order to the chaos
again grounds and humbles me
leaving everything right again

just a brief respite from our unbalanced existence
but it helps to quell the sadness of the sorry state we’re in
then the Native Sun tells me to open my eyes
and see that humanity is finally beginning
to awaken from a slumber long huddled in Cimmerian shade

our family is being remade before our very eyes
and the children of new world are an amalgam
much stronger than the first,
now a harmony unimaginable can be visualized
shimmering in the not so distant twilight,
and felt flowing towards our shores
truth and destiny cannot forever be hushed

and to the Native Sun I whisper back, Please Hurry.


Did you miss my last poem? If so, read it here.

Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter. My newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and other special offers.

Sort:  

Does anyone else get a paranoid feeling around those DNA collection services? Or is it just those of us who've been pricked by "the man" lol

I've always wanted to do that tho...there was another one that claims it can tell you if (for males) you are one of Genghis Khans rape-lovechild descendents.

I've thought about how the information could be used for nefarious means but in today's interconnected world that level of privacy is quickly becoming a thing of the past. I feel the information is valuable enough to justify the risks.

Nice story @ericvancewalton

I do not understand that already carry 24 sbd?
And I nothing.
An upvoted with my last poem

Great poem @ericvancewalton!

I'm new and I love seeing the artistic side of Steemit stand out. Keep writing!

I really appreciate it, @littenti!

wow......i really like this post. In fact i love it. I also do sometimes write poems but never uploaded before. I think i should upload them

Thank you, @ristolive! You should definitely go for it!

@ericvancewalton great work mate , good to see you personally reaching out to people in comments and helping them of sorts with SBD, thats what builds a good steem community

Thank you @alwayzgame. I believe deeply in this community. I've never experienced anything quite like it and am trying my best to enrich it so Steemit can go on to help many other creatives as it's helped me. Thanks so much for reading and your comment!

@ericvancewalton personally i feel that whales are letting the community down, i was happy to see you in the top 50 board a while back , keep it up man ur soon to a big mega whale

What a beautiful poem, eric. I share your love of nature and the habit of grounding and refreshing my soul by communing with the natural world. This expresses both that joy, and the pain from which we run in seeking solace in nature's arms. Thank you for sharing this. I am moved. <3

Thank you for your poetic comment! Nature is definitely a "reboot" for our souls!

Followed and upvoted

Thanks for sharing, nice poem

I love the poem and the tree is exquisite!

Thank you! I admire this tree every time I walk past it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44