KNOW YOUR NAME (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

In your heart
you know you're ready
but the world doesn't
know your name

so you search and pray
for some angel
that will find
something special
in your muse,
appreciate the miles
walked in your shoes
and just be gracious
enough to
hold the door open

you sense time
growing shorter
with each sweep
of the hands,

shoo those troubles
of the world
before they nest
in the corners
of your mind

in your heart
you know you're ready
but the world doesn't
know your name

a small voice says, don't cry
we must crawl and stumble
before we leap and fly

you chuckle under your
breath in frustration
but your soul is resolute
you couldn't give up if you tried
and oh how you've tried

this time you have
grown into faith,
into your name
and it fits.

It's destiny,
you'll never quit
now the world will
know your name.

Did you miss my last poem? If so, read it here.

Sort:  

Yes, knowing your name is more important than you even think, i'll bet!!! Thanks!

Beautiful poem and message!

Thank you, @travelista! I really liked your articles about New Orleans! I'm a huge jazz fan and would love to experience NOLA.

Niece us usual, are you on rocket chat?

Thank you! I've been on rocket chat but don't spend much time out there.

How can i contact you?

Are you on Facebook? If so you can send me a message on my author page, Eric Vance Walton, Author. Or by email at: [email protected].

:)

Wonderful.

Name gives subconscious meaning to our lives and personality :)
know my two names :)
ALEJANDRO GABRIEL
like those, since they mean everything I want to be

beautiful

I appreciate that!

very good story @ericvancewalton

nice poem, my late farther wrote a lot of poetry, and my late granddad too...whats funny is that despite myself studying it as a sub topic at college I never got good at it myself, I can write well, but just not poems haha :)

Thank you! Do you have any of your dad or granddad's poetry? That would be a cool keepsake.

I have seen both their work. I think my mother has some of my dads pieces still. I'm not sentimental at all so I don't care to keep things like that. I own very few things anyway. I'm a total minimalist :)

I become more of a minimalist the older I get, soon I want to travel the world with just one bag and a laptop to write.

Lets not be weary of making a noise for our name to be seen but instead do the work and let success make the noise for our name.

Exactly, @juvyjabian! That's the only way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43