It’s Time To Use Our Voices

in #story7 years ago (edited)


Working on the HardFork Film Series with such a talented and diverse team has been a life changing experience. It’s taught me many new things and it’s also reinforced (once again) how vital and valuable our Steemit community truly is.

Steemit is an unparalleled resource for personal and professional growth. I urge each of you to dig deep and think about how you can utilize the tremendous resources at our disposal to realize your own dreams and then also pay it forward to help others do the same. Because, if properly harnessed, the power of Steemit will change your life.

I speak from experience. Because of this community I've gone from little known indie author to a full-time writer working on film series in less than two years. The fact is, so many wonderful opportunities have flooded into many of our lives as a result of writing for, and engaging with, this community.

Working with @dougkarr, @the-alien, @andrarchy and the rest of the film team is providing mind-expanding opportunities. I’m doing things that I never imagined I would be doing like, helping to create an entire fictional world for a mainstream film series, collaborating with teams of talented artists, helping with casting, and flying to Lisbon to debut our teaser trailer.

Recently, I was tasked with writing a short screenplay about ushering in the mass adoption of cryptocurrency and blockchain. For those of you who’ve never written a screenplay before, working in the screenplay format is kind of like playing three dimensional chess. Getting the dialogue and image-based aspect of storytelling to work together effectively, for me is similar to writing poetry.

The first question I asked myself before writing the script was…What is the main hurdle to mass adoption? The first answer that came to mind was, price volatility. In order to stabilize prices, you need more non-speculative investors willing to use the currencies and invest for the long term. One of the many things that really excite me about the HardFork Film Series project is it’s well positioned to help to solve this problem. If we’re successful in our mission of getting this film series before a mainstream audience, as I'm confident we will, there’s a good chance it will get us closer to mass adoption.

The following version is probably the fifth adaptation and it still isn't quite there yet. If produced, this will be paired with animation or video footage. Feedback is encouraged in the comments below!

HARDFORK FILM SERIES – MASS ADOPTION VIDEO

We’ve seen the future. We are the pioneers.

Show images of people in a peaceful place standing in unity, looking at the camera.


Today, inequality is unprecedented. Power is concentrated. As a result, the potential of the majority is limited.

Transition of shots from dirty, smog-choked city…a chaotic NYSE trading floor, an ATM receipt showing a $3 ATM fee.


But there is an idea that will soon tip the scales. Decentralization is coming...to Banking. Healthcare. Transportation. Finance. Insurance. Supply Chain Management. Even Voting.

Show blockchain nodes multiplying and being connected by lines of light. Then transition to shots of an Uber car, Airbnb website, a transaction occurring in a Steem wallet, voting in an election from a mobile phone.


We realize that blockchain technology can create a world that is more transparent, efficient, and equitable for all.

Run vintage b/w stock footage of bankers in tuxedos and high hats smoking cigars (like the monopoly game character) morph to an image of clean, ultra-modern cityscape…high speed trains. People trading crypto from their phones while drinking coffee/tea.


How do we get them to see our vision? We must convince them through our stories. No one else will build the bridge. It’s up to us.

Each post we write.

A scene of someone typing.


The words we speak.

A clip of someone speaking at SteemFest.


The FILMS we create.

A “behind the scenes” shot of @dougkarr filming.


We are perfectly poised to show the way...

Cut to the HardFork logo then transition into the series teaser trailer.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. We are thrilled to announce we'll be debuting the HardFork Film Series Teaser Trailer at SteemFest2 in Lisbon! Hope to see you there!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Great post! @ericvancewalton, thank you for sharing. I am brand new to steemit and I am already seeing how great this steemit community can be. It is great to see leaders like you on this platform eager and hungry to make steemit even better. I am looking forward to reading more content.

Keep Steeming

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to reading your intro post!

Thank you, @cryptoculture. Welcome to our community! The sky is truly the limit here.

Eric, congratulations on your writing success.
Looking forward to seeing you in Lisbon!
The book I'm writing has 21,000 words so far after 2 weeks of typing; I know there's a place in it for mentioning Steemit and crypto in general.
I'll be in Lisbon for 6 days; let's get a coffee and discuss how, in your movie and in my book, how to distill and communicate the crypto message to the masses.
We are the pioneers; to achieve mass adoption we must also learn to be translators.
See you in Portugal brother,
@scan0017 🤝

Mentioning Steemit in your Book might definitely lead to further exposure among the masses. People still rather tend to believe what´s written in books or running on Television than the actual facts ahead of them.

You're absolutely correct.
The written word tends to have a more authoritative feel to it, and a significant part leading to this book being written was my own re-discovery of the joy of writing from blogging in Steemit.
That's why Steemit is going in the book: Steemit is a small part of the story and deserves mention.
That mention needs to be made correctly; hence meeting with Eric, to help ensure that mention is communicated correctly.
Thanks for your comment, hope to meet you in Lisbon 🙂

I'm looking forward to Lisbon as well! It'd be great to have this discussion. I'm looking forward to it!

Fantastic Eric! See you there 🤝

Haha yes, very funny. Mass adoption. Cute like a little cuddly kitten.
Watch out for the claws.
Speaking of which. You're being watched.

Why do I get the feeling that a kinder, gentler, kitten mentioning side of Central Services is even more frightening?

We'll see who's getting the claws.

When it comes to kittens, I think a heretical kitten that speaks of freedom, anonymity, privacy, and security, is far more brutally sharp than a cuddly watcher cat.

There's a certain charm to honesty, isn't there?

Great post! sir @ericvancewalton, thank you for sharing. I am trying how great this steemit community can be. It is great to see leaders like you on this platform eager and hungry to make steemit even better. I am looking forward to reading more content.

So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

I've gone from little known indie author to a full-time writer working on film series in less than two years.

It has been a crazy two years, and the fun is just beginning.

I think you might be right. : )

It would be a very cool movie, showing how it all started and changed people’s lives!The most amazing thing is that all of us here gonna be a part of it😊

I've had both this post and @the-alien's up in my browser to read for the past day and a half, and after just now reading them I have to say that I now have a much clearer understanding of the goal of this series. So exciting my lovely friend!!
I have a question for you, I'm going to head over to chat to ask ;)

I'm glad it gave you a clearer understanding! I'll make it over to chat today or tomorrow. Thanks!

The Mass Adoption video sounds fantastic. I think yes, keeping the themes of inequality problem and decentralization solution front and center. Everyone is aware of the problem; the centralized political, corporate and financial centers of power, but they don't know the solutions. I think it is sounding excellent. Thank you / Peace

Thank you so much! I rewatched Noam Chomsky's Requiem for the American Dream about a week ago and it really drove the point home about how unequal everything is these days. So glad you're enjoying our work so far. We're putting all of our hearts and souls into this project. We hope to make this community proud.

Awesome, for me Noam Chomsky and Ralph Nader are the bookends about what the classic stories of America should be about.

I very much agree. Those are to very brave individuals.

Amazing post Eric! How do we get them to see our vision? Ask them to look closer. It's all right there in front of each and every one of us. And you are perfectly poised to help show the way indeed!

Thank you, brother! We're going to open millions of eyes with this project...I have no doubt! Things will be much different a year from now.

i believe so, stories like this are eyesopening, thanx to its free cooperation, reminds me the good old times of colective evolution ;) if you want, pls read this one, for me diferent words, similar stories.. resteeem and upvote eric ! https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jamaiko/good-pin

Eric,
With the opening line being "We've seen the future." In my mind I see that line being introduced using a crystal ball , with some haze or smoke around it , and the camera shot being real wide, and then closing in on it. As the shot gets closer, make it like the camera shot is going inside crystal ball revealing the shot you describe of the people standing in unity.
That's all I got, if ya'll like the suggestion, use it and consider it my gift to the project.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

That sounds like a great scene! Thanks for the suggestion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72