IMPROMPTU HAIKU 3 (Reader Participation Encouraged)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Most of us have attempted writing haiku in school merely because we were forced to.

As a writer, no matter what genre you specialize in, I’ve discovered that the act of writing haiku is a highly effective way to keep your skill-set sharp. Creating haiku regularly totally crushes the effects of writer’s block by opening up new channels of creativity.



Incase you've never heard the term haiku or have been out of school for a very long time (like I have) and the memories are hazy...the definition of Haiku is as follows:

Haiku is a very short form of Japanese poetry. Traditional haiku consist of 17 total syllables, in three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively.

This post is meant be highly interactive. I encourage you to write your own haiku in the comments below (first line should be 5 syllables, second line 7 syllables, third line 5 syllables)

Here’s mine:

The mourning dove coos

its song is slow, sweet, then still,

soothing us to sleep.

Now try yours in the comments below!

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


One participant will be chosen at random to receive a free autographed copy of my book on writing, One Word At A Time, Finding Your Way as an Indie Author. Included in this book are over twenty years of lessons I’ve learned as a writer (most of them, the hard way). I’m happy to be able to share it with you.

Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter. My newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates on new book releases and other special offers.

Sort:  

Whispers of dragons,
Dark smoke on distant hilltops.
Peasants fear my name.

'trogdor', the feared one
he comes at night as you sleep
feared by peasants son's

green crowns of summer
dreams abrupted by tender coos;
one more slow morning

As day turns to night
Restless weary souls do sleep
Awaiting the dawn

That which is thought dead
Merely sleeps, waiting a chance
To show what it knows

Endlessly, the life's
Devouring her firsts born
From void till delight

Leaves clamor at the door,
Rattle like the bones of memories,
Thoughts of love long dead.

You have won the free book @irenepsmith! Please send me an email ([email protected]) with your shipping address to claim your prize! Please include "Haiku Giveaway" in the subject line. Thank you for participating!

Gee, thanks! This was fun.

Steemfest, I need thee...
May you soon be in my grasp
For, much it is wished...
NebCat Photography

Another Sunday
Outwardly like the last one.
I'm a week wiser.

Fairies dancing in the twilight,
Fog over the distant valleys,
Smoke from the chimneys.

very nice! <3

The unicorn danced
on daisies, healing us all
as we battled beasts.

I vote as I must
Receiving your precious prize
Onward mates, onward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69