Why Gratitude is the Absolute Best State to Reside In

in #story7 years ago (edited)

It can be so easy to get swept up into a stream of anxiety and worry, especially as a writer. There’s always that next book or that next article deadline. At this point in my career it can sometimes feel nearly impossible to find enough time for everyone and everything in life. What I’ve discovered is most of this anxiety and worry is completely imagined, caused by faulty perception. It’s amazing how quickly these feelings of anxiety and worry can be shut down instantly through a very simple shift in mindset.


“Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.” ~Denis Waitley


Sometimes this state of gratitude happens spontaneously. The other day I was feeling stressed about preparing two books for publication this year and keeping up with my social media and freelance work. There I was, was walking our beagle the in the biting, subzero January wind of Minnesota and cursing it. My face was scrunched up, my shoulders tense. Suddenly an overwhelming warmth washed over me. The only way I can accurately describe it was a general feeling of content settled over me. That feeling was, I am so thankful for my life. I am perfectly happy in this very moment.

Instantly, the stress and worry melted away and I relaxed. Even the frigid wind didn’t seem so bad. After meditating for nearly a quarter century I realize how vital it is to keep our consciousness in this state of gratitude for as long and as often as we possibly can.

Why is residing in a state of gratitude so important?

First of all striving to live in a state of gratitude makes us happier and this should be reason enough. Even more importantly, when we’re living in this state we open the floodgates for more positive experiences and abundance to flow into our lives. This is how the subtle energies of our universe work. Like attracts like. You attract to you whatever thoughts and emotions continuously loop in your mind. This doesn't mean passive acceptance of the bad things in your life but acknowledgement of the good. I repeat, living in gratitude doesn't mean passive acceptance of all things. If you don’t believe that working to dwell in a state of gratitude for the wonderful things in your life works, I urge you to try it for a week.

There are a few, very simple, exercises called Mantra to help us to quickly ease into this state of gratitude. A Mantra is a sacred practice of repeating certain words or groups of words. These words are sacred to many Hindus and Buddhists and the repetition of them are believed to bring about great blessings and states of enlightenment to the person uttering them either aloud or silently.

Many English speakers who practice the art of mantra repeat the traditional Sanskrit phrases. I don’t do this because I believe having to think about the meaning of the words hinders the intended process. In my personal practice I repeat the English translations of classic Sanskrit mantra. For example, in Sanskrit the mantra, Dhanya Vad translated into English is, “I feel gratitude” and Kritajna Hum means, “I am gratitude.” These two mantra have worked very well for me.


“Give yourself a gift of five minutes of contemplation in awe of everything you see around you. Go outside and turn your attention to the many miracles around you. This five-minute-a-day regimen of appreciation and gratitude will help you to focus your life in awe.” ~Wayne Dyer


Whenever you feel negative, depressed, or sad I urge you to try the following exercise:

- inhale for a count of 5;

- hold your breath for a count of 5; and

- exhale for a count of 5.

Repeat the following mantra until you feel your negative state of mind just slip away:

I am gratitude. I am gratitude. I am gratitude.

I feel gratitude. I feel gratitude. I feel gratitude.


Another, even easier to remember, mantra is -- "I'm thankful for...." and you can go on a recite anything that you can think of that you're thankful for in your life. This can be anything from clean air, to water, ample food, a pet, a job, a car, a friend or significant other...literally anything.

These mantra are simple enough to easily remember but are very powerful and can be practiced silently anywhere. I particularly like to practice them while walking. There’s something about the rhythmic sound of footsteps that make the recitation of mantra especially effective.

Recently, a friend and fellow Steemian, Ruth (also known as @natureofbeing), graciously agreed to create a Yantra for the cover of my meditation book. It's going to be perfect on the book cover. Thank you, Ruth!

A yantra is a mystical Sanskrit diagram, in a way the visual equivalent to the mantra. Yantra are used for specific purposes such as meditation or to protection from negativity. This particular yantra was created in watercolor and I can’t wait to see it grace the cover of my soon-to-be-published meditation book, “The Perfect Pause - Meditating Your Way to the Optimal You.”

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your weekend. I'm very grateful for this platform and for all of your continued support!


I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and Steemit enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my poetry, my handmade poetry chapbook, Emancipation, is for sale on Peerhub for a limited time.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

This is in deed one of my utmost important value and state of being, along with compassion, contentment and bliss. thanks for yet another excellent post on human value worth being aware of and more importantly cultivate. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Thanks, @eric-boucher. This is one of my favorites too for two reasons, it's so powerful and it's nearly effortless to practice. Namaste to you!

A great post and a powerful message. Far too many of us spend our lives focusing on what we don't have and fail to see all that we have to be thankful for.

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you, @son-of-satire! We lose so many moments of our lives by not focusing on the present moment and forgetting to be thankful. I appreciate your support!

As you're an talented and established writer, it would be great to get your participation in this project if you have time.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@son-of-satire/fifty-word-fiction-frenzy-a-community-collaboration

I hope to see a submission from you. The more we get, the better the story will be.

It was fun, @son-of-satire! Great idea.

Very nice and inspiring article.

I agree.

I just actually posted something a few mins ago thanking a Steemer for their very nice and out of the blue donation of some Steem to me.

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/community-nice-guy-report-out-of-the-blue-hanshotfirst-gifted-me-some-steem-for-a-recent-milestone-i-reached


Have a good night everyone I have to get offline now/ headaches. Be well.

Very cool @barrydutton! Congrats on reaching your milestone!

Hey thanks a lot!!!

I won't post another link here but if you check my page or that other link you will see I did a milestone post up for @kaylinart who hit the same 4k marker last nite!

Have a nice day, it is nice to hear from you EVW !!

I liked the subliminal message. Well played.

That was an easy one! Thanks for including it though. I like that kind of stuff.

No problem! It's fun. I'm going to start doing this more often in posts like this. I've been doing it in my printed poetry for years, it adds one more layer of expression.

Expression... and a bit of mystery. Good times.

Very well said, Thank you for this i really need this kind of article this day.

You're welcome, @marylizacaindoy! Thank you.

wish i could upvote this twice!

: ) I appreciate your support @doitvoluntarily and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Nice article eric. Side note you have a few random italicized letters in words through out the document, example in your initial paragraph the g in enough and r in everything appear to be italicized. In your second paragraph state the first t in state appears so. I don't know if its actually italicized or just a display irregularity for me... anyway just thought I would let you know!

Thanks @justryme90! I was having a bit of fun with the typography. The randomly italicized letters spell out "G-r-a-t-i-t-u-d-e."

Oh jeez, I should have tried to see if it spelled out something! Damn.

No worries! Just trying to create another layer of expression. This is only the second time I've tried it. Thanks for reading it and for your support!

Well its a fun idea! I will be on the look out for it in future posts.

I'm making myself stop and 'take in the moment' a lot more this year. Life rushes by too quickly and there is so much to be grateful for that can be missed in our hectic lives. Just to be breathing in the cold winters air reminds me how blessed I am.
That is a beautiful piece of art Ruth has created too.

Thanks, @opheliafu. Yes, she did a wonderful job with it. I have to figure out how to best integrate it into the bookcover now.

Well, amazing article
i like that
thanks you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38