FIRE (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

May the itch
of wanting
to know what's
around each bend
always nag you

your bearings,
may you never
fail to find,
and a pleasant calm
drift over you
and usher tranquil sleep
each night 'till rise and shine

may your soul
always be
at peace
when life takes
you far from home,

may you follow
in the footsteps
of your Father
in whichever
world you choose
to roam

may you be wise enough
not be saddened
by the embers' fading glow,
but have the wit
to build your own warm fire
whenever cold winds blow.


This poem was written as a gift to my nephew, Ryan. Love you, buddy!

Did you miss today's episode of my serialized novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. Reminder: Episode 36 of the novel will return on Thursday, September 22nd at 11AM CST!

These past few months on Steemit have truly been a lifelong dream come true for me. There are many more very exciting things I have to share with you in the coming months! To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

wow what a poem..........thank you :)

You're welcome! Thanks for your support!

Very nice! What a great gift! I always liked when someone dedicates a poem. Too bad I do not see this any more as in the old times! I am a romantic so always crave for things like this! It made my night! Cute nephew and great poem!

Thank you, @travelista! He has so much energy I'm wondering how he sat still long enough for the picture!

excellent poem :D

That is somewhat scary Eric

I have spend all day yesterday working in the garden (its a rather big one) and as part of the day i had to burn lots of old branches and wood.

So here I was caught myself starring at the fire, and knowing i had to write an ode to it.

Well... here is to fire, and to thinking alike =)

Wow, synchronicity @serejandmyself! I used to really like burning old branches from the garden during fall clean-up. We live in a condo now so I can't. What do you grow in your garden?

Well its a out of town garden, but mainly fruit trees and berries. Reason bieng as that we are thinking of moving down south and buying some land there. If it works out over the next few years, then its all about farming big time )))

Great gift, Eric! I just posted a new sound-poem using my nephew's oil paintings as visuals. He's a bit older than Ryan, though :)

Awesome! That will be a great memory for him @greatdabu!

Great poem. Ryan is so cute :)

I am not a fan of a lot of poems, but yours touched me. Thanks, bud.

You're welcome! I'm glad you connected with it!

Beautiful and comforting words.
I write poems too

Amazing work brother. Ryan loves you man.

Nice, simple wishes and prayers to keep the fire lit. Warm sentiment for a loved one. If you get time I would love to have browse some of my work @beginningtoend All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63