Escaping The Polar Vortex (Part 2)

in #story6 years ago

This is our fourth time back to St. Thomas in as many years. With each visit we’ve gotten to know the island and its culture on a deeper level. The relationship between tourism and the citizens of St. Thomas, like its history, is very layered. In every sense the Virgin Islands are a complex cocktail that requires time and patience to accurately comprehend. Everything here happens "on island time" and either you're the kind of person who readjusts to the slower pace and likes it or can't and hates it.

In most interactions with employees in local shops and restaurants, especially ones away from the cruise ship docks, there’s a certain level of standoffishness (this can be easily misinterpreted as rudeness) straight away. We noticed this attitude began to fade after we frequented those places more often and people got used to seeing us. A few days ago I made a cashier laugh and I considered this a victory. Generally, we’ve noticed that after the second or third visit people seem to warm up and become more relaxed and friendly.

This is the hallway we walk down each morning in our Airbnb. We’re greeted by our host, Lecia, with a fresh cup of coffee, a wonderful breakfast, and great conversation each morning. If you're looking for a place to stay while you're on the island we would highly recommend looking into her Airbnb, it's less expensive than most hotels and it's such a better experience.



This was one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had, avocado toast with poached eggs.


Lecia's dog, George, was rescued from the hurricanes a few years ago and was our surrogate puppy during the trip.

The trip this year was all about the sea. Between Magen’s Bay, Sapphire Beach, and Lindquist Beach, I spent more time in the ocean than I ever have and it was lovely.


Sapphire Beach ranks first for me in terms of beauty.


Magen’s Bay has its charm but is one of the most touristy (crowded) beaches on the island.


Lindquist Beach is the least touristy and my favorite.

I have many more pictures and much more to say about this trip so please stay tuned for Part 3. If you missed Part 1, you can find it here.

Be Breezy,

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Wow, this is amazing blogging and pictures, I take it St. Thomas is just more than the place to go to just have the maddest fun of one's life, o could really feel the surrealism from the pictures, the people, the food, and my! Avocado and peached eggs never tried that one. Wow.

Thanks, @josediccus! The avocado there was a different variety than we get in the US. It was much bigger and had a different flavor. It definitely made for a good breakfast!

Oh, Eric, I am glad I checked in tonight. The photos are great and I feel like I am warmer looking at them. I so miss seeing an ocean. We are landlocked living in the midwest.

Travel is fun and gives a much better perspective on life. I am glad you two are making fun memories. Did Amstel miss you?

I'm glad you enjoyed them! I'm relying on these memories to get me through the rest of winter now. We woke up to -13 degrees this morning and have much more snow on the way. Amstel was very happy to see us! Our son brought him when he picked us up from the airport and he howled. We missed him too.

Seeing this 2 part, I went immediately to the first part so as not to feel that I was missing something. I feel that all human beings should have once a year near the sea. Indisputably, the sea relaxes, fills with energy and changes people's faces. How well you and your wife look, and breakfast looks great. I would also choose Lindquist beach as my favorite, it looks amazing and lonely. A gift from heaven. Certainly, why internet?! Enchanted with this publication, @ericvancewalton

Thanks, Nancy! I agree, the sea is very healing. I spent a lot of time in it this year!

I can understand that you named Sapphire Beach the most beautiful ever. The name is so well chosen, it is really sapphire.
I also liked the other photos, but this one beats them.

Thanks, @clio! It's so beautiful it almost doesn't seem real but, unfortunately, the busses bring loads of tourists there from the cruise ships so it can get really crowded. If you plan around the cruise ship schedule you're fine though. Magen's Bay has the same issue. There was a tourist feeding the fish at Magen's the day we were there. This resulted in HUGE schools of fish coming close to the beach area and, as a result, flocks of pelicans flying in to pick them off one by one. Lindquist is my favorite because you don't see much of that there, it's usually way more quiet.

Beautiful captures from your trip. Nice photography dear .

It was a great experience and a fulfill travelling experience you had and I know for sure that you truly enjoy yourself there as well. Very cool and nice colorful photos @ericvancewalton

Beautiful pic of you and your wife. awesome view at the beach .

Great photos Eric, great fellows!

Very nice photography, it's lovely Lindquist Beach I love it .I want to go there ,thanks for the shares these beautiful story and photos.

Sooo cute look and awesome photography...my dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72