Blockchain Memory Project - Journal Entry (5) - Taking Two for the Team

in #story6 years ago (edited)

We’re having a full blown spring blizzard here in the upper Midwestern region of the US this weekend. Eighteen inches of snow have fallen in the last twenty four hours and the city of St. Paul declared a snow emergency.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the concept of a snow emergency, this means you must move your car from the “Day Plow Routes” (East/West streets) by 8AM or run the risk of a hefty fine or the city impounding your vehicle.


There is a car underneath there somewhere.

I set my alarm for 6AM this morning and spent forty minutes digging out my Prius so I could move it. This is one of those increasingly frequent moments between November and May when I ask myself, “Why do you live here?!”

This also got me thinking about the wintertime adventures of my childhood in the 1970’s.

Winters in the 1970’s in Ohio (where I grew up) were unusually relentless and harsh. It was common for us to get close to a foot of snow over the course of a few days. As much as I abhor snow now that I’m an adult I loved it as a young child. My father, who could be every bit as much of a kid as my brother and I, would always be ready to pack the sleds and inner tubes into the car to seek out the biggest hill we could find. My mother would never go with us, because she's smart.

Mind you, four wheel drive, all wheel drive, or even front wheel drive wasn’t a thing for most people back then so even getting to the sled hill was an adventure. Most cars back then were too big, too heavy, typically overpowered, and rear wheel drive...pretty much a recipe for disaster and donuts in the snow and ice.

My father, brother, and I would usually leave the house early in the morning and would be layered up with sweatshirts, snow jackets, and boots. We didn’t have the high tech Northface gear of today, we were typically cold and our extremities were numb within twenty minutes but we were having so much fun we didn’t want to stop sledding. I can remember having hands teetering on the edge of being frostbitten and the “pins and needles” sensation as I ran them under lukewarm water until the feeling came back.

When thinking of wintery thrills, one particular sledding adventure comes to mind. I was about eight years old, my brother five, and we had over a foot of fresh snow on the ground. This particular day my father found the mother of all hills, it was nearly three stories high. The hill was next to a bridge over train tracks, and was comprised of the mounded earth that supported the bridge.

A few hundred feet from the bottom of the hill was a patch of woods and a small church. My father, being the safety conscious person he was (not), had to go first “to make sure it was safe.” He carefully positioned the wooden and steel Flexible Flyer sled, hopped on, grabbed the flimsy rope that was theoretically designed to steer the sled (but did nothing), and asked us to give him a push. The sled started slowly, like a roller coaster cresting the top of a hill.

My brother and I watched, in awe, as gravity began to pull him faster and faster down the hill through the fresh snow. Plumes of powdery white curled up around him as he gained more and more speed. He yelled a shriek of excitement as he got smaller and smaller. The momentum continued to carry him well past the bottom of the hill.

Then we simultaneously heard a crash and muffled, “OOOF!”

We then watched as my father’s body folded up like an ironing board. His shins nearly met his nose and then he disappeared into the fresh powder. Baffled, and laughing uncontrollably, my brother and I ran down the hill to see what had happened.

As my father started to stir we discovered he had hit a small creek bed hidden beneath the deep and level snow. His momentum took him over the first side of the ravine and crashed him into the other side. After he took a moment to collect himself and caught his breath he trudged up the hill again with the sled, us following closely behind.

He decided to have another go at it, this time from a new starting point. Like deja-vu he again hopped on the Flexible Flyer sled, once again asked us to push him off, and again careened down the massive hill. Halfway down the sled’s rails connected with his previous tracks from the first run and my father found himself crashing into the creek bed once again.

After my brother and I regained our composure from laughing, all we could think about was getting our hands on that sled and feeling that same thrill ourselves, minus the 25 mph collision with the ravine. After two more test runs we got a clear path forged which took us away from the creek. My Dad had taken not just one but two for “the team.”

Forty years later, we still talk about this memory occasionally and laugh uncontrollably. This was only one of probably hundreds of similar adventures my father took my brother and I on. And people wonder why my brother and I aren't risk averse.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed these memories.

Yours in the Chain,

Eric


Would you like to join the Steemit Blockchain Memory Project? If so please follow the steps below.

Steemit Blockchain Memory Project Rules of Engagement

  • Share any significant memory you’d like to. Think about things that have shaped who you are or may be unique in some way. Think about memories you’d like your great-great-grandchildren to read about....now write posts about these memories in your Steemit blog.
  • Use proper tags (see below)
  • Share a link to this post in all of your Blockchain Memory Project posts so others can find the rules.
  • Share your posts with your friends and family on external social media outlets (optional but encouraged).

Tag Suggestions

We want your memories to live on forever. We also want those memories to be searchable by those who might be looking for them in the future.

For this reason, I suggest the following tags for your first four - “Story Life Blog BlockchainMemoryProject”.

Your last tag should be very specific to what you’re writing about in your post, something that will help people who are searching for it on the internet.

I'll be sharing memories of my own along the way.

Prizes

Each month I will comb through the posts tagged with “BlockchainMemoryProject” and choose my favorites. The post owners will receive a surprise in their wallets...a portion of a monthly prize of 10 Steem! Note: all rules of engagement must be followed for your post to qualify

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I can’t believe you found such an appropriate gif. I lived a couple years in Cleveland before Detroit. Early 70s. I’m sure you remember the blizzard of all blizzards in the early 70s. I remember my grandmothers garage nearly covered with snow.

Thanks for the laughs, Eric. I could imagine the whole thing. Your dad getting that hit in the stomach, no less, and then trudging back up the hill for more....lol and then you two wanting that same awesome feeling. I love the way you wrote about it...maybe write a book of memories for the family? You encouraged my brain to rethink of my own childhood snowy occasions. My dad was in the moving business and we were a big family of kids who wanted adventure. He would bring us some packing boxes and say, "have fun!" We would grab the sides of the folded boxes, as we slid down our tiny hill, which of course seemed like a small mountain to an eight year old. Not only were we sliding down the hill, but we were sliding down the boxes...laughing all the way.

Once again you work you’re magic. I just got through shoveling the back sidewalk. I might take a picture of this and post a funny rhyme and name Winter has taken over Spring time.

Thank you, my friend! I'm looking forward to that post!

A wonderful story, as usual, you took me there, children watching as a parent does something adventuresome.

There you guys are laughing at your poor dad's wipeout, now I see why you selected the first gif. Thank goodness no one was hurt.

In a whole world of possibilities having fun with you two is a priority for your father. Great story!

♥️
We are getting snow, the middle of the state of Nebraska much more than here. We had temps in the 70's, then yesterday a high in the 30's and snow, today no more snow.

Thanks @rebeccabe! It was always an adventure around our house growing up. My father was raised in foster homes and didn't have much of a childhood himself so I think he experienced it all through us.

The snow and cold is relentless everywhere above the Mason-Dixon it seems! I'm on a plane right now somewhere over Georgia enroute to St. Thomas (USVI). I can't wait to feel the warm tropical breeze. Hopefully by the time I return spring will have arrived.

What fun memories @ericvancewalton, thanks for sharing it with us! You were all real dare-devils :)

You're welcome, @lizelle! We were taught by the best. : )

I think you and your brother were very lucky with a father who was not afraid to take risks and took you and your brother to go on an adventure.
I think your mother prayed all the time while you and your brother were with your father. Pray that no accident would happen to all of you. I think she had heavy conversations with him late at night, while you were already asleep and dreaming of other adventures.

We were extremely lucky! That is so hilarious, @clio, lots of heavy conversations took place....I'm sure of it. My mother did a lot of praying too. Still, she always says she's happy she raised boys instead of girls.

Love it! I have taken a few for the team with poor balance too, so can feel for your dad!

Thanks! He definitely pushed the limits and that often resulted in bruises and scrapes.

that's quite a storm for April, calls for some good libations I'd say ;-))

And fun story Eric - ah yes the good old flexible flyer sleds!! We had one too and a neighborhood friend had a toboggan and I remember lots of cold, fun, fast runs with a pile of kids shrieking down the hills and ending in hilarious disaster.

I live across the street from a park now with a really good sledding hill and every time we get even 1/2" of snow (Portland is mild with not much snow) I love hearing kids shrieking in delight as they whizz down the hill in their flying saucers.

I really liked your memory and laughed at the same. How many different games can you think of in winter. If you lived in countries where there is no winter, there would not be these happy moments. There is no bad weather, there is a bad mood: )) Thanks for the interesting post, I hope spring all the same will come :)

A wonderful story of winter adventures, my friend and reading your story, I also remembered my sledging, but when I went to school and went home on the hill, my friends and I often used plastic pieces or school portfolios to slide down the hill, if only experience this feeling of flying down, haha. Great feeling! By the way, there is so much snow in you and as I understood in the photo your recently bought car is amazing, since it's already spring long. Thank you Eric

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62