Only Then (An Original Poem)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Let’s stargaze wistfully,
share every secret we keep,
never be afraid to weep
and realize that one lifetime
will simply never be enough.

A realization, tough,
for a love as deep as ours
it will reveal many scars
that aren’t as much wounds,
as they are points of light
that map the road to happiness.

It’s fight for...or flight,
we can never go back
to the old way of living, right?
We’ve made peace with
that past, have done our forgiving.

Our inner light shows us the way
but will we have the strength to listen?
It seems the whole world’s gone mad,
there’s so much pain and division
but we must see through the propaganda
and offer a hand to our fellow humans.

It’s not too late, although
the odds seem steep,
there is no time to sleep
we must trust what we know is right,
seek safe harbor from the Twitter storm.

We all feel betrayed and worn,
because we are the antithesis
of the megalomaniacs who rule this Earth
it’s up to us to learn our worth
and finally break this curse,
only then, will we know freedom.

(Gifs compliments of Giphy.com.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Stay tuned for the debut of our HardFork Film Series Teaser Trailer at SteemFest2 in Lisbon! Hope to see you there!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

waw nice, how deep it really goes!

Thanks, I hope you enjoyed it!

Eric,
Your last stanza speaks volumes of truth, the true worth of people has been hijacked by the elite. The sooner we all realize that we create the value and worth in the world the sooner we can dispense with the perceived rulers.
For sure it is a curse, and no human being is deserving of this curse.
Keep up the great writing. Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Thanks! Yes, conditioning people to believe they're unworthy is one of the most powerful tools they have. I appreciate the comment!

A realization, tough,
for a love as deep as ours
it will reveal many scars
that aren’t as much wounds,
as they are points of light
that map the road to happiness.

Dang, that is good writing.

Thank you very much, Lydon!

I liked how you played with the rhyme scheme here and blended it between the stanzas.

Contextually, I fear we are missing an important opportunity in our present time. While some may hope that recent events would shed light the ills of consolidated power, it seems that we can't help but to react in a way that would have us consolidating power even further to protect us from too much consolidated power. Anyway, nice poem. meekly stepping down from soap box

Thank you! I completely agree, this are unbelievably precarious times. I hope the populace soon sees the light.

I have been away from Steemit for about 2 weeks so if you wrote during that time I am sorry if I did not comment. Hopefully my voting bot voted. I unfortunately got a viral infection that made be bedridden for while. Today is the first day back.

Your poem was very poignant in that it speaks the truth about all the terrible things happening to this world, especially with all the discord and the rich getting richer and more powerful. Some days it is sad to see how horrible mankind can be and yet we must always have hope for the future. I see a time when more and more everyday people wake up and take a stand for equal rights and treatment. I dislike the political climate and wish things can get better.

Your poem speaks of possibilities and hope. One day we will all find the freedom we all seek. Hope you are doing well.

@cabbagepatch! I've wondered where you were. I hope you're feeling better day by day. Be sure to get out into the healing salt air. That seems to help pretty much everything.

I'm glad you enjoyed the poem. I penned this after watching Noam Chomsky's documentary, American Requiem. There is such a dangerous concentration of power in the world right now. The corporations and big banks have all but decimated the middle class. Many of those deemed middle class only maintain their lifestyle with the help of credit. It's a very scary scenario but I hope crypto/blockchain spreads enough to help to counteract this.

Take care of yourself and I hope you feel better soon. I'm so happy to see you back!

Absolutely wonderful really awesome :)

Nice .thanks for share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66