A Peek on Differences on Weddings Between Two Different Worlds

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Last Saturday, I witnessed my first Belgian wedding. It was way different with how we Filipinos do it. Guests were transported in this classic bus. I love the fact that this bus still exists and is functional. I used to just see a lot of this in model stores where I buy matchboxes. To ride on one is a different experience. It's just like a normal bus just no air conditioning nor heating inside it. It has an open roof - old fashioned as well - manually opened and set. It was a pretty sunny day, warm and with a black tie outfit it was freaking hot specially for the men so they asked them to open it. They hired a master of ceremony who tells us where to be seated - apparently, there's a seating arrangement in the bus.

We followed the bride and groom's car to pick up the flower for the bride and the bride afterwards. I noticed that the bridal car is also simple - a white classic cadillac and was not adorned. In the Philippines, bride carriage could be like these:

We headed directly to the city hall and in as short as 30 minutes, the ceremony was done. Unaware of the program, I was surprised to find out that we were heading to a church for the church ceremony. In the Philippines, we just either get married in the church or the city hall. So it is possible to do both here. The couple went to have their pictures taken since the ceremony starts hours later. We were led to the restaurant near that church and were served lunch. Lunch was not very fancy - just bread with different fillings both for meat and green eaters like us. Unlimited drinks and we may order whatever we want.

In the Philippines, this would be lunch but it's not as expensive there compared to here. The couple probably paid through their noses with those sandwiches and unlimited drinks whatever you want.

The wedding ceremony in the church was very different. They have their own program. It was a catholic church but no rituals like these in the Philippines.
We have flower girls and several bridesmaids.

The photo above shows the veil and cord that is a symbol of the two of them being
The groom went in, the master of ceremony lead us to our seats. Only the main family of the groom and brides gets VIP seating arrangements and we have to follow another seating arrangement in the church. The groom's family to the right and the bride's to the left. The rest of the guests seated behind us where ever they want to. I noticed the simplicity of the flower arrangement and I actually like that part a lot, prefer flowers unpicked.

In the Philippines, it could get exaggerated .

Someone serenaded the bride and groom with their alleged love song. On the part where the groom and bride read their speeches, got teary eyed when the bride burst out crying - it was a heartfelt speech. I couldn't hold my tears anymore when I heard her speech for their daughter, reminded me of my mother.
When the ceremony was over - we were led to another exit arrangement - the MC has to everything is being recorded in a video, we were all told to line up - men to the right and women to the left, the newly weds were the last to come out and confetti were popped. Then we went to the grass field in front of the church to release balloons which was being done in memory of someone who passed away.

That's something new again - in the Philippines this is what happens after the ceremony, they also throw rice, confetti or flower petals to the newly weds there.

We headed back to the restaurant where we had lunch for the champagne toast. I don't drink alcohol - I don't have the enzyme to process that but for the sake of the toast for the newly weds, I took mine and raise that bubbly glass.

I thought we'd go to the reception after that and do some dancing like we do in the Philippines but we didn't. In the Philippines, we head for the reception right after the ceremony and do the traditional money dance.

Then we get to eat. Not the case last Saturday. The more drinks and a few hours later we headed for the reception for dinner. I like how simple it was decorated.


In the Philippines we could really exaggerate when the wedding announces black tie for the theme.

There we were served finger foods of toasted bread, olives, tapenade, tiger shrimps which I tried and the rest I didn't. More wine and orange juice hours and finally we were lead to our tables. That seating arrangement again. Food was these for starters.

Later we get to choose on a buffet of variety of vegetable, fish dishes, chicken and lamb dishes. We were allowed to go to the buffet according to the seating arrangement which I like because it was so organized. Then more guests arrived who were just invited for the later party. We remained seated and chatted with family members while the newcomers were being served their finger foods and wine. We on the other hand were waiting for dessert. I got lucky to take a peek on what's going to be served. Cakes, freshly sliced fruits and ice creams with black coffee or tea. I like that part the most, although I wish it was served earlier on - because I saw on Dr. Oz' show that eating sugar after 9 could cause diabetes - it was served late but then - we're going to be dancing after!

I prefer this arrangement because you may then choose what you'd like to eat. I went back to my seat and a few minutes later they took out the couple's 3 storey mocha cake. It would be included in the selection I saw inside where the desserts were already waiting. In the Philippines, when you hear that the motif is black tie - the bridal cake could be exaggerated again. A famous couple had a life size cake which almost made it to the Guineas Book of records - this huge ...

Yes. It's audible and that's usually not the only dessert you'll find in most black tie themed wedding parties in my country.

I like the dessert part the most, I just like eating and yes, though it's not my favourite food and it's not healthy - I indulged for that one time event - besides it's a party. I only ate what my full stomach could take - not really tasted all those because some of them had whipped cream and too much milk. Again, each tables took turns going in the dessert room with the new comers as the last. A few minutes later, we clapped our hands and chanted "dance, dance, dance" to the couple who gave in. After that, the groom danced with his mom and the bride with her father-in-law. Right after that" Scream and shout by Britney Spears and Will I Am played and the next thing I knew I was rocking the house till I dropped. We left the party at 2 am. The dessert that I ate - all sweated out during that whole lot'a dancing I did. I had so much fun that day and slept like a rock later. I didn't drink alcohol yet the Sunday after that - I had a hang over and was having a last song syndrome. A certain song kept ringing in my ears it brought me to bust some moves that made hub laugh.
How about out there on your side of the earth? What are the traditions you guys observe during weddings? Anything similar to what's written above?

The rest of the pictures I took with Samsung Galaxy A5 and A3 both 2016 edition.
Fan of culture related articles? FOLLOW ME @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Congratulations. your recent attendance of a wedding inspired a rather successful post this time.:-)

i love your post and i also love all the pictures you used!

To all 23 Steemians who upvoted this post, whales, dolphins and minnows alike and everyone who spare their precious time writing down comments thank you all very much for the support! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44