Isles of Aura, The Calling (story included)

in #story7 years ago

Hello everyone!
This is the first of many creations I plan to build part of a lego roleplay group called Isles of Aura. It will follow the adventures of my character Jasper Riverwind. I also added a substantial story that I wasn't planning on doing but I felt that the build needed something a bit more. I'm by no means a professional writer but I think it turned out ok. If you have any suggestions on how I could improve it that would be greatly appreciated. Hope you guys enjoy!

39680450032_cc4bc3f216_z.jpg

There is nothing like the exhilaration of having your feet dangle over the void. Knowing there is nothing there to catch you if you fall. Having to put all your faith on the ledge of weathered rock that separates you from life and death. But in the north of Aura, everything is a balance between life and death. Jasper Riverwood rested on the southernmost tip of the island of Wintertooth. A steady breeze shifted its direction around him, swirling the powdery snow in an unpredictable dance. Even in this harsh climate, there is a hidden beauty that people from the south are ignorant of. From his position he could see the towering jagged peaks of stone that surround the outside of the island like a wall, protecting the main township from the frequent storms that plague the furthest reaches of the Cerulean Empire. "So peaceful," Jasper announced to the receding daylight. I gazed out over the expanse from on top of the summit, finding the pinpricks of floating islands and airships amongst the pink clouds. It was almost possible to forget about the events that had transpired in the past few days. The calm atmosphere of the sleepy town of Wintertooth deceptive in light of the chaos. The men of science in Aura are predicting a terraforming. While still unconfirmed this news has sparked panic throughout both the Cerulean and Vermilion Empires. Religious fanatics are preaching the end of all of us. Food prices are skyrocketing and daily goods are becoming scarce. And as always with chaos, opportunists arise. Pirate attacks have become much more frequent, exploiting the fact of how many of the towns local militias are tied up with keeping rioters and thieves at bay. Now trained soldiers have become as much as an expensive commodity as food or provisions. Jasper contemplated the situation. So much was happening so fast. He turned to his companion, a Khevroa Shepard he had come to call Ash due to her distinctive grey fur. "What do you think I should do?" But much like always Ash ignored my comment, paying more attention to what could be her next meal rather than her owner. I sigh returning once again to my position overlooking the open sky to the south. A sudden glint of moving metal catches my eye. A surprised look forms on my face. The presence of armour often meant a warship of some kind but what was more surprising was that the warship was on course for the harbour of Wintertooth. Why would the Cerulean military be this far north and why is it coming here? Then I remembered the reports of recruitment ships sailing out to find men willing to serve in the military. Suddenly the answer to my goal appeared much closer. A sudden coo to my right catches my attention and I find myself facing a snowy owl situated on top of a spruce tree. A knowledgeable look passes between us. The owl's beady eyes linger on me for a few more seconds before spreading its wings and gliding down into the valley below. Uncertain I rise from where I sat, stretching my aching limbs. In that fleeting moment, I could not help but feel that the owl understood what I wanted most. Freedom. I could only hope that this airship would be the answer to it. Taking a deep breath I stride forth through the snow, towards the approaching ship.

39711252791_2b7a1b369d_z.jpg


Thank you for reading!

-Ember

For better quality pictures:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/140736476@N07/39680450032/in/dateposted-public/

Sort:  

Your writing is very good. Steemit is a welcoming place for anyone to have a go. I hope you will learn that you have a potential to be a professional writer if you desired it.
There are a number of ways to benefit from engaging with writers. 5 minute Free writes can be fun
Or short story contests, loike the 50 word.
There are so many ways to interact. If you are interested, there is a contest for everyone. I recently came across @artz who compiles a comprehensive list of contests every Monday. I think it is a great way to gain a following, engage, and find your people. With your talent, you will no doubt make a few steem bucks in the process.

Thank you for the information! It's really appreciated. I'll be sure to look into some of the things you have mentioned

Have fun, just do your thing contests or not, and you will do great. I don't scroll around as much as I would like. Feel free to drop a link to a post in the comments of one of mine, or a response here, so I will see it and can resteem.

Wow, this is amazing, love how you used the slopes angled to the side to make the effect of the rock mountain! You deserve a lot more support and I 'll be sure to make you a shout out in today's installment of my lego story :)

I don't know what to say :D Thank you so much! It really means a lot to me.

Very good writing, mate! You have a real talent. I'm not sure what I enjoyed more- the LEGO MOC or the story!

I'm a huge fantasy fan and dabble in my own stories so I really appreciate the effort and imagination here. Just a tiny note for further improvement in your editing process- I noticed you swap from your main character being written about in the third person then two thirds through the story I started seeing lots of "me", "my" and "I". I think if you read it through again, you would have picked it up for sure.

Congratulations on a dazzling story speckled with colourful and imaginative descriptions.

Do you plan on fleshing out this storyline anymore? It really deserves more attention in the future.

Take care,
Nick

PS. Im very glad I found your work. Im keeping an eye out for your next story and I'll be suggesting upcoming posts on your Steemit Space for #curie consideration for resteeming. You deserve the extra exposure.

Thank you for your response :D Sorry for not getting back to you sooner. I do intend to continue the storyline. currently, I'm working out a schedule for posting my creations and story. I think I will try and post every fortnight. Also thanks for the suggestion. I'm terrible when it comes to perspective so in the next installment I will definitely reread to make sure every character is in the same person.

Thanks again
Jalan

No worries bud!

You're doing a terrific job. Big things ahead for you. :)

Nick

Congratulations @embers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69