STORY #1: THE WISE OLD ONE.

in #story6 years ago

images (2).jpg
Once upon a time in a far away village called ado n’ idu, there lived a very old man. This old man has lost some of his teeth, his skin was wrinkled, hairs lost and he had a bent posture. He looked nothing like his youthful self being very handsome and elegant.
One good thing about this old man was that he was very jovial and a jolly good fellow. He has his routine of taking a long walk in the early hours of the day.
On this faithful day, the man was on his usual walk and he first met a young man of 28years, who muttered a quick good morning and passed. The old man answered and then paused a little, he looked at the young man and thought to himself, I was once like this, full of life and great zeal to live life to its full, bravery and courage were my friends and caution was most times thrown to the wind In the bid to enjoy life to the fullest. This bald hear had so many things applied to it all in the name of taking care of oneself. This bent waist and wrinkled body was once upright and muscular, but today gradually they have all relaxed and become flaccid as if they were nerve built up once.
While still pondering on his taught along came this little inquisitive boy, and thus conversation ensured between them.

images.png

Little boy: hi old man, good morning.
Old man: Good morning my son
Little boy: why are you not walking very fast like me and my daddy?
Old man: this is because I have walked far distances and enough in all my lifetime
Little boy: you mean I will one day be walking like you are doing now.
Old man: yes, that’s if you are wise enough to get to this age
Little boy: Angrily snapped, I don’t want to be like you, old, cranky, with fallen out teeth and bald hair, I want to be me, fine, young and bubbling.
Old man: (laughs out loud) my dear you do not need to be so angry, I only prayed for you just like my father prayed. For me and guess what I was not very happy with that prayer then but then came life experiences with its up and down and a great sea of uncertainty, this prayer became an everyday prater for me and today am happy that my dream to get to this age despite all odds came through and to tell you the truth am very happy I got to this age. Io began this journey of life with a lot of my friends, when we were like you. Today so many of them are no more. I made it to thus age not because was more privileged or stronger than they were, but by one key I discovered and held onto. This word is wisdom. The bible calls it profitable and admonishes that in all our getting we should get it and sell it not. This was the main reason why I made it this far. Wisdom would always tell me to thread with caution when it seems that all is flowing well because all that glitters is not gold. When the journey becomes tough, wisdom teaches me that patience is golden and that the patient dog eats the fattest bone. When I come to the valley of decision, I hear the voice of wisdom saying, ‘’my son this is the right way, follow it’’. When trouble comes calling, wisdom tells me ‘’peace be still’’ that it is well with my soul. When death and calamity strikes, wisdom tells me to look unto Jesus who is the author and finisher of our faith. Who for the crown set before him endured every humiliation even the death on the cross. When a business/proposal fails, wisdom teaches me that God will always make a way where there is no other way. In fact my son, with wisdom I found joy in the mist of the heavy storms of life. I found peace when the whirlwind of life blew. I found courage when all hope was lost. I found laughter in the mist of mourning. Where other was struggling, wisdom taught me how to make it. Where the hills were very steep, wisdom taught me how to thread with caution. When life was on the fast lane, wisdom taught me how to apply brakes in life. With all these here I am today when almost all my friends have moved over to the other side of life. Wisdom taught me to eat right, sleep right, study hard, exercise my body for a total me to be maintained. Hence my dear I pray for you that this wisdom which I found in God’s word be discovered in you so that your tomorrow will make both new and meaning and may it guide you all through the path of life.
Little boy: (soberly) Amen sir, but how will I find Mr. Wisdom,
Old man: Mr. Wisdom is a gift that comes from the almighty God. So seek him while he may be found and he will bestow on you with this special gift just as Solomon had and I also had.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dribemorahjane! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74