You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'The Other Town' - Steemit Story Chain #15 Where You Write the Story and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Enrty #5

The detective paced back and forth in front me. The cold steel of the handcuffs against my skin made the hairs stand on my purple, blood-deprived wrists.
"What were you doing in that shack, Mister?" he asked.
"My wife, Nancy, and I were doing our business in there." I replied.
"What do you mean by business?"
"You know, business."
"If by 'business' you mean injecting the substance that left the residue on those burnt spoons and empty syringes into your veins, then I understand," he stated in a snarky tone.
"We- We don't like to do it in front of the children. Is sheltering your children a crime, sir?" I knew that I was out of line, but the poison had already worked its way out of my system and I was fiending for more.
"Let me be the one to ask the questions around here. Speaking of your kids, where are they now?"
"Tommy, our oldest, is at football practice. We just dropped him off a few hours ago. Claire went to a friend's house after school, and little Suzy is at home with my mother-in-law," I answered.
"Is that so?"
This guy was really starting to tick me off. "Yes, that's so! What are you trying to get at, pig?" I spat.
"After running your names into the system, our department was contacted by the Department of Child Services. It seems they've been looking for you and your wife." His stern expression grew harsher with each word. "Tommy's coach stuck around for two hours after practice with him, waiting for you two to show up. Claire's friend's parents, too. Luckily, each of them were nice enough to let your kids sleep at there houses. That was three days ago."
"No. No. I- I-" the words stuck in my throat. "I don't believe you!" I finally managed to shout. "My mother-in-law plays Bingo every Tuesday. Believe me, she would've called us to come home." I knew my words were the truth, Ma would never miss a shot at the twenty-five dollar jackpot at Bingo.
"We got in contact with her. She said she went by shortly after you guys asked her to babysit Suzy. She said when she got there the lights were out and the doors were locked. She assumed you guys grew impatient and took Suzy with you to drop Tommy off at practice and go 'grocery shopping', so she went home."
"What are you saying? Where is my baby?! Where's Suzy?!" Dread filled my body. I prayed to any God that would listen to let my fears be false.
His eyes fell for a moment, then rose again, meeting my own with a look of both pity and disgust. "Little Suzy wasn't so lucky. We broke and entered into your home. Upon search of the premises we found a locked door. After kicking in that door is when we made the discovery of a toddler, aged two to three, severly underweight, completely malnourished and barely breathing. Officers took turns administering CPR until paramedics arrived, at which point the toddler was transported to the local hospital."
"Well what the hell are we doing here?!" I could feel my blood boiling.
"She was pronounced deceased shorlty after noon yesterday," he whispered.
I couldn't believe my ears. "What? No!"
"That's right, your little girl is dead, Mister." He slammed his fists down on the table in front of me. "And so are you."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71