What About Little John? Part TwosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story5 years ago

A true story.

The story starts many years ago when I was walking my kids home from school and we had run into him on a bench in this park. (photo below)
The bench is gone, the park was refurbished, but the size of the park where twenty to thirty homeless people lived is still there.

Thank you for all the wonderful comments. For those using translators, John is not a young boy. He was about thirty-five at the time we met. Poverty is everywhere and Little John is just one of many that I chose to meet, talk to and get to know.

Stepping in to help and knowing when to step out of the way.

ParkJohn.jpeg
This shot was from 2017 on street view, and by then Little John had already moved on.

This all happened years ago but there are several lessons to be learned. Last post I shared the first contact with John and how we came up with his nickname. He is a large man but the name Tiny is way over used.

Maybe a month had gone by and my children took turns giving him a few bucks, competing for the blessing that comes with doing so. I hope they felt that good feeling inside when you know you just made another's day a bit easier. Every experience leaves a lasting impression and Little John often came to mind when we ate dinner, watched movies and at night when it was time for bed. He found a spot in our thoughts and prayers when each day came to a close. To me, I had only given the man a little bit of paper currency, but this teddy-bear of a guy was now relying on me to be there once a week. He was not found sleeping at 5:00 in the evening anymore. He was awake and had something to look forward to every week.

My children, though small, were allowed to walk to their mother's house the other four days of the week. They passed within eye shot of the park on their way home every day. The know they are not to have interaction with any adults in the streets, known or otherwise. I sometimes asked if they had seen Little John, and if he seemed alright. I always got an update.

Seven or eight weeks had gone by and I started second guessing myself. I had decided that the lesson for my kids was over. I went earlier than usual to get a better idea of who this homeless man was. I decided to deal with him directly, have a conversation, and see if he knows how to dig himself out of desperation. I was also prepared to up the amount that I was giving so that he could get through the week.

Little John was not fast on his feet, was always alone as far as I had seen. There was little chance that I would be jumped or mugged. I got there thirty minutes early the following Friday. I approached him and shook his hand. There is a smell that comes with close contact, it was expected, but still, not pleasant. I gave him my first name, which he never got right since then to this very day. I handed him fifty this time. He held it up as would someone about to make a toast at a wedding, looked at it and said, "Thank you!" before putting it in his pocket. Then we had a conversation.

The plan was to invite him to sit and have a coffee that day. He was unable to leave his things unattended, but I did suggest he find a way for next week. He spoke of some of the others who live in the park, how they rob people and use the money for drugs or to get drunk. He had been beaten and lost what little he had on several occasions. I was glad to listen, saddened that he would be subjected that.

I found out that he does not smoke or drink. I learned that he had a stutter, and some of his though processes were not quite right. He had arrived from another country and had a child who was in his late teens that he had not seen in over two years. I asked if he knew the phone number to reach his boy and he did. By this time the smell that overwhelmed me was hardly noticeable, though I did sit a couple of feet away from him. When Little John moved or bent down to reach into the garbage bag where he kept most of his possessions, the smell would hit me like a two by four, then fade again. There was an invisible cloud around him. He showed me some of his valuables, like a smaller version of the tour when invited to a friend's house.

We each shared some of our struggles, he talked about his, I selectively spoke about mine. People that passed by scowled at me. This enraged me inside that anyone would judge me for speaking to, or sitting with another human being, no matter the smell or look of it. They all knew that Little John lived at that park, and they all knew that I am one of the parents who attends those parent teacher conferences. The money is a small price to pay, the scorn is a slightly higher price to pay for helping. I could see them labeling me in their minds, yet they also knew that my vehicle, phone, and even pets were at the top of the scale among parents. Can you say, "get bent" anyone? Yes, that was the look they got back from me. I shrugged off their looks more easily than I got used to the smell of the person I had chosen to make friends with.

I am staunchly different. My individuality has a toxicology to it. I don't think outside the box, I live there. I see every other person as an individual and love tearing up those obvious labels floating above their heads. Then I inform them of their individuality. Our first meeting was successful. Little John learned that his current social difficulties did not define him. Everyone deserves respect until they prove that they do not deserve it. Little John had my respect in the beginning and had not done anything to lose it during that meeting. I had learned enough about him to know that I was not wasting my time.

As time went on, I had to continue throwing off scorn from people that saw me speaking to Little John. As it turns out, Little John had to learn to deal with envy from the others who lived in the park. He now had a regular source of income and soon would have a financial advisor. This and more in the part three and onward here on Steemit.

Not @done yet. To be continued...

Sort:  

This is an awesome story my friend! I don't know what prompted me to check and see if you had posted, but I'm so glad I did, this is the type of thing that gives me great hope for humanity. Of course I already knew that you were a blessing to people, but reading this? Beautiful. And I'm hooked, can't wait for the next part!

I know, right?

I could not really consider posting until I reduced my holdings on Steemit. The response that I had on just a single comment back then was too massive and even destructive. My intro post rendered a tolerable response and nobody was phlagged out of existence. I hope I can continue to post now.

You of all people know that this series is not to call attention to myself. I am sharing my experience with its joys and pitfalls. The goal is that maybe ten percent of my followers would step out and sponsor on poor soul, resulting in three hundred or so human beings learning how to move off the street.

I hope you can too- the resource credit system is supposed to help with the spam style commenting and actually I'm realizing that it seems to be doing its job.

I do know that- you are the polar opposite of vain and self serving. You've never sought praise, which only makes me want to praise you more, lol. The more I know you, the more inspiring you are, truly. Your children have a real leg up in this world thanks to your instruction, and in so many ways.

This story contains many truths. There are still many people in extreme poverty in the world and many people look at them badly and treat them with indifference when they are human beings like all of us, only that some of us decided to give a smile to that person. who needs it and see it smile It should fill our souls with happiness because we are supporting even the poorest and seeing a smile. This is all satisfaction, I am very happy that there are special people like you who donate with humility, great courage and enthusiasm to help people.

Very good this fight story, this reminded me of an opportunity that was in my city waiting for transport to go to my house and I decided to eat an ice cream and when I'm about to pay I see that there is a boy with a very sad Face because he wanted to eat ice cream, but none of those who were ahead in the queue wanted to give an ice cream to the child, it was when I took the initiative to get my turn I told the girl who attended this business to give me two ice creams and she looked at me with a face like that What are you going to do with two ice creams, receive them I gave one to the child, she already had her answer there, well and that child I could see in her face a smile and full emotion, which was something wonderful for me, because at that age the children They eat a lot of sweets and I wanted to please them and that's how it was, every time I can give help, I give it to them because thank God I have always been blessed and supported and we have to share those blessings with the needy and the people we love. Greetings and may God give you many blessings Done.

What a touching story! Children are the ones that break my heart the most. Poverty breeds poverty. I have seen children grow up working for handouts. Then I see those same kids who are barely out of their teens using their own children as a source of income. Unacceptable in a society where there are functional stores and plenty of work.

I understand that your country is in crisis, food can be the currency even if it is an ice cream.

If so, my friend done, my country is in crisis and we all go through difficult times to share something or lack of food supply, but even so with what little I have, when I can I try to help the needy, giving a smile to someone who thanks to the blessing of God could give.

You're right, there are parents or people who use their children or children as machines or tools to get money or food, instead of going to work on their own in honest work, even more so in my country because of the problems we all have They have suffered days and take advantage of the children and are exploited.

In the crisis that we are in Venezuela, he has seen as children through their great abilities, qualities and intelligence, they are able to survive honestly and correctly, they learn their young age at work in the streets and they are great businessmen because the huh seen, not all but some are able to fix appliances from very small or any kind of things and how someone helps you to fix your things at that age. I see this type of children or adolescents, I am happy to see their motivation and I congratulate them, since many, without knowing how to read or write, can learn many things faster than many professionals with degrees.

These children in my country have been able to bring food into their home, even a little, since most of them have been abandoned or have stayed with a family here in Venezuela, since their parents emigrated to other countries as the neighboring country from Colombia. .

When I see children in the street, when I go to buy something fast or as it happened with the child with ice cream, when some people ask me for money instead of food, I call them to sit down and I invite them to eat there with me. .

Children are a marvel and a blessing and a manifestation of joy throughout the world. In homes, they are the joy and excitement of home for their parents, grandparents and relatives. Greetings friend Done I hope that your next publication and God will continue to bless your great heart

Deceptive "broadcast errors" linger in the wake of the hard fork.

Science &Tech has cured many diseases that is commendable. However, it's sad to know that even in this technologically most advanced times in the human history, humans have funds to kill humans and not for uprooting the mother of all evils, poverty.

Ignorance and misinformation dominates the homeless community. Many see money only as something to be spent. They get ten dollars and they spend ten dollars. They get a thousand and they spend a thousand. That mentality is the only formula to poverty.

Well said. However, I see it bit differently. In a bigger picture, I think it's the responsibility of the state to provide jobs to its citizen. States want to keep homeless the way they are to make on-job people thankful with whatever they're getting paid. Otherwise the total population of the world is just 7 Billion and there are far more abundant resources to feed everyone in the world.

The wealthy look down on you for meeting someone with no money, and those with no money look down on him with envy and contempt for meeting you. It seems that others feel good when they criticize their peers but we are all human and we are prone to be in wealth and poverty but love is something that cannot be bought, not love of truth and is what really has value in this life.! I'm already curious about the other part of the story!

Wow @done
This has really got my attention to know that there are people in this world that has a kind heart such as you are displaying. I love this!
Resteemed

Thanks. You have a new follower. It takes each one of us to change the world.

Well thank you very much for the follow.

It is sad that regardless of the social circle, people play only for these doing something fura of the "normal", no matter that in your case you are doing something human and can end up helping a person a lot, and in case of the It is the opportunity to get new opportunities and get out of the street, in some books they say that poverty is a mental state and I believe that our financial state is a reflection of our habits, many people earn more than others but they spend everything, from that way they will always be poor and dependent on their salary because the more they earn the more they spend, but there are always exceptional situations like in my country (Venezuela) because of the serious economic crisis every day more people go into poverty so reduce their expenses it is impossible to survive, The minimum salary is now roughly $ 18 per month and the worst of all is that this salary is general, since professionals are earning the same as those who do not study on.
I will follow your story.
regards

It's a fascinating story so far and I'm eager to hear how it turns out. I've had a similar experience to what you describe, with "normal" people looking at me scornfully for interacting with homeless people. A drunk college student once called me a crackhead while I was talking with a woman who, admittedly, may have been a crackhead-- but the disdain and disrespect he showed is something I'll never forget.

Wish you'd post the whole story in one. Wondering now if it ends well.

We got a homeless tent city in our town between the local dump and the discount food grocery, on what's called 'crown land' (owned by the government) that remains undeveloped. The only way to get there is to hike through a field and brush. About a year ago I provisioned one of their residents, gave her so much stuff she couldn't carry it all on her wagon herself. Imagine a guy in a full suit carrying bags of tarps and food over a three lane road with a little homeless lady and her wagon. Punks tried to run us over. The moment someone thinks you're homeless, you're done (not in the same way you're "done" either). You stop being a person.

The weekly help I gave John made him king of the park so to speak. I did not shower him with money because it takes time to become accustomed to being one of the have after spending time as a have not for so long.

There are slums outside the city that I would not be brave enough to try and enter. I must say that you are a braver person than I am.

Excellent story, from all points of view your story is instructive, I sincerely admire your courage and decision to do the right thing, how was to approach, help, talk and listen to little John, that's what he is. With respect to people who passed by and looked at you with contempt because you were talking to a person with little John, they are the ones who really do not deserve any kind of respect in my opinion, far from that they show selfishness and arrogance. I totally share what you say in your story: "" Everyone deserves respect until they prove that they do not deserve it. "And that should be the premise for many, since I will not be so demanding and say that for all of them it would be naive or I congratulate you and I look forward to the third part, greetings

Woo... @done a life story that touches my heart.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76